Brown County Courthouse
Campbell County Courthouse
Day County Courthouse
Edmunds County Courthouse
Faulk County Courthouse
Marshall County Courthouse
McPherson County Courthouse
Roberts County Courthouse
Spink County Courthouse
Walworth County Courthouse

Spink County

Spink County Clerks

Welcome to the Spink County Clerk of Court's Office
Our Contact Information is:

Spink County Clerk of Courts
210 East 7th Avenue
Redfield, SD 57469

Phone Number: 605-472-4535
Fax Number: 605-472-4352

For more information and directions to the courthouse, Please visit SDJurors. Then select Your E-Courthouse and choose any county.

The basic functions of the clerk’s office are:

  • Assisting with requests for information on court procedures, fees, court dates, forms
  • Processing passports, assessing & receipting fees thereon
  • Opening, maintaining, storing and retrieving court files as needed in different types of cases
  • Processing traffic tickets and other criminal complaints, receipting and disbursing fines, fees, costs, bond and restitution associated with same
  • Working closely with the public, law enforcement and attorneys in maintaining judges’ calendars of court dates and assisting judges in the courtroom
  • Summoning and qualifying jurors, assist judge in juror selection process, and authorize payment of jurors
  • Performing magistrate functions such as setting bond, handling initial appearances, issuing warrants, entering default judgments in small claims cases and performing marriages
Spink County Courthouse


Office hours for the Clerk of Courts Office are 8 am-Noon and 1-5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

The Clerks’ Office, courtroom and other court offices are located on the third floor of the courthouse.

To view the Spink County Courtroom and obtain a list of courtroom details, please click on Courtrooms.

The Courthouse has elevator access to all three floors.

Court is scheduled by calling the Clerk’s office and is held every Tuesday, or you can view the motion day calendar by clicking on Calendars.

The Conference Room/Library on third floor of the Spink County Courthouse is also one of seven interactive video (ITV) sites in the Fifth Circuit, where conferences, hearings and meetings take place through video technology. The other six sites include the Brown County Courthouse in Aberdeen, Day County Courthouse in Webster, Faulk County Courthouse in Faulkton, Roberts County Courthouse in Sisseton, and the Walworth County Courthouse in Selby. Scheduling for ITV is done through the Court Administrator’s Office in Aberdeen, phone nos. 605-626-2450, or toll-free in-state 1-877-999-5613.

Spink County Courthouse
Floor pattern on first floor - view from 3rd floor

Spink County Clerks, 1889-Present
1889-1894 A. T. Labrie
1895-1900 O. C. Berge
1901-1904 Maurice Moriarity
1905-1906 A. Kalder
1907-1908 C. J. Mariner
1909-1914 A. F. Senechal
1915-1916 F. A. Reineke
1917-1918 F. E. Reineke
1919-1920 A. S. Gillette
1921-1926 A. F. Schleher
1927-1930 R. H. Schalkle
1931-1954 Lewis J. Howard
1955-1956 Helene Engstrom
1957-1960 Kirk Hinman
1961-1962 Tom L. Fitzgerald
1963-1976 Curtis C. Buss
1977-1980 Leo Kimlicka
1981-1984 Elmer Duane Ellis
1985-1988 Karla Spear
1988-2010 Donna Fredrickson
2010-2013 Alice Hare
2013-Present Elisha Kuhfeld

Spink County Judges, 1889-Present
1889-1899 A. W. Campbell
1900-1901 Unknown
1902 James H. McCoy
1903-1904 Unknown
1905-1908 Charles S. Whiting
1909-1924 Alva E. Taylor
1925-1938 Alva E. Taylor & F. R. Fisher
1939-1944 F. R. Fisher & B. M. Benson
1945-1948 B. M. Benson & W. H. Warren
1949-1956 B. B. McClaskey & Charles S. Hanson
1957-1960 B. B. McClaskey & Kermit Norbeck
1961-1970 Kermit Norbeck & Jon Fosheim
1971-1974 Jon Fosheim & Vernon Evans
1975-1984 Philo Hall, Eugene Dobberphul, Mildred Ramynke, & Leland Berndt
1985-1986 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Mildred Ramynke, Leland Berndt, & Vernon Evans
1987-1990 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Leland Berndt, Vernon Evans, & David Gilbertson
1991-1993 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Leland Berndt, David Gilbertson, & Larry Lovrien
1994-1995 Eugene Dobberpuhl, David Gilbertson, Larry Lovrien, & Jack Von Wald
1996-1998 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Larry Lovrien, Jack Von Wald, & Myles DeVine
1999-2003 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Larry Lovrien, Jack Von Wald, & Jon Flemmer
2004-2006 Jack Von Wald, Larry Lovrien, Jon Flemmer, & Scott Myren
2006-2013 Jack Von Wald, Jon Flemmer, Scott Myren, & Tony Portra
2014-Present Scott Myren, Jon Flemmer, Tony Portra, & Richard Sommers

Spink County does have an official website, which can be accessed at:

Home | Forms | Calendar | News | Records | Opinions | Contact Us
©Copyright 2012 - State of South Dakota