Brown County Courthouse
Campbell County Courthouse
Day County Courthouse
Edmunds County Courthouse
Faulk County Courthouse
Marshall County Courthouse
McPherson County Courthouse
Roberts County Courthouse
Spink County Courthouse
Walworth County Courthouse

Brown County


Welcome to the Brown County Clerk of Court’s Office.
Our contact information is:

Brown County Clerk of Courts
101 SE 1st Avenue
P. O. Box 1087
Aberdeen, SD 57402-1087

Phone Number: 605-626-2451
Fax Number: 605-626-2280

View the Brown County Courtrooms

View the Brown County Municipal Courtroom

For more information and directions to the courthouse, Please visit SDJurors. Then select Your E-Courthouse and choose any county.

The basic functions of the clerk’s office are:

  • Assisting with requests for information on court procedures, fees, court dates, forms
  • Opening, maintaining, storing and retrieving court files as needed in different types of cases
  • Processing traffic tickets and other criminal complaints, receipting and disbursing fines, fees, costs, bond and restitution associated with same*
  • Working closely with the public, law enforcement and attorneys in maintaining judges’ calendars of court dates and assisting judges in the courtroom
  • Summoning and qualifying jurors, assist judge in juror selection process, and authorize payment of jurors
  • Performing magistrate functions such as setting bond, handling initial appearances, issuing warrants, entering default judgments in small claims cases and performing marriages
* An ATM machine is located in the Brown County Annex Building adjoined to the west of the main courthouse.

Brown County Court House


Clerk of Courts’ office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and office remains open over the lunch hour.

Other UJS offices in the courthouse include:

Court Services – Probation – first floor

Law Library and Law Clerk office – second floor

Court Administration Office – second floor

Court Reporter offices – second and third floors

Magistrate Judge and Circuit Judges’ offices – second and third floors

Law Library, which mainly consists of a computer with Westlaw access, is available to the public, 8 am to Noon and 1 to 5 pm, Monday through Friday.

The Brown County Courthouse has three courtrooms. To view courtrooms and obtain a list of courtroom details, please click on Courtrooms.

Elevator access to all three floors.

Information on scheduling court hearings in Brown County can be found by clicking on Calendars.

Magistrate Court is held every Monday afternoon, and Wednesday and Friday mornings at the Municipal Courtroom on third floor of the Municipal Building, 123 S. Lincoln Street, one block south of the courthouse.

Third Floor West Courtroom of the Brown County Courthouse is also one of seven interactive video (ITV) sites in the Fifth Circuit, where conferences, hearings and meetings take place through video technology. The other six sites include the Day County Courthouse in Webster, Faulk County Courthouse in Faulk, Marshall County Courthouse in Britton, Roberts County Courthouse in Sisseton, Spink County Courthouse in Redfield, and the Walworth County Courthouse in Selby. Scheduling for ITV is done through the Court Administrator’s Office in Aberdeen, phone numbers are: 605-626-2450, or toll-free in-state 1-877-999-5613.

Mural, 3rd Floor East Courtroom (Mural, 3rd Floor East Courtroom)
SD State Seal - ceiling of 3rd Floor East Courtroom (SD State Seal - ceiling of 3rd Floor East Courtroom, Brown Co. Courthouse)

Brown County Clerks, 1889-Present
1889-1902 Unknown
1903-1906 P. E. Bunsness
1907-1910 W. J. Rawson
1911-1926 N. E. Nelson
1927-1932 C. Dean Carmine
1933-1960 Wm. E. Young
1961-1974 C. Harland Leighty
1975-2004 M. L. Kuhfeld
2005-Present Marla R. Zastrow

Brown County Judges, 1889-Present
1889-1893 Unknown
1894-1898 A. W. Campbell
1899-1901 Unknown
1902-1908 James H. McCoy
1909-1914 Frank McNulty
1915-1918 Thomas L. Bouck
1919-1922 Frank Anderson
1923-1924 B. A. Walton
1925-1928 R. D. Gardner & J. J. Batterton
1929-1930 R. D. Gardner & C. H. Babcock
1931-1944 C. H. Babcock & Van Buren Perry
1945-1954 Van Buren Perry & H. W. King
1955-1956 H. W. King & E. S. Farley
1957-1966 F. S. Tait & Philo Hall
1967-1974 Philo Hall & Sigurd Anderson
1975-1984 Philo Hall, Eugene Dobberphul, Mildred Ramynke, & Leland Berndt
1985-1986 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Mildred Ramynke, Leland Berndt, & Vernon Evans
1987-1990 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Leland Berndt, Vernon Evans, & David Gilbertson
1991-1993 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Leland Berndt, David Gilbertson, & Larry Lovrien
1994-1995 Eugene Dobberpuhl, David Gilbertson, Larry Lovrien, & Jack Von Wald
1996-1998 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Larry Lovrien, Jack Von Wald, & Myles DeVine
1999-2003 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Larry Lovrien, Jack Von Wald, & Jon Flemmer
2004-2006 Jack Von Wald, Larry Lovrien, Jon Flemmer, & Scott Myren
2006-2013 Jack Von Wald, Jon Flemmer, Scott Myren, & Tony Portra
2014-Present Scott Myren, Jon Flemmer, Tony Portra, & Richard Sommers

Brown County does have an official website, which can be accessed at:

Home | Forms | Calendar | News | Records | Opinions | Contact Us
©Copyright 2012 - State of South Dakota