These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce matters. You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website. If you have any legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney. Court staff are unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion. For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at <u>ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us</u>.

Before You Begin

If you are the spouse initiating the divorce, you will be designated as the Plaintiff on all forms. Your spouse will be referred to as the Defendant. This form serves as a simple checklist outlining the steps for the Plaintiff in a divorce proceeding. Each form mentioned in this checklist will include detailed instructions.

If you have already received a Summons and Complaint, consult the Checklist for Divorce with Minor Children (Defendant's Checklist).

Divorce actions can only be filed in the county in which you or your spouse reside.

Remember that all original copies of any form must be filed with the Clerk of Court, who will provide you with file stamped copies. Before submitting anything to a Sheriff, process server, or opposing party, make sure to retain a copy for your own records.

Starting a Divorce

Complete a Case Filing Statement (UJS-232) with both your demographic information and your spouse's demographic information. It is important to know
that your social security number and date of birth are required when filing a divorce
action with children.
Complete the Summons (with Minor Children) (UJS-311) and attach a copy of the
current South Dakota Parenting Time Guidelines (UJS-302) to the back.
Complete the Complaint (with Minor Children) (UJS-312) and sign in front of a
notary or the Clerk of Court.
Complete the Financial Affidavit (UJS-023) and sign in front of a notary or the Clerk
of Court.
File the original copies of each of the forms listed above with the Clerk of Court
along with the required \$95 filing fee.
☐ If you cannot afford the \$95 filing fee, please complete the Motion to Waive
Filing Fee (UJS-022) and submit with the above forms in lieu of the \$95.

Page 1 of 5

Form UJS-307B Rev. 04/2024

 Serve the Defendant with the Summons, attached South Dakota Parenting Time Guidelines, the Complaint, and a blank Case Filing Statement (UJS-232). For more detailed instructions on how to serve the Defendant, please refer to the Instruction for Service of Summons and Complaint with Minor Children (UJS317). File the proof of service with the Clerk of Court (ex. Sheriff Return, Certificate of Service, etc.)
PLEASE NOTE: CERTIFIED MAIL IS NOT CONSIDERED PROPER SERVICE
South Dakota Parenting Course
According to South Dakota law, all parties involved in an action related to child custody or parenting time, must complete a court-approved parenting course within sixty days of being served with the Summons and Complaint. Failure to comply may result in delays in finalizing the divorce proceedings.
 Course Requirement: Both parents must complete the court-approved parenting course. The course aims to educate participants about the impact of divorce proceedings on children.
2. Waiver or Delay: Participation in the course can only be waived or delayed if:a. Good cause is shown.b. The individual has previously completed a court-approved course within the
last five years. 3. Course Information: For more details about court-approved parenting classes, visit the South Dakota Unified Judicial website: https://ujs.sd.gov/Parenting_Education/Default.aspx
4. Requesting a Waiver : If you believe you have good cause to waive the required parenting course, complete and file the Affidavit on Court-Approved Parenting Course (UJS-364) form and file the original with the Clerk of Court.
Stipulated Divorce
If/When both parties come to an agreement regarding the terms and conditions of their divorce, it is referred to as a stipulated divorce. If such an agreement has been reached, both parties are required to complete and file the following forms:
☐ Stipulation and Settlement Agreement with Minor Children (UJS-325). All pages must be initialed and signed by both parties in front of a notary or the Clerk of

Court.

Page 2 of 5 Form UJS-307B

☐ Affidavit of Plaintiff and Defendant as to Jurisdiction and Grounds for Divorce

	(UJS-319B). Both parties need to sign this affidavit in front of a notary or the Clerk of Court.
	File the originals of the completed forms with the Clerk of Court.
<u>Finaliz</u>	zing a Stipulated Divorce
day v	n parties have signed the stipulation, filed it with the Clerk of Court, and the sixty vaiting period has elapsed since the Defendant was served with the Summons Complaint, you may proceed as follows:
	Complete form UJS/DSS-089 and file with the Clerk of Court. Complete the Judgment and Decree of Divorce Stipulation and Agreement with Children (UJS-326B): Fill out this form and either file the original with the Clerk of Court or bring it to your hearing if one is required. Note that some information may need to be filled in prior to submitting it to the Court. Carefully read the instructions and complete the form as directed. Please contact the Clerk of Court to determine whether a hearing is required or not. Judgment and Decree of Divorce Signing: If granted, the Judge will sign the Judgment and Decree of Divorce.
<u>Notice</u>	e of Entry of Judgment and Decree of Divorce
	the Judge has signed the Judgment and Decree of Divorce, the Court will de you with signed certified copies. To finalize the process, follow these steps:
	Complete and File the Notice of Entry: You may obtain this form from the Clerk of Court. Depending on the county, either the Clerk of Court will complete the form for you or provide you with the form for completion. Check with the Clerk of Court in your county. Complete the Affidavit of Mailing: You may obtain this form from the Clerk of Court. Again, depending on the county, either the Clerk of Court will complete it or provide you with the form for completion. Check with the Clerk of Court in
	your county. File the originals of both the Notice of Entry and the Affidavit of Mailing with the Clerk of Court.
	Mail a copy of the Notice of Entry, the Affidavit of Mailing, and the signed, certified copy of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce (UJS326B) to the opposing party.

*Steps under "Finalizing a Stipulated Divorce" can be completed by either party \ast

Default Divorce

If it has been at least sixty days since the Defendant was served with the Summons and Complaint, and they have failed to file an Answer, you may request a Default Divorce by following these steps:

☐ Complete form UJS/DSS-089.
 Complete the Affidavit of Default (UJS-323A) along with the Application for Judgment and Decree of Divorce Default (UJS-323B).
☐ Complete the Affidavit of Military Status (UJS-306).
☐ Complete the Affidavit of Mailing (UJS-323D). Mark which forms are being
mailed.
File the originals of all documents with the Clerk of Court.
☐ Mail a copy of the above-listed forms to the opposing party.
Hearing on Application for Default Divorce
If a hearing on the Application for Default Divorce is required, you will need to complete
the following steps as well:
☐ Complete the Notice of Hearing (UJS-323C). The Clerk of Court or Court
Administration will provide you with a hearing date and time.
 Complete an Affidavit of Mailing (UJS-323D). Mark which forms are being mailed.
File the originals with the Clerk of Court.
Mail a copy of the documents to the opposing party.
lacktriangle Attend the hearing date and time that was provided to you for the Notice of
Hearing. Bring a completed copy of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce with
Children (Default) (UJS-322B) for the Judge's review.

Default Divorce Granted

If the Court grants your Application for Default Judgment, a signed, certified copy of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce (Default) will be provided to you, and you will need to do the following:

☐ Complete and File the Notice of Entry: You may obtain this form from the Clerk of Court. Depending on the county, either the Clerk will complete the form for you or provide you with the form for completion. Check with the Clerk of Court in your county.

Complete the Affidavit of Mailing: You may obtain this form from the Clerk of
Court. Again, depending on the county, either the Clerk will complete it or
provide you with the form for completion. Check with the Clerk of Court in
your county.
File the originals of both the Notice of Entry and the Affidavit of Mailing with
the Clerk of Court.
Mail a copy of the Notice of Entry, the Affidavit of Mailing, and the signed,
certified copy of Judgment and Decree of Divorce (Default) to the opposing
party.

Contested Divorce

A contested divorce arises when a couple cannot find common ground regarding the decisions necessary to terminate their marriage. In such cases, they proceed to Court, where a Judge adjudicates the divorce-related matters. The forms contained in this packet do not cover contested divorces. This would be when the parties are encouraged to seek legal representation.

For more information on your case or to track events you may register as a user on eCourts, at: https://ecourts.sd.gov/Account/Login.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2f.

Page 5 of 5 Form UJS-307B

Rev. 04/2024

RESOURCES AVAILABLE

For Mediation Services:

A list of court-approved mediators is maintained on the UJS website at <u>ujs.sd.gov/Resources/ProgramsServices.aspx</u>

For Parenting Coordinator Services:

A list of approved parenting coordinators is maintained on the UJS website at ujs.sd.gov/Resources/ProgramsServices.aspx

For Assistance with UJS-Approved Legal Forms found at http://ujs.sd.gov:

Contact the UJS Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email Legal Research at UJSSRLHelp@ujs.state.sd.us.

Legal Aid Services of South Dakota:

Residents who meet financial eligibility guidelines can get free legal aid services in SD. To determine if you are eligible, contact one of the following:

Dakota Plains Legal Services, Inc.

https://www.dpls.org/contact-us

East River Legal Services, Inc.

335 N Main Ave. Suite 200 Sioux Falls, SD 57104

1-605-336-9230

East River Legal Services – Advancing Equal Access

to Justice for our most vulnerable citizens.

(erlservices.org)

Access to Justice, Inc.

This is a statewide program designed to supplement the legal aid programs in SD. Residents must be income eligible to qualify for legal services at a reduced rate or at no cost to you. Clients are responsible for paying case costs. Access to Justice Inc. also offers clinics periodically to assist self-represented litigants in filling out UJS approved legal forms.

Access to Justice Inc State Bar of South Dakota 222 E Capitol Ave #3 Pierre, SD 57501

Phone: 1-855-287-3510 Or Visit: https://www.statebarofsouthdakota.com/access-to-justice/

For Assistance with Complaints Regarding Businesses:

Office of the Attorney General Division of Consumer Protection 1302 E. Hwy 14, Suite 3 Pierre, SD 57501

Phone: (605) 773-4400

Toll Free: 1-800-300-1986 (in state only)
Or Visit: http://atg.sd.gov/Consumers.aspx

For Assistance in Finding a Lawyer:

The State Bar of South Dakota offers a listing of lawyers and firms in South Dakota and can be found at the following: https://findalaerinsd.com/. These are private practitioners who will charge for their services.

State Bar of South Dakota Toll Free: 1-800-952-2333 Phone: 605-224-7554

For further information regarding the court system in South Dakota or to obtain legal forms, please visit the South Dakota Unified Judicial System website at http://ujs.sd.gov.



The South Dakota Unified Judicial System (605) 773 3474 Rev. 04/2024

CASE FILING STATEMENT – Information Only; Not Retained in Case Records

Provide the Case File No. for the record you are filing into or the Case Type if initiating a new action:

*A list of case types and party roles can be found here: https://ujs.sd.gov/Attorneys/FormsDocumentation.aspx

Social Security Numbers (not Driver's License Numbers) must be provided for divorce, child support, & paternity cases, 42 USC 666(a)(13)(B). All filers are <u>required</u> to provide the SSN <u>or</u> DL# for each of <u>their</u> participants regardless of the case type. Business entities must provide the EIN number in lieu of SSN or DL#.

INFORMATION FOR PLAINTIFF/PETITIONER/APPLICANT:

Last/Business Name	First Name	Middle	Suffix	
Physical Address Check if Same as Mailing	City	State	Zip	
Mailing Address	City	State	Zip	
Home	Work	Cell		
Social Security No.	Date of Birth	Driver's License No. State	Employer ID (Business)	
Attorney:				
Last Name	First Name	State Bar ID No.		
Mailing Address	City	State	Zip	
-				
	-			
Phone	- ZENDANT/DESPONDENT/MIN	OP/DECEDENT/PEDSON IN N	JEED OF PROTECTION.	
Phone	FENDANT/RESPONDENT/MINO	OR/DECEDENT/PERSON IN N	NEED OF PROTECTION:	
Phone INFORMATION FOR DEI	FENDANT/RESPONDENT/MINO First Name	OR/DECEDENT/PERSON IN N Middle	NEED OF PROTECTION: Suffix	
Phone INFORMATION FOR DEI Last/Business Name				
Phone INFORMATION FOR DEI Last/Business Name Physical Address Check if Same as Mailing	First Name	Middle	Suffix	
Phone INFORMATION FOR DEI Last/Business Name Physical Address Check if Same as Mailing Mailing Address	First Name City	Middle	Suffix Zip	
Phone INFORMATION FOR DEI Last/Business Name Physical Address Check if Same as Mailing Mailing Address Home	First Name City City	Middle State State	Suffix Zip	
Phone INFORMATION FOR DEI Last/Business Name Physical Address Check if Same as Mailing Mailing Address Home Social Security No.	First Name City City Work	Middle State State Cell	Suffix Zip Zip	
Phone INFORMATION FOR DEI Last/Business Name Physical Address	First Name City City Work	Middle State State Cell	Suffix Zip Zip	

CASE FILING STATEMENT – Information Only; Not Retained in Case Records

Provide the Case File No. for the record you are filing into or the Case Type if initiating a new action:

*A list of case types and party roles can be found here: https://ujs.sd.gov/Attorneys/FormsDocumentation.aspx

Social Security Numbers (not Driver's License Numbers) must be provided for divorce, child support, & paternity cases, 42 USC 666(a)(13)(B). All filers are <u>required</u> to provide the SSN <u>or</u> DL# for each of <u>their</u> participants regardless of the case type. Business entities must provide the EIN number in lieu of SSN or DL#.

