Beadle County Courthouse
Brookings County Courthouse
Buffalo County Courthouse
Clark County Courthouse
Coddington County Courthouse
Deuel County Courthouse
Grant County Courthouse
Hamlin County Courthouse
Hand County Courthouse
Jerauld County Courthouse
Kingsbury County Courthouse
Lake County Courthouse
Miner County Courthouse
Moody County Courthouse
Sanborn County Courthouse

Codington County Court System

Under supervision of the Chief Justice, who is the administrative head of the Unified Judicial System, the State Court Administrator is the non-judicial officer who implements the rules and policies of the Supreme Court as they apply to the operations and administration of the courts and is the liaison between the judicial branch and the other branches of state and local government. To ensure efficient and responsive operation, the State Court Administrator’s Office provides centralized administrative assistance and support services to the entire Unified Judicial System, which is composed of 7 Judicial Circuits. Codington County is part of the 3rd Judicial Circuit which is made up of fourteen counties. Those other counties are: Beadle, Brookings, Clark, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Miner, Moody, and Sanborn. The 3rd Circuit Courts are general trial courts with 6 Circuit Court Judges and 2 Magistrate Judges. Administrative direction for the Circuit is provided by a Presiding Judge and Circuit Court Administrator, whom both office out of Brookings. All the court staff including Magistrate Judges, Court Reporters, Clerks of Court, and Court Services Officers are employees of the State of South Dakota.

Contact Information

Codington County Courthouse
14 1st Ave. S.E.
Watertown, SD 57201

Connie Hartley, Clerk
Billie Jo Meyer, Deputy
Michelle Day, Deputy
Carol Denman, Deputy
Barbara Zeller, Deputy
Alaina Henning, Deputy
Phone: 605-882-5095
Fax: 605-882-5384

Hon. Carmen A. Means
Dawn Russell, Reporter
Phone: 605-882-5091
Fax: 605-882-5106

Hon. Robert Spears
Connie Stoebner, Reporter
Phone: 605-882-5107
Fax: 605-882-5106

Hon. Dawn M. Elshere
Tracie Weldon, Recorder
Phone: 605-882-5378
Fax: 605-882-5106

Lynn Langerock, CSO
Paula Grupe, CSO
Todd Stark, CSO
Brian DeJong, Deputy CSO
Jenny Thuringer, Secretary
Christina Althoff, Secretary
Lisa Dahl, CSO Drug Court
Jan Lawrence, Coordinator Drug Court
Phone: 605-882-5110
Fax: 605-882-5106

The FY 2010 work of the court is summarized below:

Criminal cases

Felony cases 213
Class I misdemeanors 746
Class II misdemeanors 3464

Civil cases

Domestic relations 620
Civil cases 654
Appeals 9
Probate cases 213
Juvenile cases 203
Small claims cases 1290
Child support receipts 230
Record search requests 226
Jury Trials 5

(located in the Watertown Regional Library)
Address: 160 Sixth St. NE. S
Watertown, SD 57201
Phone: 605-882-6220

Home | Forms | Calendar | News | Records | Opinions | Contact Us
©Copyright 2012 - State of South Dakota