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Frequently Asked Questions

How much will my fine be?

The maximum fine amounts are established by the legislature. For cases
heard in court, the judges can use their discretion to set fine amounts based
on the seriousness of the offense. For some of the more common offenses
(for example, speeding or failing to stop at a stop sign) that don’t have court
appearances required, standard amounts are set by a fine and bond
schedule and should be indicated on the ticket at the time of the offense.
The fine and bond schedule can be found at
https://ujs.sd.gov/uploads/docs/Fine_and Bond Schedule.pdf

Can I get an extension to pay my fines?

All fines and costs are due by the date indicated on the ticket, or the date of
sentencing if it was a court appearance. If you are unable to pay your fine
in full the day it is due, you can ask the judge to allow for an extension. If
an extension is granted, you will need to visit the clerk of courts to set up
and sign a payment plan.

How much will my license tags cost this year?

License plate renewals and registrations are not processed by the courts.
You should contact your local county Treasurer’s office with this question.

How can I get a copy of my birth certificate?

The courts do not maintain birth certificates or other vital statistic records
(such as marriage or death certificates). You can contact your local county
Register of Deeds office or the South Dakota Department of Health and Vital
Records office for this information.


https://ujs.sd.gov/uploads/docs/Fine_and_Bond_Schedule.pdf

What do I need to get a judgment against a person?

You must start a court action in either small claims or civil court in order to
get a judgment. The judge who hears the case must agree that your claim
is valid and rule in your favor. If your claim is $12,000 or less, you can use
the small claims process which is informal and can be done without an
attorney. Instructions and all necessary forms can be found at ujs.sd.gov.
For larger amounts, you would need to go through civil court.

How do I file a small claims suit?

A small claims action must be filed in either the county where the defendant
lives, or the county where the loss occurred. To start an action, the plaintiff
or his/her attorney must provide a written and signed statement describing
the loss amount and how the loss or damage occurred. This statement,
along with supporting documents (receipts, cost estimates, contracts, etc.),
a Case Filing Statement, and the filing fee are required to start the case.
Visit our website at ujs.sd.gov for forms and instructions.

Now that I have a judgment, when do I get my money?

Obtaining a judgment does not guarantee payment and the court does not
enforce collection. What it does do is place a lien against the debtor for 10
years which can be renewed for an additional 10 years if it remains unpaid.
Some defendants (debtors) are able to and do pay right away. Others make
arrangements to pay you over time. Some situations may require you to
enforce the judgment by other legal means such as an execution. There are
other procedures available to collect on a judgment, but they are often
legally complex and the assistance of an attorney may be required.

How do I garnish wages to collect my judgment?

Garnishing wages is a complex process and would be best to visit with an
attorney.



How do I file for a divorce?

South Dakota does have instructions and forms available to use in filing your
own divorce case in court if it will be simple and non-contested. These forms
can be obtained from any Clerk of Courts office for $10, or online at no cost
at ujslawhelp.sd.gov. You are strongly encouraged to consult with an
attorney before filing for divorce as many of the laws regarding marital
assets and child custody can be complex.

What do I need to get a marriage license?

Marriage licenses are issued by the local county Register of Deeds office, not
by the courts. You should contact them with specific questions. At a
minimum, you should be prepared to provide identification and pay a fee.
We can tell you that once a license is issued, the wedding must take place
within 90 days or the license becomes void.

How do I get a passport?

Passport acceptance facilities in South Dakota are located in some post
offices and insome county Clerk of Court, Register of Deeds, Treasurer and
Auditor offices. Visit the US Passport Service Guide site at https://www.us-
passport-service-guide.com/south-dakota-offices.html to find local locations.

What is the number for Driver Improvement?

1-800-952-3696 in South Dakota.

Can I talk with a judge directly outside of court or write a letter?

Generally, no, but it depends. All contact with a judge regarding any matters
related to court cases (pending or not) should occur through your attorney.
This ensures that the proper rules and laws are followed regarding
communications with a judge and notice to the other parties in a case. If you
are not represented by an attorney, your best option is to write a letter to
the judge, in care of the Clerk of Courts office for the county where your
case is pending, with a copy to all other parties. This will help keep the
judge from having one-sided communication (called ex parte) or creating a
conflict of interest for the judge by having access to information that may
not be appropriate.


https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/divorce.aspx
https://www.us-passport-service-guide.com/south-dakota-offices.html
https://www.us-passport-service-guide.com/south-dakota-offices.html

How do I get copies of documents from court files?