INFORMATION FOR PLAINTIFF/PETITIONER/APPLICANT:

Last/Business Name	First Name	Middle	Suffix	
Physical Address Check if Same as Mailing	City	State	Zip	
Mailing Address	City	State	Zip	
Home	Work	Cell		
Social Security No.	Date of Birth	Driver's License No. State	Employer ID (Business)	
Attorney:				
Last Name	First Name	State Bar ID No.		
Mailing Address	City	State	Zip	
-				
	-			
Phone	- ZENDANT/DESPONDENT/MIN	OP/DECEDENT/PEDSON IN N	JEED OF PROTECTION.	
Phone	FENDANT/RESPONDENT/MINO	OR/DECEDENT/PERSON IN N	NEED OF PROTECTION:	
Phone INFORMATION FOR DEI	FENDANT/RESPONDENT/MINO First Name	OR/DECEDENT/PERSON IN N Middle	NEED OF PROTECTION: Suffix	
Phone INFORMATION FOR DEI Last/Business Name				
Phone INFORMATION FOR DEI Last/Business Name Physical Address Check if Same as Mailing	First Name	Middle	Suffix	
Phone INFORMATION FOR DEI Last/Business Name Physical Address Check if Same as Mailing Mailing Address	First Name City	Middle	Suffix Zip	
Phone INFORMATION FOR DEI Last/Business Name Physical Address Check if Same as Mailing Mailing Address Home	First Name City City	Middle State State	Suffix Zip	
Phone INFORMATION FOR DEI Last/Business Name Physical Address Check if Same as Mailing Mailing Address Home Social Security No.	First Name City City Work	Middle State State Cell	Suffix Zip Zip	
Phone INFORMATION FOR DEI Last/Business Name Physical Address	First Name City City Work	Middle State State Cell	Suffix Zip Zip	

INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM FOR SUMMONS (WITH MINOR CHILDREN)

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce matters. You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website. If you have any legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney. Court staff are unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion. For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at <u>uissrlhelp@uis.state.sd.us</u>.

To complete this form, you will need to:

Complete the caption of the Summons.
□ County (insert county name).
□ Judicial Circuit (insert circuit number). You may find your judicial circuit
number at the following web address.
 https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx
□ Plaintiff (insert your name).
□ Defendant (insert spouses name).
Case Number will be provided to you by the Clerk of Court at the time of
filing.
Date and sign.
File this form along with the Complaint (with Minor Children) (UJS-312), Case Filing
Statement (UJS-232), the required filing fee, and Financial Affidavit (UJS-023) with the
Clerk of Court.
It is very important that you read and follow the Temporary Restraining Order that
becomes automatic when you file for divorce and the other party has been served.
Both parties are required to obey it. Violation of any of these terms could subject
you to penalties and delay your divorce. Please read it carefully.

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA	IN CIRCUIT COURT
COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
Plaintiff v.	Case No.: SUMMONS (WITH MINOR CHILDREN)
Defendant	_

TO THE ABOVE-NAMED DEFENDANT:

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED and required to answer the Complaint with Minor Children of the Plaintiff, a copy of which is herewith served upon you, and to serve the Plaintiff with a copy of your Answer, or other proper response, within thirty days from the date of the service of the Summons upon you, not counting the day of service.

IF YOU FAIL TO DO SO, judgment by default may be taken against you for the relief demanded in the Complaint sixty days from the date of the service of this Summons and Complaint with Minor Children, not counting the day of service.

NOTICE

South Dakota law provides that upon the filing and service of the Summons and Complaint with Minor Children on the Defendant, a Temporary Restraining Order shall be in effect against both parties until the final decree is entered, the Complaint with Minor Children is dismissed or until further order of the Court. Either party may apply to the Court for further temporary orders or modification or revocation of this Order.

TEMPORARY RESTRAINING ORDER

PER SDCL § 25-4-33.1, BY ORDER OF COURT, YOU AND YOUR SPOUSE ARE:

(1) Restrained from transferring, encumbering, concealing or in any way dissipating or disposing of any marital assets, without the written consent of the other party or an order of the Court, except as may be necessary in the usual course of business or for the necessities of life. You are to notify the other party of any proposed extraordinary expenditures and to account to the Court for all extraordinary expenditures made after the Temporary Restraining Order is in effect;

- (2)Restrained from molesting or disturbing the peace of the other party;
- Restrained from removing any minor child of the parties from the state (3)without the written consent of the other party or an order of the Court; and
- (4)Restrained from making any changes to any insurance coverage for the parties or any child of the parties without the written consent of the other party or an order of the Court unless the change under the applicable insurance coverage increases the benefits, adds additional property, persons, or perils to be covered, or is required by the insurer.

INITIAL CUSTODY ORDER

Pursuant to SDCL § 25-4A-11 et sea., upon service of this Summons, the attached South Dakota Parenting Guidelines (Form UJS-302) become an Order of this Court. Except as provided in SDCL § 33-6-10, any minor children of this marriage shall remain in the custody of the parent who has been the primary caregiver for the minor children for the majority of time in the twelve months preceding the filing of the Summons and Complaint with Minor Children, unless the parties otherwise agree. The guidelines are subject to any provision established by a South Dakota state court in the following: a temporary or permanent domestic protection order, an order arising out of an abuse or neglect proceeding, a bond condition arising out of a criminal case, and an order in any other proceeding affecting child custody or support. SDCL § 25-4A-14.

The attached guidelines apply and shall continue in effect unless the parties agree or the Court otherwise orders. Imposition of these standard guidelines creates no presumption as to who may be awarded custody at any hearing. Per SDCL § 25-4A-12, any agreement by the parties for visitation other than the standard guidelines must be in writing, signed by both parties, and filed with the Court. The agreed plan shall be approved by court order and replace the standard guidelines or any plan previously filed.

Per SDCL § 25-4A-13, if either party objects to the implementation of the South Dakota Parenting Guidelines (Form UJS-302) as the initial custody arrangement, the objecting party shall file an objection with the Clerk of Court. The Court shall order a hearing which shall be held not later than thirty days after the date of the objection. The Court shall then issue its temporary custody and visitation order after considering the best interest of the child(ren) consistent with the provisions of SDCL § 25-4-45.

> 2 of 3 FORM UJS-311

IF EITHER SPOUSE VIOLATES ANY OF THESE PROVISIONS, THAT SPOUSE MAY BE FOUND TO BE IN CONTEMPT OF COURT AND MAY BE ORDERED TO PAY COSTS AND EXPENSES, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO THE ATTORNEY FEES OF THE OTHER SPOUSE.

Dated this	_day of	, 20
		Plaintiff's Signature
		Plaintiff's Printed Name
		Address
		City/State/Zip
		Phone No.

3 of 3 FORM UJS-311 Rev. 04/2024



Prepared by the 2021 South Dakota Commission on Parenting Guidelines

The South Dakota Parenting Guidelines are located on the South Dakota Legal Self-Help Center found at www.ujslawhelp.sd.gov

For more information, contact:

South Dakota Unified Judicial System
State Court Administrator's Office
500 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3474

The Parenting Guidelines are not copyrighted and may be reproduced without prior permission of the South Dakota Unified Judicial System, State Court Administrator's Office.

Enforcement.

These Guidelines are required to be served with the Summons and Complaint in a divorce, paternity action or any other custody action or proceeding. See https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/onlineforms.aspx under divorce or paternity actions for instructions on how to initiate an action (service of summons).

If the parents are able to agree to a schedule other than the guidelines, these Guidelines should be used as a *minimum* direction in creating the parenting time plan. Parents should agree to parenting times that they find reasonable and in the best interest of their children and the Parenting Guidelines are not intended to prevent such agreements.

If the parents are unable to agree on a parenting plan, these Guidelines become mandatory as the parenting plan and are enforceable as a court order upon initiation of a divorce or court action involving custody. SDCL 25-4A-11. If you disagree with the use of these Guidelines as your parenting time plan, either parent has the right to object. Your written objection shall be filed with the Clerk. After it is filed, a hearing will be held and the Judge will determine your parenting time schedule. Instructions and this objection form can be found at https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/defendants.aspx.

Instructions and forms regarding enforcement can be found at https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/enforcement.aspx.

Guideline 1. For Parents Who Have Children Under Age 5.

1.1. Children Under Age 5 Generally.

- O Newborns (birth to 3 months) and infants (3 6 months) have a great need for continuous contact with their primary caregiver, but also frequent contact with both parents who provide a sense of security, nurturing and predictability.
- O Generally, overnights for very young children is not recommended unless the parents are both very closely attached to the children, are able to personally provide primary care, the children are adaptable, and the parents are cooperative.
- O Older children are able to tolerate more and longer separations from one parent or the other.

The following Guidelines for children under age 5 are designed to take into account childhood developmental milestones. Since children mature at different rates, these may need to be adjusted to fit the children's individual circumstances.

1.2. <u>Birth until 3 Months</u>. Three, 2-hour parenting time periods per week and one weekend parenting time period for 6 hours. In situations where both parents have been engaged in an ongoing caregiving

routine with a nursing child, overnights are allowed to continue as much as possible to provide the same caregiving arrangement to the child and maintain stability for the child. If applicable, breastfeeding shall be accommodated, but the parents must cooperate in working out alternatives. *See* 1.8 below.

- **1.3.** 3 6 Months. Recognizing the amount of time each parent spent with the children prior to the parents' separation and/or since that time, alternative parenting plans are recommended:
- (1) Three, 3-hour custodial periods per week and one weekend day for 6 hours. If applicable, breast feeding shall be accommodated but the parents must cooperate in working out alternatives; or
- (2) Three, 3-hour custodial periods per week and one overnight on a weekend not to exceed 18 hours, if the parent is capable of personally providing primary care. See exceptions in Section 1.8 below; or
- (3) In situations where both parents have been engaged in an ongoing caregiving routine with a child, overnights are allowed to continue as much as possible to provide the same caregiving arrangement to the children and maintain stability for the children.
- **1.4.** 6 12 Months. Recognizing the amount of time each parent spent with the children prior to the parents' separation and/or since that time, alternative parenting times are recommended:
- (1) Three, 4-hour parenting time periods per week and one weekend day for 6 hours; or
- (2) Three, 4-hour parenting time periods per week and one overnight on a weekend not to exceed 18 hours, if the child is not breastfeeding and the parent is capable of personally providing primary care; or
- (3) Children spend time in alternate homes, but spends significantly more time in one parent's home and no more than 1-2 overnights spaced regularly throughout the week at the other parent's home; or
- (4) In situations where both parents have been engaged in an ongoing caregiving routine with a child, overnights are allowed to continue as much as possible to provide the same caregiving arrangement to the children and maintain stability for the children.
- **1.5.** <u>12 36 Months</u>. Recognizing the amount of time each parent spent with the children prior to the parents' separation and/or since that time, alternative parenting times are recommended:
- (1) Three, 8-hour parenting time periods per week on a predictable schedule; or
- (2) Three, 8-hour parenting time periods per week on a predictable schedule and one overnight per week not to exceed 18 hours; or

- (3) Children spends time in alternate homes, but with significantly more time in one parent's home with 1-2 overnights spaced regularly throughout the week. This arrangement requires adaptable children; or
- (4) In situations where both parents have been engaged in an ongoing caregiving routine with the children (nursing or otherwise), overnights are allowed to continue as much as possible to provide the same caregiving arrangement to the children and maintain stability for the children.
- **1.6.** <u>3 Years 5 Years.</u> Recognizing the amount of time each parent spent with the children prior to the parents' separation and/or since that time, alternative parenting times are recommended:
- (1) One overnight parenting time period not to exceed 24 hours and two additional 8-hour parenting time periods each week, separate from the overnight, with the children returning to the other parent's home at least 1 hour before bedtime; or
- (2) Two to three overnights at one home, spaced throughout the week, the remaining time at the other parent's home. This arrangement requires adaptable children; or
- (3) In situations where both parents have been engaged in an ongoing caregiving routine with the children, overnights are allowed to continue as much as possible to provide the same caregiving arrangement to the children and maintain stability for the children.

If the parents cannot agree on which provision shall apply in sections 1.2 through 1.6, the parties shall use option 1 until further order of the court. Absent special circumstances as determined by the court, parenting time shall not decrease from one age category to the next.

- **1.7.** <u>Children in Day Care.</u> In families where children are in day care before and/or after parental separation, the children may be able to tolerate more time with each parent earlier than their specific age group indicates above because the children are accustomed to separations from both parents.
- **1.8.** Breastfeeding Children. Parents must be sensitive to the special needs of breastfeeding children. Children's basic sleeping, feeding, and waking cycles should be maintained to limit disruption in the children's routine. Forcibly changing these routines due to the upheaval of parental disagreement is detrimental to the physical health and emotional well-being of the children. On the other hand, it is important that the children be able to bond with both parents.
 - a. For children being exclusively breastfed, the nursing child can still have frequent parenting time with the other parent. The amount of time will be guided by/subject to the infant's feeding schedule, progressing to more time as the child grows older. Both parents should be mindful that a feeding may occur, and the child may return to time with the other parent after the feeding.

- b. Where both parents have been engaged in an ongoing caregiving routine with a nursing child, the same caregiving arrangement should be continued as much as possible to maintain stability for the children.
- c. If the other parent has been caring for the children overnight or for twenty-four hour periods while the nursing mother sleeps or works, that arrangement should/shall continue.
- d. A mother may not use breastfeeding to deprive the other parent of time with the children. If, for example, a nursing mother uses day care or a babysitter for the children, the same accommodations (i.e., bottle feeding with breast milk or formula, or increased time between breast feeding sessions) used with the day care provider or babysitter will be used with the other parent, if the other parent is capable of personally providing the same caregiving.
- **1.9.** <u>Holidays.</u> For children aged 0-5 years, when the parents live and/or celebrate the holiday in the same or a nearby community, the parents shall alternate the following holidays in the chart below. Prior to a child's 5th birthday, holiday parenting time shall not exceed the longest period of parenting time currently being exercised and shall be scheduled by the parent exercising holiday time. If the parents cannot otherwise agree, the holiday time shall be exercised within the time frames provided in the chart below not to exceed the longest period of parenting time currently being exercised. It is recommended that the parents communicate two weeks in advance about who is exercising what time period for the holidays set forth below. Parenting time, however, shall not be withheld solely for failure to abide by this two-week recommendation.

