
                                        SOUTH DAKOTA UNIFIED JUDICIAL SYSTEM
                                       Guide to Filing Fees and Court Costs charged under SDCL 16-2-29, 16-2-39, 16-2-45

                                        Effective 02/01/20134/10/2016

CIVIL COURT COSTS Filing Fee

Court 

Automation 

Surcharge

Law            

Library Fee
Postage

Total             

Court Costs

Divorce $50.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $95.00

Child Support Modification $50.00 + $0.00 + $0.00 + $0.00 = $50.00

Civil Cases filed for Jury or Court Trial $25.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $70.00

Default Judgments $25.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $70.00

Default with Garnishment $25.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $70.00

Dissolution of Corporation $25.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $70.00

Foreclosure $25.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $70.00

Quiet Title $25.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $70.00

Appeals from an Administrative Agency $25.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $70.00

Adoptions $25.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $70.00

Name Change $25.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $70.00

Secretary of State (Optional) $30.00 - To South Dakota Secretary of State when a claim is filed against a Corporation

Division of Insurance (Optional) $10.00 - To State Division of Insurance when a claim is filed against an Insurance Company

*Please review SDCL 15-6-4(d) regarding personal service of summons*

Small Claims

Claims for $.01 - $100.00 $4.00 + $6.00 + $2.00 + $6.94 = $18.94

Claims for $100.01 - $1,000.00 $10.00 + $6.00 + $2.00 + $6.94 = $24.94

Claims for $1,001.00 - $3,999.99 $20.00 + $6.00 + $2.00 + $6.94 = $34.94

Claims for $4,000.00 - $12,000.00 $20.00 + $8.00 + $2.00 + $6.94 = $36.94

Certified Mail for Each Additional Party                          

(Required on all Counterclaims) $6.94 + $0.00 + $0.00 + $0.00 = $6.94

Subpoena's $2.00 + $0.00 + $0.00 + $0.00 = $2.00

Secretary of State (Optional) $30.00 - To South Dakota Secretary of State when a claim is filed against a Corporation

Division of Insurance (Optional) $10.00 - To State Division of Insurance when a claim is filed against an Insurance Company

Raising Small Claims to Civil Court $35.00 - This occurs when a Small Claims Case is raised to Civil Court

Bond posted by Defendant $250.00 - A bond is required when raising a Small Claims Case to Civil Court

Probate
Estate (Probate of Wills) $75.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $120.00

Summary Disposition $25.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $70.00

Termination $25.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 = $0.00 = $70.00

Special Administrations $25.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $70.00

Determination of Inheritance Tax $25.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $70.00

Guardianships (includes all subsequent papers $25.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $70.00

Trust $25.00 + $40.00 + $5.00 + $0.00 = $70.00

Safekeeping and Filing of Wills $2.00 + $0.00 + $0.00 + $0.00 = $2.00

Sale of Property $0.00 + $0.00 + $0.00 + $0.00 = No Charge

Issuing the following documents: Total Fee
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Execution $5.00

Special Execution $5.00

Writ of Execution or Commission $5.00

Filing and/or Docketing a Transcript of Judgment $10.00Renewing a Judgment $5.00Subpoena's (Civil) $2.00

Supreme Court of Appeals
To Clerk of Circuit Court $50.00 - Filing Fee

To Clerk of Supreme Court $50.00 - Filing Fee + $50.00 Court Automation Surcharge = $100.00

CRIMINAL COURT COSTS
Liquidated 

Costs

Court 

Automation 

Surcharge

Victim's 

Compensation 

Surcharge

Total             

Court Costs

All Felonies $40.00 + $61.50 + $2.50 = $104.00

All Class 1 Misdemeanors $40.00 + $41.50 + $2.50 = $84.00

Class 2 Misdemeanors (Violation of State Law) $40.00 + $23.50 + $2.50 = $66.00

All Violations of County or Municipal Ordinances $40.00 + $17.50 + $2.50 = $60.00

All Violations of Administrative Rules with Criminal Penalties $40.00 + $17.50 + $2.50 = $60.00

Petty Offenses No Court Costs, but fines will be assessed

*According to SDCL 25-10-1, effective July 1, 2011, any person convicted of a crime involving domestic violence 

or domestic abuse, the court shall order additional court costs of $25.00 to be paid to the Clerk of Courts*

MISCELLANEOUS (Criminal & Civil) Total Fee

Record Searches $20.00

Authenticated Copies $2.00

Certified Copies $2.00

Standard Copies $0.20

CourtSmart CD's $5.00

Fax Filings (received by the Court) $10.00 or $1.00 per page, whichever is greater

Sending a Fax (sent by the Court) $1.00 per page or $5.00 minimum

Insufficient Funds Check $30.00 - Service Charge

Revised 4-1-16 2


