Information
Search
-or-
-or-
Butte County Courthouse
Corson County Courthouse
Dewey County Courthouse
Harding County Courthouse
Lawrence County Courthouse
Meade County Courthouse
Perkins County Courthouse
Ziebach County Courthouse

Civil Wedding Ceremonies

WHAT IS A CIVIL OR COURT WEDDING?

A civil court wedding is a marriage ceremony performed by a judge or clerk of court serving in a clerk magistrate capacity. These ceremonies are performed at the local courthouse, by appointment with the clerk’s office.

WHEN ARE CIVIL WEDDINGS PERFORMED?

It is our policy to perform wedding ceremonies in the courthouse or on courthouse grounds during regular work hours. Office hours are listed below:

Office hours: Monday-Friday 9:30-2:30 – Corson, Dewey, Harding and Ziebach Counties

Butte, Perkins, Lawrence, and Meade counties do not perform wedding ceremonies.

Depending on court activity, an appointment is preferred. You may be asked to return at another time if you do not have an appointment.

IS THERE A FEE?

Yes, South Dakota law requires a fee of $20. This is in addition to the fee you will pay for a marriage license. No tips or gratuities will be accepted by the person performing the ceremony.

WHAT MUST I BRING TO THE CEREMONY?

Your South Dakota marriage license and photographic identification is all that is required. Two witnesses (also with identification) will be needed to sign the certificate.

WHERE DO WE GET THE MARRIAGE LICENSE?

You can obtain a marriage license from any county Register of Deeds in South Dakota. There is a fee for issuing the license, and once it is obtained, the marriage must take place within 20 days or the license becomes void. Contact the Register of Deeds for more information about age, consent, and other specific requirements for obtaining the license.



Home | Forms | Calendar | News | Records | Opinions | Contact Us
©Copyright 2012 - State of South Dakota