Brown County Courthouse
Campbell County Courthouse
Day County Courthouse
Edmunds County Courthouse
Faulk County Courthouse
Marshall County Courthouse
McPherson County Courthouse
Roberts County Courthouse
Spink County Courthouse
Walworth County Courthouse

McPherson County

McPherson County Clerk

Welcome to the McPherson County Clerk of Court's Office.
Our contact information is:

McPherson County Clerk of Courts
PO Box 248
706 Main Street
Leola, SD 57456-0248

Phone Number: 605-439-3361
Fax Number: 605-439-3297

For more information and directions to the courthouse, Please visit SDJurors. Then select Your E-Courthouse and choose McPherson county.

The basic functions of the clerk’s office are:

  • Assisting with requests for information on court procedures, fees, court dates, forms
  • Processing passports, assessing & receipting fees thereon
  • Opening, maintaining, storing and retrieving court files as needed in different types of cases
  • Processing traffic tickets and other criminal complaints, receipting and disbursing fines, fees, costs, bond and restitution associated with same
  • Working closely with the public, law enforcement and attorneys in maintaining judges’ calendars of court dates and assisting judges in the courtroom
  • Summoning and qualifying jurors, assist judge in juror selection process, and authorize payment of jurors
  • Performing magistrate functions such as setting bond, handling initial appearances, issuing warrants, entering default judgments in small claims cases and performing marriages
McPherson County Courthouse


Office hours for the Clerks’ Office are 8 am –Noon, Monday through Friday.

Clerk of Courts office is located on second floor of the Courthouse.

The Courtroom, jury room and offices for the Court are located on third floor.

Court is scheduled by calling the Clerk’s office, and is held one Tuesday morning each month. Or you can view the motion day calendar.

McPherson County Clerks’ office is a statewide search center for criminal background checks (fees may apply)

View the McPherson County courtroom and obtain a list of courtroom details

Mural in McPherson County Courthouse
One of the murals in the McPherson Co. Courthouse

McPherson County Clerks, 1889-Present
1889-1896 Orvin J. Roe
1897-1898 Theo J. P. Geidt
1899-1900 Fred Arndt
1901-1922 Ulrich Reue
1923-1928 Gustave Hilgermann
1929-1956 L. E. Balliet
1957-1984 Peter Schmidt
1985-1988 Devee Dietz
1989-Present Ronda Geffre

McPherson County Judges, 1889-Present
1889-1896 Howard G. Fuller
1897-1902 Loring E. Gaffy
1903-1904 Unknown
1905-1910 Lyman T. Boucher
1911-1942 Joseph H. Bottum
1943-1966 H. E. Mundt
1967-1970 H. E. Mundt & Fred R. Winans
1971-1974 H. E. Mundt & Robert A. Miller
1975-1984 Philo Hall, Eugene Dobberphul, Mildred Ramynke, & Leland Berndt
1985-1986 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Mildred Ramynke, Leland Berndt, & Vernon Evans
1987-1990 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Leland Berndt, Vernon Evans, & David Gilbertson
1991-1993 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Leland Berndt, David Gilbertson, & Larry Lovrien
1994-1995 Eugene Dobberpuhl, David Gilbertson, Larry Lovrien, & Jack Von Wald
1996-1998 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Larry Lovrien, Jack Von Wald, & Myles DeVine
1999-2003 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Larry Lovrien, Jack Von Wald, & Jon Flemmer
2004-2006 Jack Von Wald, Larry Lovrien, Jon Flemmer, & Scott Myren
2006-2013 Jack Von Wald, Jon Flemmer, Scott Myren, & Tony Portra
2014-Present Scott Myren, Jon Flemmer, Tony Portra, & Richard Sommers

McPherson County does not have an official website, but here are some contact numbers for the county departments:

Assessor: 605-439-3663
Auditor: 605-439-3314
Highway Dept: 605-439-3667
Register of Deeds: 605-439-3151
Sheriff: 605-439-3400
State's Attorney: 605-284-5121
Treasurer: 605-439-3544

Home | Forms | Calendar | News | Records | Opinions | Contact Us
©Copyright 2012 - State of South Dakota