

South Dakota Supreme Court Appointment Districts Effective January 23, 2012

Effective January 23, 2012:

16-1-1. Supreme Court districts. The state is divided into five Supreme Court districts from each of which a justice shall be selected as follows:

First District. The counties of Custer, Pennington, Lawrence, and Meade shall constitute the first Supreme Court district.

Second District. The county of Minnehaha shall constitute the second Supreme Court district.

Third District. The counties of Brookings, Kingsbury, Moody, Miner, Sanborn, Beadle, Jerauld, Hand, Hyde, Hughes, Sully, Stanley, Brule, Buffalo, Jones, Jackson, Lyman, Mellette, Todd, Tripp, Bennett, Shannon, Fall River, Lake, and Haakon shall constitute the third Supreme Court district.

Fourth District. The counties of Union, Clay, Yankton, Hutchinson, Hanson, Davison, Bon Homme, Douglas, Aurora, Charles Mix, Gregory, McCook, Turner and Lincoln shall constitute the fourth Supreme Court district.

Fifth District. The counties of Grant, Roberts, Day, Marshall, Clark, Brown, McPherson, Edmunds, Faulk, Potter, Walworth, Campbell, Corson, Dewey, Ziebach, Perkins, Butte, Codington, Spink, Deuel, Hamlin and Harding shall constitute the fifth Supreme Court district.