Holiday	Details	Even- Numbered Years	Odd- Numbered Years
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day weekend	5:00 p.m. Friday – 8:00 a.m. Tuesday	Parent 2	Parent 1
President's Day weekend	5:00 p.m. Friday – 8:00 a.m. Tuesday	Parent 1	Parent 2
Easter weekend	8:00 a.m. Friday – 8:00 a.m. Monday	Parent 2	Parent 1
Mother's Day	8:00 a.m. – 8:00 a.m. the following day	Parent 1	Parent 1
Memorial Day	5:00 p.m. Friday – 8:00 a.m. Tuesday	Parent 2	Parent 1
Juneteenth (6/19)	8:00 a.m. – 8:00 a.m. the following day	Parent 1	Parent 2
Father's Day	8:00 a.m. – 8:00 a.m. the following day	Parent 2	Parent 2
4 th of July	5:00 p.m. July 3rd – 5:00 p.m. July 5th	Parent 1	Parent 2
Labor Day	5:00 p.m. Friday – 8:00 a.m. Tuesday	Parent 1	Parent 2
Native American Day	5:00 p.m. Friday – 8:00 a.m. Tuesday	Parent 2	Parent 1
Halloween	3:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.	Parent 1	Parent 2
Thanksgiving	8:00 a.m. Thursday – 5:00 p.m. Sunday	Parent 2	Parent 1

Christmas Eve	8:00 a.m. Christmas Eve – 8:00 a.m. Christmas Day	Parent 2	Parent 1
Christmas Day	8:00 a.m. Christmas Day – 8:00 a.m. December 26th	Parent 1	Parent 2
Child's Birthday	Ages 0-3 = 4 hours Ages 3-5 = 8 a.m. on date of birthday – 8:00 a.m. the next day (If the birthday falls on a holiday, the parenting time for the birthday shall take place the day before)	Parent 2	Parent 1
Parent 2's Birthday	Ages 0-3 = 4 hours Ages 3-5 = 8 a.m. on date of birthday – 8:00 a.m. the next day (If the birthday falls on a holiday, the parenting time for the birthday shall take place the day before)	Parent 2	Parent 2
Parent 1's Birthday	Ages 0-3 = 4 hours Ages 3-5 = 8 a.m. on date of birthday – 8:00 a.m. the next day (If the birthday falls on a holiday, the parenting time for the birthday shall take place the day before)	Parent 1	Parent 1

- **1.10.** <u>Vacation With Children 3 5 Years Old.</u> Upon 30 days advance written notice (by mail, email or text message), each parent is entitled to two separate periods of uninterrupted time for up to 5 days each with their children each year, not to conflict with the other parent's holiday parenting time. Parents are encouraged to coordinate vacation plans. The parents shall consider extending the 5 day time periods to 7 days if the children are adaptable and accustomed to spending time with both parents.
- **1.11.** Long-Distance Parenting. When substantial distance between the parents exists, the ability to exercise these Guidelines is compromised. The parents will need to create a developmentally appropriate parenting plan for their unique situation. When parenting time is unable to be frequent, parents are encouraged to use video/audio contact to build and/or maintain the bond between the children and parent who lives afar.

Guideline 2. For Parents Who Have Children Age 5 and Older And Reside No More Than 200 Miles Apart.

2.1. <u>Weekends.</u> In most cases, it is a positive experience for the children to have both parents involved in taking the children to and from school. Parenting time shall consist of alternate weekends starting Friday upon the release of school or 3:15 p.m., whichever is applicable, and continuing until the return to school Monday or 8:00 a.m., whichever is applicable. Parenting time shall be an equivalent period of time if a parent is unavailable on weekends and the children do not miss school.

- **2.2.** <u>Mid-Week.</u> If time and distance allow, parenting time shall include one mid-week overnight every week, in addition to the weekends in 2.1 above, with the children. If the parents cannot otherwise agree, this mid-week time shall be on Wednesdays and shall start when the children are released from school or at 3:15 p.m., whichever is applicable, and concludes when the children are returned to school the next day or at 8:00 a.m., whichever is applicable. All transportation for the midweek parenting time is the responsibility of the parent exercising the parenting time.
- **2.3.** <u>Summer Break.</u> The children shall be with each parent for one-half of the school summer break. Summer break begins the day after school is released and ends the day before school commences. The parent with whom the children reside the majority of the time during the school year has priority to have the children the week before school resumes, which counts as part of that parent's summer break. At the option of the other parent, his/her parenting time during summer break may be consecutive or it may be split into 2 or more blocks of time. This parent shall provide a minimum of 30 days advance notice of the dates selected.

If the children go to summer school and it is impossible for a parent to schedule time other than during summer school, the parent may elect to take the time when the children are in summer school and transport the children to the summer school sessions at the children's school or an equivalent summer school session in that parent's community.

The parent with whom the children reside for the majority of the school year shall have the weekend before the beginning and the weekend after the end of the other parent's summer period, regardless of whose weekend it may be. This weekend time will not be made up.

During any summer vacation parenting times of three or more consecutive weeks, the parent exercising parenting time shall arrange for a mutually convenient 48-hour continuous period of time for the other parent to spend with the children.

2.4. <u>Holidays.</u> The following chart shows the allocation of the holidays between parents. School breaks and release times may be different from school to school and district to district. The school calendar is published on your children's school's website before each school year starts. It is important to know these dates / times as they pertain to your children.

Holiday / Special Event	Details / Times	Even- Numbered Years	Odd- Numbered Years
Martin Luther King Jr. Day weekend	Starts when school is released on Friday or 3:15 p.m., whichever is applicable and ends when the children are returned to school on Tuesday or at 8:00 a.m., whichever is applicable.	Parent 2	Parent 1
President's Day weekend	Starts when school is released on Friday or 3:15 p.m., whichever is applicable and ends when the children are returned to school on Tuesday or at 8:00 a.m., whichever is applicable.	Parent 1	Parent 2

Easter weekend	Starts when school is released for the holiday weekend and ends at 8:00 a.m. on the day school recommences after the holiday weekend.	Parent 2	Parent 1
Spring Break, if one is designated separately from Easter	Starts when school is released for Spring Break and ends at 8:00 a.m. on the day school begins after the break. If a spring break is not granted by the school, this provision would not apply. Also, if the spring break is combined with Easter, this provision would not apply.	Parent 1	Parent 2
Mother's Day	Starts at 8:00 a.m. on Mother's Day and ends at 8:00 a.m. on Monday; one overnight.	Parent 1	Parent 1
Memorial Day weekend	Starts when school is released on Friday or 3:15 p.m., whichever is applicable, and ends when the children are returned to school on Tuesday or at 8:00 a.m., whichever is applicable.	Parent 2	Parent 1
Juneteenth	Starts at 8:00 a.m. on 6/19 and ends at 8:00 a.m. on 6/20	Parent 1	Parent 2
Father's Day	Starts at 8:00 a.m. on Father's Day and ends at 8:00 a.m. on Monday; one overnight.	Parent 2	Parent 2
4 th of July	Begins July 3 at 5:00 p.m. and ends July 5 at 5:00 p.m.	Parent 1	Parent 2
Labor Day weekend	Starts when school is released on Friday or 3:15 p.m., whichever is applicable, and ends when the children are returned to school on Tuesday or at 8:00 a.m., whichever is applicable.	Parent 1	Parent 2
Native American Day weekend	Starts when school is released on Friday or 3:15 p.m., whichever is applicable, and ends when the children are returned to school on Tuesday or at 8:00 a.m., whichever is applicable.	Parent 2	Parent 1
Halloween	Starts on 10/31 when school releases for the day or 3:15 p.m., whichever is applicable, and concludes on 11/01 when school resumes or at 8:00 a.m., whichever is applicable.	Parent 1	Parent 2
Thanksgiving weekend	Starts when school releases on Wednesday or 3:15 p.m., whichever is applicable, and ends Monday at 8:00 a.m.	Parent 2	Parent 1
Christmas Eve	Starts on 12/23 at 8:00 a.m. and concludes on 12/25 at 8:00 a.m.	Parent 2	Parent 1
Christmas Day	Starts on 12/25 at 8:00 a.m. and concludes on 12/27 at 8:00 a.m.	Parent 1	Parent 2
1 st half of winter break	The winter break starts when the day the children are released from school for the break and continues to the morning of the day the children return to school. The 48-hour parenting times for each Christmas Eve and Christmas Day are not included in the division of the winter break.	Parent 1	Parent 2
2 nd half of winter break, including New Year's holiday	The winter break starts when the day the children are released from school for the break and continues to the morning of the day the children return to school. The 48-hour parenting times for each Christmas Eve and Christmas Day are not included in the division of the winter break.	Parent 2	Parent 1

Children's Birthdays	Starts 8:00 a.m. on date of birthday – 8:00 a.m. the next day (If the birthday falls on a holiday, the parenting time for the birthday shall take place the day before); parenting time shall be with all of the children not just the one who has the birthday.	Parent 2	Parent 1
Parent 2's Birthday	Starts 8:00 a.m. on date of birthday – 8:00 a.m. the next day (If the birthday falls on a holiday, the parenting time for the birthday shall take place the day before).	Parent 2	Parent 2
Parent 1's Birthday	Starts 8:00 a.m. on date of birthday – 8:00 a.m. the next day (If the birthday falls on a holiday, the parenting time for the birthday shall take place the day before).	Parent 1	Parent 1

- **2.5.** Conflicts Between Regular and Holiday Weekends. When there is a conflict between a holiday weekend and the regularly scheduled weekend time, the holiday takes precedence. Unless mutually agreed in writing, there will be no makeup parenting time in conflicts between holiday weekend and the regularly scheduled weekend time. This may result in one parent having the children for three weekends in a row; however, neither parent shall have the children for more than 3 weekends in a row.
- **2.6.** Parent's Vacation with Children Age 5 and Older. Each parent is entitled to a vacation with the children totaling up to 14 days, with 7 days being the most that may be exercised at one time. When possible, each parent shall provide the other with 30 days advance notice of their intent to utilize their vacation time. Parents are encouraged to coordinate vacation plans. In the event there is a dispute, the mother gets priority in choosing her vacation periods first in even-numbered years and the father gets priority in choosing his vacation periods first in odd-numbered years.
- **2.8.** <u>Precedence</u>. The allocation of holidays listed in the above chart shall take precedence over vacations. In other words, a parent cannot exercise their vacation with the children when it is the other parent's holiday. But vacations shall take precedence over the regular parenting time schedule.
- **2.9.** <u>Notice of Canceled Time With the Children</u>. Whenever possible, each parent shall give a minimum of three days' notice of intent not to exercise all or part of the scheduled time with the children. When such notice is not reasonably possible, the maximum notice permitted by the circumstances, and the explanation, shall be provided to the other parent.
- **2.10.** Pick Up and Return of Children. When the parents live in the same area/community, the responsibility for picking up and returning the children shall be shared. The parent who receives the children for his/her parenting time will pick the children up from the other parent. Both parents have an obligation to be punctual and to arrive at the agreed upon time, not substantially earlier or later. Repeated, unjustified violations of this provision may subject the offender to court sanctions.

Page 9 of 17 Rev. 10/2021 – Form UJS 302

Guideline 3. For Parents Who Have Children Age 5 and Older and Reside More Than 200 Miles Apart.

3.1. <u>Holidays</u>. Parents who reside more than 200 miles apart shall exercise the following holidays as follows:

Holiday	Details	Even-	Odd-
		Numbered	Numbered
		Years	Years
Easter weekend	Starts when school is released for the holiday	Parent 2	Parent 1
	weekend and ends at 8:00 a.m. on the day school		
	recommences after the holiday weekend.		
Spring Break, if one is	Starts when school is released for Spring Break and	Parent 1	Parent 2
designated separately	ends at 8:00 a.m. on the day school begins after		
from Easter	the break. If a spring break is not granted by the		
	school, this provision would not apply. Also, if the		
	spring break is combined with Easter, this provision		
	would not apply.		
Thanksgiving	Starts when school releases on Wednesday or 3:15	Parent 2	Parent 1
	p.m., whichever is applicable, and ends Monday at		
	8:00 a.m.		
Winter Break	The winter break starts when the day the children	Parent 1	Parent 2
	are released from school for the break and		
	continues to the morning of the day the children		
	return to school.		

- **3.2.** Summer Break. The parent with whom the children do not reside during the school year shall have the children for the children's summer break as follows: summer break begins 3 days after school is released and ends 7 days before school recommences. This allows 10 days of parenting time during the summer with the parent with whom the children reside during the school year. Additionally, the parent with whom the children reside during the entitled to exercise a 48 hour period of parenting time with the children every three weeks during the summer break; to be exercised at the sole expense of the parent with whom the children reside during the school year.
- **3.3.** Priority of Summer Time With Parent. Parenting time in the summer with the parent who lives more than 200 miles away takes precedence over summer activities (such as sports) when the parent's time cannot be reasonably scheduled around such events. Even so, the conscientious parent will often be able to enroll the children in a similar activity in the parent's community. When each child reaches an age and maturity where activities are very important to them, the parents should reach an agreement that works best for the child.
- **3.4.** <u>Notice</u>. At least sixty (60) days' notice (recommended to be by mail, email, or text message) shall be given by the parent who lives more than 200 miles away from the children of the date for commencing extended summer parenting time with the children so that the most efficient means of transportation may be obtained and the parents and the children may arrange their schedules. Failure to

Page 10 of 17 Rev. 10/2021 – Form UJS 302

give the precise number of days' notice does not entitle the parent with primary residence of the children the right to deny the other parent parenting time with the children.

