Brown County Courthouse
Campbell County Courthouse
Day County Courthouse
Edmunds County Courthouse
Faulk County Courthouse
Marshall County Courthouse
McPherson County Courthouse
Roberts County Courthouse
Spink County Courthouse
Walworth County Courthouse

Roberts County

Roberts County Clerks

Welcome to the Roberts County Clerk of Court's Office.
Our contact information is:

Roberts County Clerk of Courts
411 2nd Ave. East
Sisseton, SD 57262

Phone Number: 605-698-3395
Fax Number: 605-698-7894

For more information and directions to the courthouse, Please visit SDJurors. Then select Your E-Courthouse and choose Roberts county.

The basic functions of the clerk’s office are:

  • Assisting with requests for information on court procedures, fees, court dates, forms
  • Processing passports, assessing & receipting fees thereon
  • Opening, maintaining, storing and retrieving court files as needed in different types of cases
  • Processing traffic tickets and other criminal complaints, receipting and disbursing fines, fees, costs, bond and restitution associated with same
  • Working closely with the public, law enforcement and attorneys in maintaining judges’ calendars of court dates and assisting judges in the courtroom
  • Summoning and qualifying jurors, assist judge in juror selection process, and authorize payment of jurors
  • Performing magistrate functions such as setting bond, handling initial appearances, issuing warrants, entering default judgments in small claims cases and performing marriages
Roberts County Courthouse


Office hours for the Clerk's Office are 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday.
Court Services – Probation – 2nd Floor
Small Courtroom/Jury Room/ITV Room – 2nd Floor
Judge’s Chambers – 2nd Floor
Court Reporter Office – 2nd Floor
Law Library – 2nd Floor

The Roberts County Courthouse has two courtrooms. View the courtrooms and obtain a list of courtroom details

Court hearings are scheduled through the Clerks’ office. For a listing of court dates, view the motion day calendar, or call the Clerks’ Office at 605-698-3395 for an up to date schedule

Roberts County Courthouse is also one of seven interactive video (ITV) sites in the Fifth Circuit, where conferences, hearings and meetings take place through video technology. The other six sites include the Brown County Courthouse in Aberdeen, Day County Courthouse in Webster, Faulk County Courthouse in Faulkton, Marshall County Courthouse in Britton, Spink County Courthouse in Redfield, and the Walworth County Courthouse in Selby. Scheduling for ITV is done through the Court Administrator’s Office in Aberdeen, phone nos. 605-626-2450, or toll-free in-state 1-877-999-5613.

Mural in Jury Room
Mural - Jury Room/Small Courtroom/ITV Room

Roberts County Clerks, 1889-Present
1889 Wm. G. Ashton
1890 D. S. Cable
1891-1892 C. C. Draves
1893-1896 Henry S. Morris
1897-1902 John C. Perkins
1903-1908 L. William Foss
1909-1912 Ivar Stadstad
1913-1914 D. Stevens
1915-1918 Kareluis Nelson
1919-1924 D. F. Stevens
1925-1936 Roy L. Vreim
1937-1962 John Koeppe
1963-1964 Clayton Moen
1965-1966 John A. Koeppe
1967-1968 Paul Koulterman
1969-1972 Edgar Wickander
1973-1998 Vivian C. Hove
1998-Present Cindy Marohl

Roberts County Judges, 1889-Present
1889-1893 Unknown
1894 J. O. Andrews
1895-1900 J. O. Andrews & A. W. Campbell
1901 A. W. Campbell
1902-1908 James H. McCoy
1909-1914 Frank McNulty
1915-1918 Thomas L. Bouck
1919-1922 Frank Anderson
1923-1924 B. A. Walton
1925-1928 R. D. Gardner & J. J. Batterton
1929-1930 R. D. Gardner & C. H. Babcock
1931-1944 C. H. Babcock & Van Buren Perry
1945-1954 Van Buren Perry & H. W. King
1955-1956 H. W. King & E. S. Farley
1957-1966 F. S. Tait & Philo Hall
1967-1974 Philo Hall & Sigurd Anderson
1975-1984 Philo Hall, Eugene Dobberphul, Mildred Ramynke, & Leland Berndt
1985-1986 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Mildred Ramynke, Leland Berndt, & Vernon Evans
1987-1990 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Leland Berndt, Vernon Evans, & David Gilbertson
1991-1993 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Leland Berndt, David Gilbertson, & Larry Lovrien
1994-1995 Eugene Dobberpuhl, David Gilbertson, Larry Lovrien, & Jack Von Wald
1996-1998 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Larry Lovrien, Jack Von Wald, & Myles DeVine
1999-2003 Eugene Dobberpuhl, Larry Lovrien, Jack Von Wald, & Jon Flemmer
2004-2006 Jack Von Wald, Larry Lovrien, Jon Flemmer, & Scott Myren
2006-2013 Jack Von Wald, Jon Flemmer, Scott Myren, & Tony Portra
2014-Present Scott Myren, Jon Flemmer, Tony Portra, & Richard Sommers

Roberts County does not have an official website, but here are some contact numbers for the county departments:

Assessor: 605-698-3205
Auditor: 605-698-7336
Highway Dept: 605-698-3905
Register of Deeds: 605-698-7152
Sheriff: 605-698-7667
State's Attorney: 605-698-7071
Treasurer: 605-698-7245

Home | Forms | Calendar | News | Records | Opinions | Contact Us
©Copyright 2012 - State of South Dakota