Brown County Courthouse
Campbell County Courthouse
Day County Courthouse
Edmunds County Courthouse
Faulk County Courthouse
Marshall County Courthouse
McPherson County Courthouse
Roberts County Courthouse
Spink County Courthouse
Walworth County Courthouse

Marshall County

Marshall County Clerks

Welcome to the Marshall County Clerk of Court's Office.
Our contact information is:

Marshall County Clerk of Courts
911 Vander Horck
PO Box 130
Britton, SD 57430

Phone Number: 605-448-5213
Fax Number: 605-448-5201

For more information and directions to the courthouse, Please visit SDJurors. Then select Your E-Courthouse and choose Marshall county.

The basic functions of the clerk’s office are:

  • Assisting with requests for information on court procedures, fees, court dates, forms
  • Processing passports, assessing & receipting fees thereon
  • Opening, maintaining, storing and retrieving court files as needed in different types of cases
  • Processing traffic tickets and other criminal complaints, receipting and disbursing fines, fees, costs, bond and restitution associated with same
  • Working closely with the public, law enforcement and attorneys in maintaining judges’ calendars of court dates and assisting judges in the courtroom
  • Summoning and qualifying jurors, assist judge in juror selection process, and authorize payment of jurors
  • Performing magistrate functions such as setting bond, handling initial appearances, issuing warrants, entering default judgments in small claims cases and performing marriages
Marshall County Courthouse


Office hours for the Clerk of Courts’ office are 8 am – Noon and 1–5 pm, Monday through Thursday.

Clerks’ Office, courtroom and other court offices are located on the third floor of the courthouse.

View the Marshall County Courtroom and obtain a list of courtroom details

There is a chairlift that goes from first floor to second floor. And another chair lift that goes from second floor to third floor.

Court is scheduled by calling the Clerk’s office and is held every other Tuesday, or you can view the motion day calendar.

The Courtroom in the Marshall County Courthouse is also one of seven interactive video (ITV) sites in the Fifth Circuit, where conferences, hearings and meetings take place through video technology. The other six sites include the Third Floor West Courtroom of the Brown County Courthouse in Aberdeen, Day County Courthouse in Webster, Faulk County Courthouse in Faulkton, Roberts County Courthouse in Sisseton, Spink County Courthouse in Redfield, and the Walworth County Courthouse in Selby. Scheduling for ITV is done through the Court Administrator’s Office in Aberdeen, phone numbers: 605-626-2450, or toll-free in-state 1-877-999-5613.

Marshall County Clerks, 1889-Present
1889 H. C. Hamilton
1890-1910 W. O. Amphlett
1911-1922 Edwin Heinz
1923-1934 James W. Keyes
1935-1942 Albert C. Hagen
1943-1950 Charles R. Knight
1951-1960 Thomas H. Cusick
1961-1968 Shirley Johnson
1969-1998 Carol Benda
1998-2003 Vivian C. Hove
2003-Present Kim A. Burger

Marshall County Judges, 1889-Present
1889-1890 J. O. Andrews
1891-1898 A. W. Campbell
1899-1901 Unknown
1902-1908 James H. McCoy
1909-1914 Frank McNulty
1915-1918 Thomas L. Bouck
1919-1922 Frank Anderson
1923-1924 B. A. Walton
1925-1928 R. D. Gardner & J. J. Batterton
1929-1930 R. D. Gardner & C. H. Babcock
1931-1944 C. H. Babcock & Van Buren Perry
1945-1954 Van Buren Perry & H. W. King
1955-1956 H. W. King & E. S. Farley
1957-1966 F. S. Tait & Philo Hall
1967-1974 Philo Hall & Sigurd Anderson
1975-1984 Philo Hall, Eugene Dobberphul, Mildred Ramynke, & Leland Berndt
1985-1986 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Mildred Ramynke, Leland Berndt, & Vernon Evans
1987-1990 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Leland Berndt, Vernon Evans, & David Gilbertson
1991-1993 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Leland Berndt, David Gilbertson, & Larry Lovrien
1994-1995 Eugene Dobberpuhl, David Gilbertson, Larry Lovrien, & Jack Von Wald
1996-1998 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Larry Lovrien, Jack Von Wald, & Myles DeVine
1999-2003 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Larry Lovrien, Jack Von Wald, & Jon Flemmer
2004-2006 Jack Von Wald, Larry Lovrien, Jon Flemmer, & Scott Myren
2006-2013 Jack Von Wald, Jon Flemmer, Scott Myren, & Tony Portra
2014-Present Scott Myren, Jon Flemmer, Tony Portra, & Richard Sommers

Marshall County official website is,
Contact numbers for the county departments:

Assessor: 605-448-5291
Auditor: 605-448-2401
Highway Dept: 605-448-2301
Nurse: 605-448-2744
Register of Deeds: 605-448-2352
Sheriff: 605-448-5181
State's Attorney: 605-448-2775
Treasurer: 605-448-2451
Veteran's Service: 605-448-5190

Home | Forms | Calendar | News | Records | Opinions | Contact Us
©Copyright 2012 - State of South Dakota