- **3.5.** Additional Time With the Parent Who Lives More Than 200 Miles Away. The parent who resides more than 200 miles away from the children shall have the following parenting time:
 - o If the parent who lives more than 200 miles away wants to travel, at his/her sole expense, to visit with his/her children, this parenting time shall be accommodated for a reasonable time period of no less than 48 hours. However, this is not intended to be exercised more than every other weekend;
 - o Where distance and finances permit, additional parenting time for the parent residing more than 200 miles away from the children, such as holiday weekends or special events, is encouraged. Parents are encouraged to reference the holiday schedules set forth in Section 2.4 when determining the allocation and duration of other holidays; and
 - o When the parent who lives 200 miles away is in the area where the children reside, or the children are in the area where this parent resides, liberal time with the children based on the circumstances must be allowed. Circumstances will vary and may only allow for a quick visit or may allow for overnight parenting time.

The children may miss some school to spend time with the parent who lives 200 miles away, so long as it does not substantially impair the children's academic progress. However, additional time with the parent who lives more than 200 miles away from the child shall not interfere with the alternating holiday schedule set forth in Section 3.1 herein.

Parents are encouraged to communicate with each other and cooperate in creating additional parenting times for the children. If the additional parenting time exceeds 4 hours, the parent who lives more than 200 miles away shall provide as much advance notice as possible, preferably 30 days. Failure to provide notice shall not be the sole reason for denial of additional parenting time.

Guideline 4. General Rules Applicable to All Parents

- **4.1.** Rules of Conduct. A parent shall always avoid speaking negatively about the other parent and must firmly discourage such conduct by relatives or friends. Each parent should speak in positive terms about the other parent in the presence of the children. Each parent shall encourage the children to respect the other parent. Children should never be used by one parent to spy or report on the other parent.
- **4.2.** <u>Relatives.</u> Children will usually benefit from continued contact with all relatives on both sides of the family. Such relationships should be protected and encouraged. But relatives, like parents, need to avoid being critical of either parent in front of the children. Parents should have their children maintain ties with both the maternal and paternal relatives. Usually the children will visit the paternal relatives

Page 11 of 17 Rev. 10/2021 – Form UJS 302

during times when the children are with their father and the maternal relatives during times when they are with their mother. This may include allowing the children to spend time with these relatives even when the parent is not present.

- **4.3.** <u>Relocation</u>. Relocation is governed by South Dakota state law. *See* SDCL 25-4A-17. Instructions and forms on how to comply with the requirements surrounding relocation, as well as how to object to a parent's notice of relocation, can be found at <u>www.ujslawhelp.sd.gov</u>.
- **4.4.** <u>Communication between Parents</u>. Parents must always keep each other advised of their home and work addresses and telephone numbers. Whenever possible and unless otherwise stated herein, all communication concerning the children must be conducted directly between the parents (i.e., in person, by telephone, email, text message, communication notebook, a designated third party or co-parenting tool). Absent an emergency, communication should not occur at a parent's place of employment.
- **4.5.** <u>School and Medical Information.</u> Both parents shall keep the other parent informed with the name, address and telephone number of the school where each of their children attends and each parent is authorized to communicate concerning the children directly with the school and with the children's doctors and other professionals, outside the presence of the other parent. Each parent has an obligation to contact the school to ensure receipt of class schedules, school report cards, notices, etc. so that they can remain involved with their children's education. Both parents shall be listed as a parent and emergency contact on all of the children's records, forms, registrations, etc. Attendance at academic or disciplinary meetings pertaining to the minor children shall be limited to the parents and the respective school professional(s). Others may not attend such meetings without advance mutual parental agreement or court order.

Each parent shall immediately notify the other parent of any medical emergencies or serious illnesses of the children. Access to records and information pertaining to minor children, including, but not limited to, medical, dental, therapy, counseling, orthodontia and similar health care and school records must be made equally available to both parents. The parents must make reasonable efforts to ensure that the name and address of the other parent is listed on all such records. If children are taking medications, both parents shall have access to a sufficient amount for their parenting time as well as the instructions.

The parent who has medical insurance coverage on the children shall supply to the other parent an insurance card or copy thereof and, as applicable, insurance forms and a list of insurer-approved or HMO-qualified health care providers in the area where the other parent is residing. Except in emergencies, the parent taking the children to a doctor, dentist or other provider not so approved or qualified may be required to pay the additional cost for that provider. However, when there is a change in insurance, which requires a change in medical care providers and a child has a chronic illness, thoughtful consideration shall be given by the parents to what is more important, i.e., allowing the child to remain with the original provider or the economic consequences of changing carriers. When there is an obligation to pay medical expenses, the parent responsible for paying shall be promptly furnished with the bill, and where applicable, the explanation of benefits, by the other parent. The parents shall

Page 12 of 17 Rev. 10/2021 – Form UJS 302

cooperate in submitting bills to the appropriate insurance carrier. Thereafter, the parent responsible for paying the balance of the bill shall make arrangements unless previously paid by the other parent. Insurance refunds shall be promptly turned over to the parent who paid the bill for which the refund was received.

- **4.6.** Extracurricular Activities. Both parents shall consult the other parent prior to enrolling the children in any event that may affect the other parent's parenting time. Both parents shall be listed as a parent and emergency contact on all of the children's records, forms, registrations, etc. Both parents shall be provided access to the name of the coach, director, and organization providing the activity for each child along with their contact information. Both parents shall have the obligation to contact the activity director to ensure receipt of information such as practice schedules, games, parental participation, etc.
- **4.7.** <u>Clothing.</u> In situations where the children reside primarily with one parent, that parent shall send an appropriate supply of children's clothing with the children for the other parent's parenting time. At the conclusion of his/her parenting time, this clothing shall be returned clean (when reasonably possible). Parents must advise, as far in advance as possible, of any special activities so that appropriate clothing for the children may be sent. It is recommended that both parents have some basic clothing available in their home to ensure that all of the children's basic needs are met.
- **4.8.** Withholding Support or Time with the Children. Neither time with the children nor child support is to be withheld because of either parent's failure to comply with a court order. Only the court may enter sanctions for non-compliance. Children generally have a right both to support and, time with both parents, neither of which is dependent upon the other. In other words, if the parent ordered to pay child support fails to do so, he/she is still entitled to their parenting time. Likewise, if one parent denies the other parenting time, child support payments must still be made.

Forms and instructions on how to enforce your parenting time can be found on the South Dakota Legal Self-Help Center at https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/onlineforms.aspx.

- **4.9.** Adjustments in Parenting Plan. Parents are expected to fairly modify the parenting plan as family necessities, illnesses, weather or commitments reasonably so require. The parents must work together in good faith to get any missed parenting time rescheduled to occur within a reasonable period of time, usually within 30 days. When possible, each parent must timely advise the other when scheduled parenting time with the children cannot be exercised.
- **4.10.** <u>Children of Different Ages.</u> It usually makes sense for all the children to share the same schedule of parenting time. Having brothers or sisters along can be an important support for children. Because it is intended that parenting time with the children be a shared experience between siblings and, unless these Guidelines or a court order provides otherwise, all the children shall enjoy parenting time together. Parents shall consider the children's best interests when scheduling parenting time especially for newborns and infants who may have developmental needs that may prevent them from immediately experiencing the same schedule as their older siblings. Additionally, older teenagers' special needs for

Page 13 of 17 Rev. 10/2021 – Form UJS 302

peer involvement and for some control of their own lives may place them on different schedules from their younger brothers and sisters.

- **4.11.** <u>Communication with Children.</u> Unless prohibited by a court order, either parent may mail, call, text, email, FaceTime or skype (or use similar technology) to communicate with the children at reasonable times and with reasonable frequency during those periods the children are with the other parent. The children may, of course, mail, call, text, email, FaceTime or skype (or use similar technology) to communicate with either parent, at reasonable hours or with reasonable frequency.
 - Parents are cautioned that communication between the parent and the children should not be so excessive as to interfere with the other parent's time, nor used to undermine the other parent's authority.
 - During long vacations, the parent with whom the children are on vacation is required to make the children available for telephone calls with the other parent at least every three days.
 - At all other times, the parent the children are with must not refuse to answer the other parents telephone calls or turn off their telephone in order to deny the other parent telephone contact.
 - If a parent uses an answering machine or cell phone voicemail, messages left should be returned to that person as soon as possible.
 - Parents should agree on a specified time for calls to the children so that the children will be made available no less than three days a week.
 - Either parent may provide the children with a cell phone subject to each parent's ability to set restrictions in their home. A parent shall not prohibit contact between the children and the other parent; nor shall they impede the children's ability to contact the other parent during reasonable times and at a reasonable frequency.
 - Communication between a parent and the children must not be censored, recorded, or monitored, absent a court order.
 - Each parent shall have an unrestricted right to send cards, letters and/or packages to their children. The children shall also have the same right to receive and send items to their parents.
- **4.12.** <u>Social Media</u>. Each parent shall have full access to monitor the social media accounts of the children, but neither shall open or read communications between the children and the other parent.
- **4.13.** <u>Privacy of Residence</u>. A parent shall not enter the residence of the other parent except by express invitation, regardless of whether a parent retains a property interest in the residence. Unless otherwise indicated herein, the children shall be picked up and returned to the front entrance of the other parent's residence. The parent dropping off the children shall not leave until the children are safely inside the other parent's residence. Parents must refrain from surprise visits to the other parent's home.
- **4.14.** Refusal / Hesitation by Children. Parents should always encourage the children to attend parenting time with the other parent absent circumstances outlined in the "Scope of Application" provision on page 3. Parents shall not deny parenting time with the other parent solely based on the refusal of the children.

- **4.15.** Special Considerations for Adolescents. While children never get to choose where they live, the parents should honestly and fairly consider their teenager's wishes regarding time with a parent. Neither parent shall attempt to influence their teenager's wishes on parenting time. Teenagers should explain the reason for their wishes directly to the affected parent, without intervention by the other parent.
- **4.16.** <u>Daycare Providers.</u> When parents reside in the same community, they should use the same day care provider. To the extent feasible, the parents should rely on each other to care for the children when the other parent is unavailable.
- **4.17.** Parents in the Armed Services. When one or both parents are serving in the military, it is important to create a parenting time schedule that focuses on sharing the children when the parents live close to each other and allowing for temporary duty assignment (TDY) possibilities. Military families should also consider what parenting time would look like if TDY's or overseas commitments were engaged requiring one parent to live more than 200 miles from the children. The residential parent shall support the children's relationship with the other parent by having a consistent plan of communication with the military parent.

Legal Notice.

These Guidelines do not provide legal opinions or legal advice and are not intended to serve as a substitute for the advice of licensed, legal professionals.

Laws and interpretations of laws change frequently, and the material contained in these Guidelines have important legal consequences. In using these Guidelines, parents are responsible for determining the applicability of any information contained in this document to their situation and are strongly encouraged to seek professional legal and other expert assistance in resolving their parenting time issues. Parents will often benefit from getting advice from mediators, counselors, therapists, parenting coordinators and lawyers to help them make a parenting time schedule.

Definitions.

Any custody proceeding involving children is going to involve a determination of both legal and physical custody.

"Legal Custody" refers to the legal authority to make major decisions for your children. There are 2 options when it comes to legal custody:

<u>Joint Legal Custody</u> – "[B]oth parents retain full parental rights and responsibilities with respect to their child[ren] and so that both parents must confer on, and participate in, major decisions affecting the welfare of the child[ren]." *See* SDCL 25-5-7.1.

<u>Sole Legal Custody</u> – one parent shall have the right and responsibility to make the decisions related to health, education and welfare of the children.

"Physical Custody" refers to how parenting time is divided between 2 parties. Parents may agree on the amount of time the children spend with each parent. If parents do not agree, the parenting time schedule set forth herein shall remain in place until a court orders otherwise.

Shared Parenting.

These Guidelines do not address shared parenting, which is defined as "a detailed shared parenting plan which provides that the children will reside no less than 180 nights per calendar year in each parent's home and that the parents will share the duties and responsibilities of parenting the children and the expenses of the children in proportion to their incomes[.]" SDCL 25-7-6.27. If you are interested in this arrangement, you are strongly encouraged to consult with an attorney of your choosing. More information and sample schedules can be found at https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/.

Scope of Application.

<u>General</u>. These Guidelines are applicable to all custody situations, including divorces with minor children, paternity actions and cases involving joint legal custody where one parent has primary physical custody. These Guidelines are <u>not</u> applicable to situations where the court reasonably believes the children's physical health or safety is in danger or the children's emotional development could be significantly impaired. These situations may include, but are not limited to, the following:

- Family Violence (physical, verbal or otherwise);
- Substance Abuse;
- Mental Illness of Parent or Child;
- Risk of Flight with Children;
- Long Interruption of Contact Between Parent and Children;
- A Parent's New Relationship;
- Religious & Cultural Holidays; or
- An Incarcerated Parent.

In such cases one or both parents may have legal, psychological, substance abuse or emotional problems that may need to be addressed before these Guidelines can be used. The type of help that is needed in such cases is beyond the scope of these Guidelines.

A parent who believes one or more of the above situations exists should file an Objection to the Implementation of the South Dakota Parenting Guidelines (UJS Form 372). This form can be found at https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/defendants.aspx. The opposing parent should also file a response to this Objection and should appear at the hearing.

<u>Existing Parenting Time Orders</u>. Existing parenting time orders on the date of adoption of these revised Guidelines shall be enforced according to the parenting time guidelines that were in effect on the date the parenting time order was issued. Changes to the South Dakota Parenting Time Guidelines do not alone constitute good cause for modifying an existing parenting time order; however, a court or parties

to a proceeding may refer to these Guidelines in requesting changes to their parenting time order after the effective date of the Guidelines.