Not all documents in court files are available to the public; some have
limited access according to South Dakota laws. You can check with the Clerk
of Courts in the county where the case is pending to find out if what you
want is open for copying. There may be a fee for copies; that fee depends on
whether you want a regular copy, a certified or authenticated copy, and how
many pages there are in the document you are requesting. Generally, all
requests for copying and/or searches of records must be accompanied by
payment.

For CIVIL record searches and questions regarding criminal and civil record
searches, send an email with a completed Record Search Request form
to: UJSPARSsupport@ujs.state.sd.us

CRIMINAL and PROTECTION ORDER searches are available on the Public
Access Record Search (PARS) system at: https://ujspars.sd.gov/ (For a
credit card payment search, use the Search as Guest option).

There is a $20 fee to run a complete Civil and/or Criminal search on a party.

How do I find an attorney to handle my case?

Neither the Clerk nor the judge can recommend an individual attorney to
help you, although in some criminal cases, the court may appoint specific
counsel for you if you qualify by meeting certain financial guidelines. If you
cannot get a reference from a friend, or cannot find someone by using the
Yellow Pages of the phone directory, you might check with the Lawyer
Referral Help Line of the State Bar of South Dakota in Pierre. That number is
1-800-952-2333, and their web site is www.sdbar.org.

What if I have a complaint about my attorney?

It depends on the nature of your complaint and whether the attorney was
chosen by you or appointed by the court. Discussing your concerns with the
attorney may resolve your issues. If your attorney was court appointed, you
may ask the court to consider appointing someone else. There is a
grievance process available through the State Bar of South Dakota. Visit
their website at www.sdbar.org.



mailto:UJSPARSsupport@ujs.state.sd.us
https://ujspars.sd.gov/
http://www.sdbar.org/
http://www.sdbar.org/

Can I fax documents to the court?

Fax filings are allowed. Contact the Clerk of Courts office where your case is
pending for specific information and fax number.

How do I contact the clerk of courts?
Here is a link to the phone numbers for each office:
https://ujs.sd.gov/media/odyssey/Clerk Contact List.pdf

How do I get a hearing before a judge or how do I get a hearing date
changed?

Your attorney will arrange for the necessary hearings. However, if you are
not represented by an attorney, you should contact the Clerk of Courts office
in the county where you case is pending. The clerk will be able to tell you if
those arrangements can be made through that office, or if the judge will
need to be consulted. The answer will depend on the kind of case you have,
the nature of hearing requested, how much time might be needed, and
availability of the judge.

How do I get a transcript of a court hearing?

Transcripts are prepared by an official court reporter or court recorder. Most
transcripts will have to be requested directly from the court reporter
originally attending the court hearing. The Clerk of Courts office can tell you
who the reporter is and how to contact that person. Depending on the kind
of hearing and whether it was digitally recorded or stenographically
reported, the fees for a transcript will vary, as will the time it may take for
the transcription.

What is eCourts?

eCourts provides South Dakota active Abstractor Board of Examiners
members, South Dakota active Bar members, the Public, and SD Justice
Partners access to South Dakota open case data electronically. All users will
be required to register with a valid email account. There is no registration
fee. This site is https://ecourts.sd.gov/



https://ujs.sd.gov/media/odyssey/Clerk_Contact_List.pdf
https://ecourts.sd.gov/

Where can I get court documents?

The eCourts public access solution does not include the ability to view or
purchase documents. The possible presence of personally identifiable
information and lack of a redaction solution prevents including this
accessibility. To access documents, you can currently utilize the public
access workstations located in all courthouses. Please note that the
documents are restricted to publicly available documents and there is a 20
cent per page charge on publicly accessible cases.

When is my next court date?

Quickly find when you need to appear in Court for Criminal, Civil and Family
cases. The information viewed through Find a Court Date reflects the docket
entries for Criminal, Civil, and Family type court records open to the public.
Certain records may not be available in accordance with Federal and State
statutes and the Rules Governing the Unified Judicial System or by Court
Order. Website is https://ujsfindcourtdate.sd.gov

Can I pay my ticket online?

Yes, as long as you are paying prior to the court date listed on the citation
and the Power of Attorney is marked on the ticket. The website to make a
payment is https://ujsportal.sd.gov/Portal/.
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Can I pay my fines and costs online?

Yes, as long as you set up a payment plan with the clerk of courts and know
your case number you can make a payment online. The website to make a
payment is https://ujsportal.sd.gov/Portal/.

How do I get a protection order?

South Dakota does have instructions and forms available for use in filing
your own protection order case in court. These forms can be obtained from
any Clerk of Court office or on-line at
https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/protectionorders.aspx.



https://ujsfindcourtdate.sd.gov/
https://ujsportal.sd.gov/Portal/
https://ujsportal.sd.gov/Portal/
https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/protectionorders.aspx
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