<u>Protection Orders</u>. If a protection order has been established regarding the minor children, that order would prevail over these Guidelines, until a court specifically orders otherwise. If an active protection order prohibits contact between the parents or between one parent and the children, parents are cautioned that the parent who is the subject of the protection order will violate the order if he/she has contact with the other parent and makes agreements as suggested in these Guidelines without permission for contact from the court that issued the protection order.

Additional Resources

There are several resources available to parents who need help in creating, enforcing or improving their parenting plan. Visit https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/ (under the "Parenting" tab) for additional information on mediators, parenting coordinators, co-parenting tools and counseling options.

Additional tips that parents should consider in order to keep the children the focus of the parenting time arrangements can be found in Appendix A.

Page 17 of 17 Rev. 10/2021 – Form UJS 302

Tips to Stay Focused on the Children

A powerful cause of stress, suffering, and maladjustment in children of divorce or separation is not simply the divorce or separation itself, but rather continuing conflict between their parents before, during and after the divorce and/or separation. To minimize harm to the children, parents must agree on some basic rules to keep the children the focus of their parenting time arrangement.

Parents need to keep in mind that it is generally accepted that in most cases of divorce or separation:

- 1. Children of separated parents do best in both the short-term and the long-run when they feel loved and cared for by both parents;
- 2. Children generally do better when both parents have stable and meaningful involvement in their children's lives;
- The strength of a parent's relationship to a child is affected more by parental commitment, warmth and the ability to meet the child's needs than it is by time spent with the child (i.e. quality vs. quantity);
- 4. Each parent has different and valuable contributions to make to their children's development;
- 5. Children should have structured routine time (such as bedtime and doing homework) with each parent, as well as unstructured time (such as playing in the park);
- Parents should help their children maintain positive existing relationships, routines and activities;
- Children may find security in personal possessions, like a favorite stuffed animal or blanket.
 Children should be permitted to bring personal possessions back and forth between homes, regardless of which parent purchased them; and
- 8. Parenting plans may need to be adjusted over time as the needs and circumstances of parents and children change.

Children are harmed by exposure to conflict between their parents. High conflict between parents increases children's anxiety and negatively impacts healthy child development. The following are guidelines to help you navigate your role in co-parenting your children:

- 1. Children shall not be put in a position to "choose" between the parents. Children must not be made to feel guilty about having a good time with the other parent;
- 2. Each parent should strive to show respect for the other parent;
- 3. Each parent must support the child's relationship with the other parent and encourage them to enjoy themselves with the other parent;

- 4. Children shall not be expected to communicate messages between parents, regarding parenting time, financial matters or issues about which parents disagree;
- 5. Parents should exchange the children in a respectful manner;
- 6. A parent should consider allowing their children to attend important family celebrations and events with both sides of their family, even when the events occur on the other parent's parenting time;
- Differences between the parent's homes may occur (i.e. daily routines, activities, and diet).
 Parents should remember these are merely "differences" and are not necessarily a "better" or "worse" practice;
- 8. Children need consistency in both homes (i.e. bed times, meal times, medications etc.);
- 9. If one parent has been significantly more involved with the care of the child before separation, that parent may need to help the other parent gain the skills and knowledge to care appropriately for the child and support the development of a positive relationship between the child and the other parent, unless there are legitimate concerns about the other parent's capacity to care for their child. Both parents will need to approach this transition in a cooperative manner.

Parenting plans made for infants and young children may need to change as children get older and start to attend school. Parenting plans designed to accommodate a parent's employment may need to be modified if parents change their employment or work schedule. It is important for parents to communicate effectively, discuss changes that they observe in their children with one another and be prepared to modify the plans consistent with the best interests of the children.

Each family needs to consider the age, temperament, previous caretaking arrangements and the child's relationship with each parent, as well as whether the child has special needs. It is important that parents are able to communicate about their children on a regular basis, whether that communication is written or verbal. Parents shall share information so that a child's experience, as he/she transitions between parents, is as smooth as possible.

INSTRUCTIONS AND FORMS FOR DIVORCE COMPLAINT WITH CHILDREN

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce matters. You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website. If you have any legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney. Court staff are unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion. For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.

To Complete this form, you will need to:

☐ Complete the caption of the Complaint.
□ County (insert county name).
 Judicial Circuit (insert circuit number). You may find your judicial circuit
number at the following web address.
 https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx
□ Plaintiff (insert your name).
□ Defendant (insert spouses name).
 Case Number will be provided to you by the Clerk of Court at the time of
filing.
☐ Complete the remainder of the information on the lines provided throughout the form. Please note for Number 9, irreconcilable differences is the most common reason cited for divorces. You are welcome to select an alternative option in addition to irreconcilable differences but are not required to do so.
☐ Date and sign the form once you are in front of a notary or the Clerk of Court.

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN CIRCUIT COURT

COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
	Case No.:
	_
V.	COMPLAINT (WITH MINOR CHILDREN)
Defendant	
Plaintiff's full legal name is	, and their date of birth is
2. Plaintiff is a resident of	
-	 , and their date of
birth is 4. Defendant is a resident of	
5. Plaintiff and Defendant were mo	arried on the day in the month of
, in the yea	ar of, in the City of
and in the State of	
6. Are the parties currently living ap	oart? (check one)
Yes No	
If yes, what date did th	ne parties begin to do so?(date)

7. Is	the Plaintiff an active-	duty member	of the armed forces? (check one)	
	Yes	No		
8.	s the Defendant an ac	ctive-duty men	mber of the armed forces? (check one)	
	Yes	No		
	necessitates the disso dissolution of marriage grounds selected belo proof to support the gr (1) Adultery _ (2) Extreme C (3) Willful Dese (4) Willful Neg (5) Habitual In (6) Conviction	lution of the exist under SD w, a hearing vounds claimed ruelty		for the
10.	We have minor	child(ren) whic	ch have been born to or adopted by the	
	parties. Plaintiff / Defer spouse is pregnant, her		one) is / is not (circle one) pregnant. If one)
11.	The minor children's no	ımes and date	es of birth are listed below:	
	Name:		Date of Birth:	

12. During the past five years, the children have lived with the following persons at the times and places indicated below:

Child Name:
Lived With:
County/State: Timeframe:

Child Name:	Lived With:	County/State:	Timeframe:

3. There has / has not <i>(circle one)</i> been any prior court proceedings regarding	
custody of the minor child(ren).	
If so, that action took place in County, in the Sto	ate
ofin the year of	
(Attach any existing orders regarding custody of the minor child(ren))	
4.Other than the parties, no one has ever had legal custody of the minor child(ren)
except (if not applicable, write "none").	
(Attach any existing orders regarding custody of the minor child(ren))	
5. Regarding custody of the minor child (ren), Plaintiff alleges: (check one)	
Both parties are fit and proper parents to share joint legal custody of the	minor
child(ren), with the Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) having primary ph	ysical
custody, subject to reasonable visitation rights with Platintiff / Defendant (circle
one);	
Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) is the fit and proper persons to have sole	legal
and physical custody of the minor child(ren), subject to visitation with	h the
Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) as follows:	
Both parties are fit and proper persons to share the joint legal and ph	ysical
custody of the minor child(ren), with the parent sharing the duties	and

responsibilities of parenting the minor child(ren), with the child(ren) residing no
less than 180 nights per calendar year in each parent's home and the parents
dividing the expenses of the child(ren) in proportion to their incomes;
Other:
16. Plaintiff acknowledges that in the State of South Dakota an order for child support
must be entered.
If a child support order already exists, please indicate the case number and
attach a copy of it this complaint (case number).
(Even if the Plaintiff is the non-custodial parent, they may still request that child
support be entered.
17. Plaintiff requests that the Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) be ordered to provided
health insurance for the minor child(ren) with the uncovered medical expenses,
including the premium attributable to the minor child (ren), being allocated
between the parties in proportion to their incomes.
18. Plaintiff requests that the daycare expenses of the minor child(ren) be allocated
between the parties. (check one)
Yes No
19. The parties have accumulated property and debts during the marriage which
must be equitably divided. (check one)
Yes No
20. Plaintiff seeks spousal support (alimony). (check one)
Yes No

Wherefore, Plaintiff prays for a judgment as follows:

1.	For a Judgment and Decree of parties;	of Divorce dissolving the marriage of the
2.	For an equitable division of the	e marital property and debts;
		e restored to: (only if requesting)
		whose date of birth is
	;	
4.		the minor child(ren) be established as set
	forth above;	
5.	That an order for child support	be established if one does not already
	exist;	
6.	That health insurance for the n	ninor child(ren) be addressed, if requested
	above;	
7.	For alimony to be ordered, if re	equested above; and
8.	For such other and further relie	f as may be equitable and just.
Dated t	his day of	, 20
		Plaintiff Signature
		Plaintiff Name
Sworn/affirmed	before me this day	
of	, 20	Plaintiff Address
		City, State, Zip Code
notary/Deputy	Clerk/Clerk of Court	,, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
My Commission	Expires:	Phone Number

INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM FOR FINANCIAL AFFIDAVIT

If you have any legal questions while completing this form, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney. Court staff are unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion. For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.

	Plaintiff and Defendant each will need to complete their own Financial Affidavit. Complete the caption by filling in the name of the county you are filing in, the judicial circuit number, name of the Plaintiff and Defendant on the lines provided, case filing number, and check if you are the Plaintiff or Defendant. The Clerk will provide you with a case number at the time of filing. • Your circuit number can be found here:
	https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx
	Provide your full name on the first line provided.
	Numbers 1 through 3 is your contact and employment information.
	Numbers 4 through 11 is your gross monthly income.
Ц	Number 12 is your total gross monthly income. You will need to add lines 4 through 11 for this total.
П	Numbers 13 through 18 is your monthly deductions from your income.
	Number 19 is your total monthly deductions. You will need to add lines 13 through 18 for
_	this total.
	Number 20 is your total net monthly income. You will need to take the total of your
	monthly income (line 12) and subtract your total monthly deductions (line 19) from that.
	This will be your total net monthly income.
	Numbers 21 and 22 are previous years gross income.
	Numbers 23 through 30 is information on dependent/childcare and health insurance, if any.
	Numbers 31 through 43 is your asset information. You will need to state the fair market value of
	the assets, if any.
	Number 44 is the combined total of your assets. Add lines 31 through 43 for this total.
	Number 45 lines a through i, are your listed and total debts:
	☐ List the name of the debt (who you owe money to);
	☐ The total outstanding balance of that debt; and
	Your monthly payment for that debt.
	Number 46 is your average total of monthly expenses such as house, utilities, food,
	insurance, etc.
	Number 47 is the combined total of your monthly liabilities. You will need to add the
	combined total of your monthly debt payments (#45 line i) with your average monthly
	expenses (line 46).
	Numbers 48 and 49 is anticipated income. This is any income you are expecting to
	receive that isn't already listed above.
	Sian and date once in front of a notary or Clerk of Court.

STATE	OF SOUTH DAKOTA)		IN CIRCUIT COURT
COU	NTY OF	:SS)		JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
Plaii v.	ntiff			AL AFFIDAVIT DEFENDANT
pena	I,(Name of party filling out this /		hereby swear und	der oath and under
CON	TACT INORMATION			
(1)) My mailing address is:			
(2)) My telephone number is:			_
EMPL	OYMENT			
(3)) I am (check one) Emp	loyed [Unemployed	Self-Employed
MON	THLY INCOME			
	Monthly Income Source			Per Month Amount
(4)	(If employed) My gross mo	onthly po	ay is:	\$
(5)	(If self-employed) My mon business/profession is:		·	\$
(6)	My pension, retirement, di	•		\$

(7)	My interest, dividends, rentals, royalties, or other gains is:	\$
(8)	Gain from sale, trade or conversion of capital assets is:	\$
(9)	I receive unemployment insurance and workers compensation benefits of:	\$
(10)	Benefit in lieu of compensation including but not limited to military pay allowances is:	\$
(11)	Other income (including spousal support) is: Explain: ———————————————————————————————————	\$
(12)	Total Gross Monthly Income (add columns 4-11)	\$

DEDUCTIONS

	Deduction Item	Deduction Amount Per Month
(13)	Income tax based on one withholding allowance for a single taxpayer (not actual number of dependents):	\$
(14)	Social Security and Medicare taxes withheld from wages or salary:	\$
(15)	Contributions to an IRS qualified retirement plan not exceeding 10% of gross income:	\$
(16)	Unreimbursed employee business expenses (Attach IRS form 2106):	\$
(17)	Payments made on other support orders OTHER THAN FOR CHILDREN IN THIS PROCEEDING (Attach court order and evidence of payments.):	\$
(18)	Payments made for spousal support:	\$
(19)	Total Monthly Deductions (add columns 13-18)	\$

(20)	_		\$
	Total Gross Monthly Income	Total Monthly Deductions	Total Net Monthly Income

(Subtract the value of your total monthly deductions from your total gross monthly income)

(21) My total gross income before deductions for the previous year was: \$	
(22) My total gross income before deductions for two years ago was: \$	
(23) Including myself, I have the following number of dependents:	
(24) Do you have health insurance available for dependents through your employer? (check one) Yes No	
(25) If you provide health or dental insurance for your child(ren), please comp the following:	lete
a) Name of the health and/or dental insurance Company:	
b) Total monthly cost for the employee only: \$	
c) Total monthly cost for the employee and child(ren): \$	
d) Persons covered under the insurance policy:	
(26) Do you incur childcare costs as a result of employment, job search, training education? (check one) Yes No Search, training education? (check one) Yes No Search, training education? No Search, training education? (check one) Yes No Search, training education? No Search, training education?	

b) Name(s) of child(ren) whom childcare is provided:
c) Hours per week that childcare is provided:
d) Childcare cost is: \$ per month; \$ per week; \$ per hour
(27) Total amount of childcare cost for the past six months: \$
(28) Do you receive any assistance for childcare? (check one) Yes No
a) If yes, how much do you receive per month? \$
(29) Do you claim the Federal Child Care Tax Credit? (check one) Yes No
(30) Amount of Social Security or Veteran's Benefits provided to a child(ren) of the parties due to your retirement, disability or other eligibility: \$
a) Which parent receives payment for the child:

ASSETS

	Asset	Value
(31)	Cash on hand/in the bank	\$
(32)	Accounts and Notes Receivable (IOU's and other money payable to me)	\$
(33)	Investments (stocks, bonds, savings bond, CD's, money market, etc.)	\$
(34)	Retirement Account balance	\$
(35)	Real Estate (house, land, tribal lease land, rental property, etc.)	\$
(36)	Automobile(s) (include value, make, model, and year)	\$
	(if multiple vehicles, add the value of all vehicles to get total)	

(44)	Total Value of Assets (add value of columns 31-43)	\$
` ′	money on)	,
(43)	Any other assets (anything else I could sell or borrow	\$
(42)	Value of Business	\$
(41)	Tools / Shop Equipment	\$
(40)	Jewelry	\$
(39)	Sporting Equipment	\$
(38)	Household Goods (furniture, appliances, TV, etc.)	\$
(37)	Recreational Vehicles (boats, campers, ATV's, etc.)	\$

LIABILITIES (money that you owe)

(45) Debts (vehicle, mortgage, student, or personal loans, credit cards, medical bills, etc.)

	Name of Debt (who you owe to)	Outstanding balance	Monthly payment
a)		\$	\$
b)		\$	\$
c)		\$	\$
d)		\$	\$
e)		\$	\$
f)		\$	\$
g)		\$	\$
h)		\$	\$
i)	TOTAL DEBTS	(combined total of outstanding balance)	(combined total of monthly payments)

(46)Total of regular	monthly expenses	s (housing,	utilities,	food,	insurance,	etc.):
\$	_					

(47)TOTAL MONTHLY LIABILITIES: \$	
(Add your foi	tal monthly payments with your total of monthly expenses)
ANTICIPATED INCOME (money or property	y you are expecting)
(48)Total monies or income from sale of	house or land, gifts, inheritance, allotments,
trust funds, lease money, etc. \$	
(49) When is the money/income expecte	ed?
Dated this day of	, 20
	Plaintiff/Defendant (circle one) Signature
	Plaintiff/Defendant (circle one) printed
	Name
Sworn/affirmed before me this day	
of, 20	Address
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court	City/State/Zip
, ,	
My Commission Expires:	Phone Number

INSTRUCTION FOR MOTION TO WAIVE FILING & SERVICE OF PROCESS FEE FORM

This form references specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) and you can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website. If you have any legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney. Court staff are unable to provide you with legal advice or assist you in completing this form. For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Helpline at 1-855-784-0004 email UJS staff at <u>ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us</u>.

Important Notice:

A Motion to Waive Filing Fee & Service of Process Fee is a request to the Court asking that it not charge you the filing fee and to direct the Sheriff not to charge you for service of process. The Motion refers to your Financial Affidavit (Form UJS-023) to explain your financial situation to the Judge to decide whether to waive the fee in your case.

If you do not hear from the Clerk of Court in five business days, you should contact them and inquire whether the Judge signed your Order Waiving Filing Fee and Service of Process Fee. If the Judge did not sign the Order, you have thirty days to pay the filing fee, or your case will be dismissed.

To Complete this form, you will need to:

Com	olete the caption of the Motion.
	County (insert county name).
	Judicial Circuit (insert circuit number). You may find your judicial circuit number at
	the following web address.
	 https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx
	Enter Plaintiff and Defendant name.
	Case Number will be provided to you by the Clerk of Court at the time of filing if
	you don't already have one.
,	ou agree with the statement in the Motion, sign and date the Motion in the sence of a notary or Clerk of Court.
of F	the complete form along with UJS-028 Order Waiving Filing Fee and Service rocess Fee with the Clerk of Court. Remember to retain a copy for your ords.

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA	IN CIRCUIT COURT
COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
Plaintiff V.	Case No.: MOTION TO WAIVE FILING & SERVICE OF PROCESS FEE
Defendant	

Comes now the Plaintiff/Defendant (circle one) named above, and makes this Motion to the Court to waive the following fees for the following reasons (check one):

I am the Plaintiff name above and make this Motion pursuant to SDCL 16-2-29.2 and 16-2-29.3 for the purposes of requesting a waiver of the filing fee and service of process fee for the Summons and Complaint.

I am the Defendant named above and make this Motion pursuant to SDCL 16-2-29.2 and 16-2-29.3 for the purposes of requesting a waiver of the filing dee for the Answer/Response to the Summons and Complaint.

I do solemnly swear that I am unable to pay the above-specified fee(s) for the legal proceedings which I am about to commence; and that I verily believe I am justly entitled to the relief sought by such legal proceedings. My Financial Affidavit, which sets forth my entire financial situation, (Form UJS-023) is filed herein and incorporated herein by reference.

WHEREFORE, based upon the foregoing statements and allegations, I respectfully request that the Court enter its Order to Waive Payment of the above-specified fee(s) in this matter, pursuant to SDCL 16-2-29.2. If this Request is denied, I understand that I must pay the above-specified fee(s) to proceed with the case. Furthermore, if I am the Plaintiff, I understand that if the filing fee is not paid within thirty days, my case will be dismissed.

Dated this	day of	, 20
		Plaintiff/Defendant Signature (circle one)
Swarp (affirm ad bafara	a mo this day	Plaintiff/Defendant Name (circle one)
Sworn/affirmed before	e me this ady	
of	, 20	Address
Notary/Deputy Clerk/0	Clerk of Court	City, State, Zip Code
My Commission Expire	s:	Phone Number

INSTRUCTION FOR ORDER ON MOTION TO WAIVE FILING & SERVICE OF PROCESS FEE FORM

This form references specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) and you can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website. If you have any legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney. Court staff are unable to provide you with legal advice or assist you in completing this form. For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Helpline at 1-855-784-0004 email UJS staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.

Important Notice:

A Motion to Waive Filing Fee & Service of Process Fee is a request to the Court asking that it not charge you the filing fee and to direct the Sheriff not to charge you for service of process. The Motion refers to your Financial Affidavit (Form UJS-023) to explain your financial situation to the Judge to decide whether to waive the fee in your case.

If you do not hear from the Clerk of Court in five business days, you should contact them and inquire whether the Judge signed your Order Waiving Filing Fee and Service of Process Fee. If the Judge did not sign the Order, you have thirty days to pay the filing fee, or your case will be dismissed.

To Complete this form, you will need to:

Comp	plete the caption of the Motion.
	County (insert county name).
	Judicial Circuit (insert circuit number). You may find your judicial circuit number at
	the following web address.
	 https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx
	Enter Plaintiff and Defendant name.
	Case Number will be provided to you by the Clerk of Court at the time of filing if
	you don't already have one.
l Lea	ve the reminder of the form blank and file the form along with UJS-022
Mot	on to Waiving Filing Fee and Service of Process Fee with the Clerk of Court.
Rem	ember to retain a copy for your records.

(SEAL)

COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
Plaintiff v. Defendant	ORDER ON MOTION TO WAIVE FILING & SERVICE OF PROCESS FEE
Court to enter an Order to waiver certa considered said motion/application and based upon the evidence presented, the	neck one) named above having moved the in fees and the Court having reviewed and the party's Financial Affidavit filed herein, Court determines that it is hereby: Tyment for the filing fee of the Summons and
Waived	Not Waived
AND IT IS FURTHER ORDERED the for service of the Summons and Complain	at the Plaintiff's payment for the Sheriff's fee nt in the action herein is:
———Waived	———— Not Waived
ORDERED that the Defendant's the Complaint in the Action herein is:	s payment for filing the Answer/Response to
Waived	Not Waived
Dated this day of	, 20 BY THE COURT:
ATTEST.	DI IIIL COUNT.
Clerk of Court	Circuit Court Judge
BY:	
Deputy Clerk	

INSTRUCTIONS AND FORMS ON NOTICE AND ADMISSION OF SERVICE

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce matters. You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website. If you have any legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney. Court staff are unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion. For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at uissrlhelp@uis.state.sd.us.

IMPORTANT NOTICES

When filing for divorce, the Defendant will need to be served with copies of the Summons and Complaint and proof that the Defendant was served is required by the Court. The day the Defendant is served initiates the thirty days the Defendant can file an answer to the Summons and Complaint. A divorce cannot be finalized until at least sixty days have elapsed from the date the Summons and Complaint are served. (The day of service is NOT counted.)

** When serving the Defendant, you have three options**

Ш	<u>Opt</u>	<u>ion 1 – Mailing to the Defendant</u> (the Defendant will need to sign the admission of service within twenty
	day	s of mailing and provide the signed forms back to you or file with the Clerk of Court themselves.)
		Complete the Notice and Admission of Service (UJS-317A) by filling in the caption with the name of the county you are filing in, the judicial circuit number, name of the Plaintiff and Defendant on the lines provided, case file number, sign, and date.
		Complete only the caption of the Admission of Service (UJS-317B). The remainder of the form is for the Defendant to complete.
		Mail copies of the Summons with Minor Children (UJS-311) and Complaint without Minor Children (UJS-312), Notice and Admission of Service (UJS-317A) and Admission of Service (UJS-317B), and a self-addressed stamped envelope to the Defendant.
		Once you've mailed copies, complete the Affidavit of Mailing (UJS-317C) and file it with the Clerk of Court. Certified mail is not considered proper service.
		Once you receive the signed Admission of Service (UJS-317B) from the Defendant, you <u>MUST</u> file it with the Clerk of Court. The Defendant may also file the Admission of Service with the Clerk of Court but should provide you with a copy.
		ion 2 – Hand Deliver to the Defendant (if you believe the Defendant will willfully accept the Summons
		Complaint from you)
		Complete the Admission of Service of Summons and Complaint (UJS-317B) by filling in the caption with the name of the county you are filing in, the judicial circuit number, name of the Plaintiff and Defendant on the lines provided and case file number. Leave the remainder of the form blank for the Defendant to complete.
		Attach a copy of the Summons with Minor Children (UJS-311), and Complaint with Minor Children (UJS-312) and provide to the Defendant.
		The Defendant will need to sign the Admission of Service (UJS-317B) in front of a notary or Clerk of Court and provide the original back to you or file directly with Clerk of Court.
		ion 3 – Sheriff or Process Server (if the Defendant will NOT willfully sign the Admission of Service, you will
	war	nt to follow these steps)
		You will provide copies of the Summons and Complaint to the Sheriff or Process Server.
		You will need to provide the Defendant's physical address, phone number, place of employment and any other relevant information for location.
		Typically having the Defendant served requires a fee to be paid prior to completing service.
		Once the Defendant is served, the server will provide you with a Proof of Service that you MUST file with
	_	the Clerk of Court.
		Contact information for process servers can be found here:

https://ujs.sd.gov/Resources/ProgramsServices.aspx

COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
Plaintiff v.	NOTICE AND ADMISSION OF SERVICE OF SUMMONS AND
 Defendant	COMPLAINT (WITH MINOR CHILDREN) SOUTH DAKOTA PARENTING GUIDELINES
Children) and South Dakota Parenting Guidelin well as two copies of this Notice and Admission	enclosed Summons and Complaint (with Minornes are sent to you pursuant to SDCL § 15-6-4(i), as of Service of Summons and Complaint (with Minornes, and a return envelope, postage prepaid,
sender within twenty days. In completing the foreceived the papers and sign and date the doctor sign and return the original Admission of Services.	e portion of this form and return the original to the orm, you must fill in the town and state where you cument in front of a notary or Clerk of Court. Failure rvice within twenty days after the date of mailing ordering you to pay the costs of personal service
,	ssion of Service, you must then respond to the u fail to do so, a judgment may be entered against
Dated this day of _	, 20
	Plaintiff Signature

City, State, Zip Code

Phone Number

Plaintiff Name

Plaintiff Address

COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
Plaintiff v.	ADMISSION OF SERVICE OF SUMMONS AND COMPLAINT (WITH MINOR CHILDREN)
Defendant	
admit to receiving a copy of the Summ	the above-named Defendant, nons and Complaint (with Minor Children), and , in the above-captioned matter on the
	and year of and in the City
	and in the State of
date provided above; I do not admit o documents.	erely acknowledges receipt of the papers on the or deny any of the statements contained in these day of, 20
	Defendant Signature
Sworn/affirmed before me this da	
of, 20	Defendant Address
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court	City, State, Zip Code
My Commission Expires:	Phone Number

COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
Plaintiff v. Defendant	AFFIDAVIT OF MAILING OF NOTICE AND ADMISSION OF SERVICE OF SUMMONS AND COMPLAINT (WITH MINOR CHILDREN)
l,	, being sworn, state that on the day
of, 20, I ser	nt two copies of the Notice and Admission of Service of
Summons and Complaint (with Mir	nor Children); two copies of the Summons (with Minor
Children); two copies of the Com	nplaint (with Minor Children); and the South Dakoto
Parenting Guidelines by placing tro	ue and correct copies in an envelope addressed to:
(N	ame of Defendant)
	(Street Address)
	(City, State, Zip)
And depositing the envelope, with	sufficient postage, in the United States Mail in:
(City a	nd State you mailed from)

(SIGNATURE PAGE TO FOLLOW)

Dated this	day of	, 20
		Plaintiff Signature
Sworn/affirmed before m	e this day	Plaintiff Name
of	, 20	Plaintiff Address
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Cle	rk of Court	City, State, Zip Code
My Commission Expires:_		Phone Number

INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM ON AFFIDAVIT OF COURT APPROVED PARENTING COURSE

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce matters. You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website. If you have any legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney. Court staff are unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion. For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us. Remember that legal matters are better addressed by professionals who specialize in this field.

IMPORTANT NOTICES

In order for a final decree or order to be entered in a case involving child custody or
parenting time a parenting course is required to be completed by both parties
within sixty days of service of a summons, complaint, petition, motion, or other
request concerning child custody.
Participation in the course may be waived if good cause is shown, or there has
been completion of a court-approved course within the past five years.
More information and a list of court-approved parenting classes can be found on
the South Dakota Unified Judicial website:
 https://ujs.sd.gov/Parenting_Education/Default.aspx
The following form should only be completed if you are requesting to waive the
Parenting Course Requirement.

To complete this form, you will need to:

Complete the caption by filling in the name of the county you are filing in, the judicia circuit number, and list the names of the parties as they appear on the Summons and Completed
and Complaint.
Fill in your name on the first line provided as you are the Petitioner.
Number 2 – Check mark one or both boxes depending on what fits your case.
Number 3 – Check mark A, B, or C.
□ Option A – can be marked if you have completed a court-approved
parenting course within the past five years.
□ Option B – can be marked if you are seeking to waive the parenting course
requirement with good reason for the request.
□ Option C – can be marked if you are seeking additional time (more than sixty-
day requirement) to complete the parenting course and reason for the delay
 Date, Sign, and file with the Clerk of Court.

issues, it is not a protection order proceeding, and does not terminate parental rights	COUNTY	DF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
AFFIDAVIT ON COURT-APPROVED PARENTING COURSE AND ORDER I,	 Plaintif		Case No.:
I,			
penalty of law that the following is true to the best of my knowledge and belief: 1. I am a party to the above-captioned action. 2. The above-captioned action involves (<i>circle one or both</i>) child custody/parenting issues, it is not a protection order proceeding, and does not terminate parental rights 3. I	Defen	idant	
 2. The above-captioned action involves (<i>circle one or both</i>) child custody/parenting issues, it is not a protection order proceeding, and does not terminate parental rights 3. I			
 J. I, the Petitioner (check A, B, or C) D. A. – Have completed a court-approved parenting course within the last five ye have attached proof of completion to this Affidavit. D. B. – Seek to waive the court requirement for the following reason (check one): D. The other party has not responded within the required timeframe. OR D. Other:	1. I am a po	arty to the above-captioned act	tion.
 J. I, the Petitioner (check A, B, or C) D. A. – Have completed a court-approved parenting course within the last five ye have attached proof of completion to this Affidavit. D. B. – Seek to waive the court requirement for the following reason (check one): D. The other party has not responded within the required timeframe. OR D. Other:	2. The abov	ve-captioned action involves (c	ircle one or both) child custody/parenting time
 □ A – Have completed a court-approved parenting course within the last five ye have attached proof of completion to this Affidavit. □ B – Seek to waive the court requirement for the following reason (check one): □ The other party has not responded within the required timeframe. ○ OR □ Other: □ C – Seek to delay the court requirement until days after the summons, 	issues, it is	s not a protection order proceed	ding, and does not terminate parental rights.
have attached proof of completion to this Affidavit. B – Seek to waive the court requirement for the following reason (check one): The other party has not responded within the required timeframe. OR Other: C – Seek to delay the court requirement until days after the summons,	3.		_, the Petitioner (check A, B, or C)
 □ B – Seek to waive the court requirement for the following reason (check one): □ The other party has not responded within the required timeframe. □ OR □ Other: □ C – Seek to delay the court requirement until days after the summons, 	□ A-	- Have completed a court-appro	oved parenting course within the last five years
 □ The other party has not responded within the required timeframe. □ OR □ Other: □ C – Seek to delay the court requirement until days after the summons, 	ha	ve attached proof of completio	n to this Affidavit.
OR Other: C - Seek to delay the court requirement until days after the summons,	□ B-	Seek to waive the court require	ment for the following reason (check one):
Other:		The other party has not respor	nded within the required timeframe.
☐ C – Seek to delay the court requirement until days after the summons,		OR	
		Other:	
petition, or motion (circle one) is/was served for the following reasons:	□ C-	-Seek to delay the court require	ement until days after the summons,
,	pe	tition, or motion (circle one) is/w	vas served for the following reasons:

- 4. I understand that if the course requirement is waived or delayed by the Court, the Court may order that I receive the course information in an alternative format.
- 5. I further understand that a final decree shall not be granted or a final order in this matter shall not be entered until both parties have complied with the parenting course requirement, unless the Court waives or delays the participation in the Court for good cause.

Dated this day of	, 20
	Petitioner Signature
Sworn/affirmed before me this day	Petitioner Name
of, 20	Petitioner Address
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court	City, State, Zip Code
My Commission Expires:	Phone Number

ORDER

The Petitioner having moved this Court to waive or delay the parenting requirement or having completed a court-approved parenting course within the last five years, and the Court having reviewed and considered said request the Court determines that it is hereby: □ ORDERED that the petitioner's proof of completion of a court-approved parenting course is: DENIED GRANTED □ ORDERED that the request made by the Petitioner to waive the parenting course requirement is hereby: DENIED GRANTED ☐ ORDERED that the request made by the Petitioner to delay the court required parenting course requirement is hereby: GRANTED DENIED Circuit Court Judge Attest: Clerk of Court

Deputy Clerk

(Seal)

INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM FOR STIPULATION AND SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT WITH MINOR CHILDREN

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce matters. You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website. If you have any legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney. Court staff are unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion. For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at <u>ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us</u>. Remember that legal matters are better addressed by professionals who specialize in this field.

IMPORTANT NOTICES:

The Stipulation and Settlement Agreement is an agreement made between the Plaintiff and the Defendant on the dissolution of their divorce case. The Stipulation and Settlement Agreement is required for the Court to grant a divorce without either party appearing in court. Although, in some cases, a hearing may still be required.

To complete this form, you will need to:

	Read each page in detail.
	Complete the caption by filling in the name of the county you are filing in, the judicial circuit number, name of the Plaintiff and Defendant on the lines provided, and case filing number.
	<u>Pages 1 and 2</u> – Read and fill in the lines provided.
	<u>Page 3 Number 3</u> – List the name(s), date of birth(s), and date of adoption, if applicable.
	<u>Page 3 Section A</u> – Mark the appropriate box regarding the custody of the child (ren).
	$\underline{\text{Page 4 Section B}}$ – Provide the parenting time schedule for both the Plaintiff and the Defendant.
	<u>Pages 4 and 5 Section C</u> – Provide the transportation arrangement of the child (ren) during holidays.
	<u>Page 8 Number 4 Section A</u> – Provide the agreed upon child support obligation.
	<u>Page 8 Number 4 Section B</u> – List the parties percentage of health care coverage for the child(ren) that exceeds $$250$.
П	Page 9 Section D - List the month and year the child support obligation will begin

INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM FOR STIPULATION AND SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT WITH MINOR CHILDREN

<u>Pages 9 and 10 Section H</u> – Mark who will be responsible for obtaining health insurance for the child(ren).
<u>Page 11 Number 5 Section C</u> – List property that the Plaintiff will receive as a part of the divorce. Property would include vehicles, boats, motorcycles, ATV/Mobile homes, etc. Include make and model number for each.
<u>Page 11 Number 5 Section D</u> – List property the Defendant will receive as part of the divorce. Property would include vehicles, boats, motorcycles, ATV/ Mobile homes, etc. Include make and model number for each.
<u>Pages 11 and 12 Section E</u> – List any property that either party has possession of but is to be given to the other party within thirty days of entry of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce.
<u>Page 13 Number 6 Sections A and B</u> – List any debt each party will be responsible for. This will include debt such as credit cards, banks loans, personal loans, vehicle loans, outstanding bills, student loans, medical bills, etc.
<u>Page 14 Number 7</u> – Set the timeframe for the parties to remove the others name from any property or debt received as a part of this Agreement.
<u>Page 14 Number 8</u> – Provides for the parties to equalize the property and debt distribution by requiring one party to make an equalization payment to the other party. If the parties believe the distribution of assets and debts is equal, you should mark the second box.
<u>Pages 15 and 16 Number 9</u> – Request the distribution of real property such as houses, land, and buildings.
<u>Pages 16 and 17 Number 10</u> – List investment and retirement account information, if any, and the division of each.
<u>Pages 17 and 18 Number 11</u> – Include life insurance information, if any, and the division of such.
<u>Pages 18 and 19 Number 12</u> – Mark if either party is currently a member of the military.
<u>Page 19 Number 13</u> – Select whether alimony is appropriate and if so, enter the amount and payment details.
Page 20 Number 14 – Enter income tax return agreement.

INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM FOR STIPULATION AND SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT WITH MINOR CHILDREN

	<u>Page 20 Number 15</u> – Indicate if either the Plaintiff or Defendant would like to be restored to a maiden or former name and if so, provide that information.
	<u>Page 20 Number 16</u> – Provide any other agreement the Plaintiff and Defendant have agreed upon if not listed previously.
	<u>Page 21 Number 17</u> – Select if either party is awarded attorney fees.
	Each page must be initialed by each party.
7	Each party will need to sign and date in front of a notary or Clerk of Court

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA) :SS	IN CIRCUIT COURT
COUNTY OF)	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
	С	ase No.:
Plaintiff v.		STIPULATION AND SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT
		(WITH MINOR CHILDREN)
Defendant		
	laintiff,	Within this document we
		e City of,
20, and ever since that time	have been	day of, and are now married; and and disputes have arisen between the
parties and have or will separate	with the inte	ent to live apart; and
WHEREAS, Defendant was	served wit	h a true and correct copy of the
Summons and Complaint (with	Minor Chilo	dren) on the day of
, 20	, and;	
		ement of this divorce action Plaintiff
resided in the City of		
in the Sta	ate of	and presently

Plaintiff's Initials

resides in the City of		, in the County of		
	in the State of		, and	d the
Defendant at the time of	the commencement o	f this div	orce action re	esided in
the City of	, in the County	of		, in the
State of	_, and presently reside:	s in the C	City of	
in the County of	, in the S	tate of _		·
Both parties agree t	hat venue and jurisdicti n and venue; and	ion in this	s Court is app	ropriate and
or adopted by the parties	_	neir relati	onship/marric	age. Spouse
due on the day or				me spouse is
WHEREAS, the partie	es hereto now desire to	enter in	nto an Agreer	nent settling
all claims, visitation, child	support, property divisio	on, and	all other matt	ers between
the parties regarding this	divorce action,			
NOW THEREFORE, it	is hereby stipulated a	nd agre	ed by and b	etween the

parties herein as follows:

1. Release. Except as herein specified, each of the parties is hereby released

- and absolved from any and all obligations and liabilities for the future acts and duties of the other. Each of the parties releases the other from any and all liabilities, debts and/or obligations of any kind or character incurred by the other from and after the date of this Agreement and from any and all claims and demands. It being expressly understood and agreed, this Agreement is intended to settle the rights of the parties in all respects, except as hereinafter provided.
- **2.** <u>After-Acquired Property.</u> Any and all property, whether real or personal, acquired by either party, from and after the date of this Agreement, shall be the sole and separate property of the one so acquiring the same, and each of said

Plaintiff's Initials

of property as the sole property of the one so acquiring the same. 3. <u>Custody & Visitation.</u> The parties are the parents of the following minor child(ren) born to or adopted by them during their relationship/marriage: Name Date of Birth Date of Adoption A. Legal & Physical Custody: The parties agree that as to custody of the minor child(ren) (check one): The parties share joint legal custody of the minor child(ren) with **Plaintiff** / **Defendant (circle one)** having primary physical custody; The parties share joint legal and joint physical custody of the minor child(ren); Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) has sole legal and physical custody of the minor child(ren); The parties agree to joint legal and physical custody with a shared parenting plan, as set forth below, in which the child(ren) reside no less than 180 nights per calendar year in each parent's home. The parents further agree to share the duties and responsibilities of parenting the child(ren) and shall divide the expenses of the child(ren) in proportion to their incomes, i.e. Plaintiff paying ______% and Defendant paying %.

parties hereby respectfully grants to the other all such other and future acquisitions

В.	<u>Parenting Time Schedules:</u> The parties agree to the following parenting time schedules with the minor child(ren):
	· · · ·
	During the school week, including pick-up and return times and location, the
	Plaintiff shall have the minor child(ren):
	During the school week, including pick-up and return times and location, the
	Defendant shall have the minor child(ren):
	During the summer, including pick-up and return times and location, the
	Plaintiff shall have the minor child(ren):
	During the summer, including pick-up and return times and location, the
	Defendant shall have the minor child(ren):
C.	Holidays: In addition to the custodial arrangement designated above, and
	unless the parties otherwise agreed, major holidays shall be alternated as set
	forth in the South Dakota Parenting Guidelines (Form UJS-302). When there is
	a conflict between a holiday and the regular parenting schedule, the holiday
	takes precedence. Therefore, if the Defendant misses a regular weekend
	because it is Plaintiff's holiday, the regular parenting time schedule will resume
	following the holiday. If the Defendant receives two consecutive weekends

Plaintiff's Initials

Defendant's Initials

because of a holiday, the regular alternating weekend schedule will resume the following weekend with the Plaintiff. Unless mutually agreed, there will be no makeup parenting time after any conflicts between the holiday weekend and the regularly scheduled weekend time. Parenting time "missed" during the summer period is not made up.

The parties agree to arrange transportation for the child(ren) for holiday visits as follows:

The parties may, by mutual agreement, alter the parenting time schedule above which shall be in writing and signed by both parties. Text messages and emails are sufficient in amending this agreement as long as the text messages and emails are retained.

- D. <u>Failure to comply:</u> Neither parenting time nor child support is to be withheld because of either parent's failure to comply with a court order. Only the court may enter sanctions for non-compliance. Children have a right to both support and parenting time, neither of which is dependent upon the other. In other words, if you do not receive child support, you still have to allow parenting time and if you are denied parenting time, you still have to pay child support. If there is a violation of either parenting time or a support order, the exclusive remedy is to apply to the court for appropriate sanctions.
- E. <u>Telephone Calls</u>: Telephone calls between parent and child shall be liberally permitted at reasonable hours and at the expense of the calling parent, if it is a long-distance call. The parent with whom the child is staying shall not refuse to answer the phone or turn off the phone in order to deny the other parent telephone contact. Messages or voice mails left for a child should be returned

in a timely manner.

F. <u>Clothing</u>: If one parent has primary physical custody, that parent shall send an appropriate supply of the child(ren)'s clothing with them during the other parent's parenting time, which shall be returned clean (when reasonably possible), with the child(ren). The parent exercising parenting time shall advise, as far in advance as possible, of any special activities so that the appropriate clothing belonging to the child(ren) may be sent.

If the parties are exercising shared parenting, it is expected that they will each maintain clothing at their individual homes for the child(ren). However, the parents agree to cooperate in returning clothing to the appropriate parent so each can maintain a supply of clothing.

- G. <u>Transportation</u>: Unless otherwise agreed to herein, the transportation between the parents shall be handled equally. When the parents live in the same community, the parent commencing their parenting time will pick up the child(ren) from the other parent's home and upon conclusion of the parenting time, the other parent shall retrieve the child(ren) from the home of the parent who just had parenting time. The parents have an obligation to be punctual, arriving at the agreed time, not substantially early or late. Repeated, unjustified violations of this provision may subject the offender to court sanctions.
- H. <u>Parental Affection</u>: Each of the parents shall take all measures deemed advisable to foster a feeling of affection between the minor child(ren) and the other parent and neither will do anything which may estrange the child(ren) from the other parent nor impair their high regard for the other parent. Both parties agree they will speak only favorably of the other while in the child(ren)'s presence. Each will promote and foster good parental relations between the child(ren) and the other parent and avoid any communication of any kind which would be detrimental to the child(ren)'s

- respect or admiration for the other parent.
- I. Grade Reports and Medical Information: If the parties share joint legal custody, each parent shall provide the other parent with grade reports and notices from school as they are received and shall authorize the other parent to communicate concerning the child(ren) directly with the daycare, the school, and the child(ren)'s doctors and other professionals outside the presence of the other parent. Unless there are abuse, neglect, criminal or protection orders to the contrary, both parents shall also be listed as the child(ren)'s parent and as an emergency contact with the daycare, the school, and all health professionals. Each parent shall immediately notify the other of any medical emergencies or serious illnesses of the child(ren). Each parent shall, as soon as reasonably possible, notify the other parent of all school or various activities (for example, music or sports) involving parental participation. If a child is taking medications, each parent shall have a sufficient amount of medication and appropriate instructions during their parenting time.
- J. <u>Future Disputes:</u> If the parties develop disputes in the future, they agree to first review the South Dakota Parenting Time Guidelines (UJS-302) to determine if a resolution can be reached.
- K. <u>Relocation</u>: The parties acknowledge that if either of them desire to relocate, they must abide by specific provisions required by law. These provisions can be found at SDCL §§ 25-4A-17-19.
- L. <u>Parenting Course Requirement:</u> Because this stipulation involves issues of custody and parenting time, the parties recognize that they must complete a court-approved parenting course pursuant to SDCL § 25-4A32. The parties have therefore each filed a certificate of completion or an Affidavit on the Court-Approved Parenting Course with the Clerk of Court within sixty days of the service of the Complaint on the other party.

4. Child Support.

Α.	The parties agree that	shall pay child	
	support to	for the support and maintenance of	
	the minor child(ren) in the amount of \$_	per month, which includes:	
	(check all that apply)		
	☐ Their pro rata share of the health	insurance provided by the Plaintiff /	
	Defendant (circle one) for the parties' minor child(ren).		
	☐ Their pro rata share of daycare e	xpenses for the minor child(ren).	
	An annualized abatement of \$_	per month in consideration	
	for the months	has the child(ren) six or	
	more over-nights per month. Pur	suant to SDCL § 25-7-6.14, it shall be	
	presumed that the parenting tim	e is exercised for the purposes of the	
	abatement, although if the nonc	ustodial parent does not exercise this	
	extended parenting time, the no	ncustodial parent is required to repay	
	the abated amount of child supp	port to the custodial parent;	
	\square A cross-credit calculation for the	shared parenting plan, as allowed in	
	SDCL § 25-7-6.27;		
	A deviation of \$ per mo	nth pursuant to SDCL \S 25-7-6.10($__$),	
	based on the following facts:		
В.	Any reasonable medical costs, includ	ing optometrist, dental, orthodontic,	
	counseling, or other health care costs f	or the minor child(ren) which exceed	
	\$250.00 in any year and are not covere	d by insurance, shall be split between	
	the parents with Plaintiff paying	_% and Defendant paying%.	
	Pursuant to SDCL § 25-7-6.16, the pa	rent with physical custody, which is	
	, is solely resp	onsible for the first \$250.00 of health	
	care expenses incurred for each child i		
	(This option would not be applicable in	shared parenting arrangements.)	

- C. The child support calculation is attached to this document and was prepared by the **Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one)**. (You may want an attorney to calculate child support or you can determine the support obligation by using the child support calculator provided by the Department of Social Services and found at: Child Support Obligation Calculator.
- D. The child support obligation shall commence on the 1st day of _______, 20______.
- E. Pursuant to SDCL § 25-5-18.1, the support obligation shall continue until each child attains the age of eighteen or until each child attains the age of nineteen if the child is a full-time student in a secondary school.
- F. The employer of the parent who is required to pay child support shall be immediately directed to withhold amounts for current support and arrearages as specified herein and as provided in SDCL § 25-7A-23 and shall transmit said amount as provided in SDCL § 25-7A-34.
- G. Until otherwise notified by the Department of Social Services Division of Child Support, all payments shall be made payable to "Division of Child Support" and mailed to:

Division of Child Support 700 Governor's Drive Suite 84 Pierre, SD 57501-2291

H. Regarding Health Insurance (choose one):

Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) shall obtain and/or maintain health
insurance coverage for the minor child(ren) if available through
employment or other group carrier at a reasonable cost. Plaintiff /
Defendant (circle one) shall notify the Department of Social Services of
the insurance company name, address, policy number, and the
names of persons covered within thirty days of entry of the Judgment
and Decree of Divorce. Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) shall also

notify the Department of any changes in coverage. **Plaintiff** / **Defendant (circle one)** shall also provide the other parent with a card or copy of the health insurance card setting forth the insurance company name, address, policy number and the names of persons covered within thirty days of entry of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce:

<u>OR</u>

- Neither parent currently has medical insurance for the minor child (ren). Health insurance shall be provided for the child (ren) by a parent if the insurance is accessible for the child (ren) and available to a parent at reasonable cost. SDCL § 25-7-6.16. The cost shall be apportioned between the parents. *Id.* The parent providing health insurance shall notify the Department of Social Services of the insurance company name, address and policy number and name of persons covered within thirty days and shall also notify the Department of Social Services of any changes in coverage. The parent providing medical insurance shall also provide the other parent with a card or copy of the health insurance card setting forth the insurance company name, address, policy number, and the names of persons covered within thirty days.
- **5. Property Division:** The parties agree that the following marital property shall be divided as follows and such division is equitable:
 - A. <u>Clothing, Personal Effects, Personal Property</u>: Each of the parties shall receive their own clothing, personal effects, and all personal property in their possession, free and clear of any claim from the other, unless otherwise specified herein.
 - B. Photographs, Memorabilia: The parties agree to equally split the photographs

and any special memorabilia acq	uired during the marriage/relationship withir
ninety days of execution of this	Agreement. Any expenses incurred in this
process shall be mutually agreed	upon and split equally between the parties.
	as their sole and separate property, the
following items:	
•	·
•	.
•	•
•	• <u> </u>
•	*
-	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
D. Defendant shall exclusively receive	e, as their sole and separate property, the
following items:	
•	
•	
•	•
•	
•	.
E. Property in Possession of the Oth	n <u>er</u> : If Plaintiff has property to be given to
Defendant, then Plaintiff shall, wi	thin thirty days of execution of entry of the
Judgment and Decree of Divorce	e, give to Defendant the following persona
property items:	
•	•
	·

•		ı	•	
•			•	
•				_
and Defendan	t shall, within th	nirty days of e	xecution of this Agreement, g	give to
Plaintiff the follo	owing personal p	oroperty items:		
		ı	•	
			•	
•				
•				
•				

- F. <u>Checking and Savings Accounts</u>: It is acknowledged by the parties, that they have divided their bank accounts, encompassing checking and/or savings accounts. Each party shall maintain exclusive ownership of the cash balance in their individual accounts, unencumbered by any claims from the other party. Furthermore, any joint accounts that remain, shall be promptly closed and the funds shall be divided equally between the parties.
- G. <u>Tax Consequences</u>: The parties agree that the foregoing transfers of property between them are tax-free under the Internal Revenue Code § 1041, and both agree not to take any inconsistent position on their tax returns filed after this Agreement is signed.
- **6.** <u>**Debt Division:**</u> The parties agree the following martial debt of the parties shall

be divided as follows: (list all debts and outstanding balances incurred by one or both parties: credit cards, bank loans, personal loans, vehicle loans, outstanding monthly bills, student loans, medical bills, etc.):

•		•	
•		•	
•		•	
•			
		•	
		or and take over the following de	el
	solely responsible fo		ek
•		or and take over the following de	ek
•		or and take over the following de	ek
•		or and take over the following de	ek

D. Except as otherwise expressly provided, it is further agreed that any and all unpaid debts not otherwise addressed in this document, incurred by the

Agreement. Each party agrees not to incur any debt or liability that could

potentially hold the other party, their property, or estate responsible in the

Plaintiff's Initials

future.

- parties during their marriage shall be the responsibility of the person who incurred it. Each party shall indemnify and hold harmless the other therefrom.
- E. Unless otherwise provided herein, each of the parties promise, at all times, to keep the other party free, harmless and indemnified from any and all debts, charges or liabilities previously contracted or incurred by said party individually, and to be hereafter contracted or incurred by said party individually. Each shall immediately apply for formal transfer or assumption of the debts each assumes under this Agreement with the creditors involved so the non-responsible party is released from liability by the creditors. However, neither party can guarantee that the creditors involved will approve a release from liability. If a creditor denies a release presently, the parties agree to renew their applications for formal transfer or assumption in the future at reasonable intervals.
- 7. As set forth above, the party receiving the property or debt listed in this agreement shall assume receipt commencing on the date of this agreement. Further, the party receiving the asset or debt obligation, shall remove the other party's name therefrom within ______ days from entry of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce. The other party shall also cooperate in transferring titles to the party receiving the asset(s) once their name is removed.
 8. In respect to equalizing the property distribution, the parties agree (check one):

 ______ That Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) shall pay to the other the amount of \$______ to equalize the property/debt distribution within ______ days of entry of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce;
 _______ OR

Real Property (house, land or buildings):

The parties have no real property (check if applicable and then

no amount is necessary to equalize the distribution.

That the allocation of personal property and debt is equitable, and

proceed to #10).
☐ The parties have an interest in the following real property:
A. Physical Address:
B. Legal description (obtained from a document such as a Warranty Deed, Mortgage
<u>or Title Insurance):</u>
C. De garding the property the parties agree (ahadrana)
C. Regarding the property, the parties agree (check one):
That the Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) will receive the house/land and
all the fixtures therein and/or the improvements thereon. The parties agree
that the amount of equity in the real estate is \$ (Value - Debt(s) = Equity) to the
The party receiving the real estate shall pay \$ to the
other to equalize this division within days of entry of the Judgment
and Decree of Divorce. If there is a mortgage(s) or other joint debt
encumbering the real estate, the person receiving the property shall remove the other party's name from the mortgage(s) within days
of entry of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce. The person receiving the
property has consulted a lender and received pre-approval to refinance.
The party not receiving the real property shall cooperate in the release or
refinancing and shall sign a quit claim deed releasing all interest in the
property to the other party.
The parties garee that the being fland and all the first was therein and the
The parties agree that the house/land and all the fixtures therein and/or

<u>OR</u>

the improvements thereon shall be listed for sale by,
20 with a realtor, on an active multiple listing service, for fair market
value. The parties shall mutually agree upon a realtor, and both shall
cooperate with signing the appropriate documents. Unless the parties
otherwise agree, the parties shall accept a minimum offer for fair market
value. During the pendency of sale of the home, Plaintiff / Defendant /
Not Applicable (circle one) shall have exclusive possession of the marital
home if they do not commit waste thereto. Commencing
, 20, the parties agree that Plaintiff /
Defendant / Not Applicable (circle one) shall be responsible for the
mortgage payments, which payments include taxes and insurance,
normal maintenance, as well as payment of utility bills associated with the
marital home. The parties further agree that the net proceeds of the sale
of the home shall be divided with Plaintiff receiving% and
Defendant receiving%. Additionally, any monies refunded to the
parties from any escrow account shall be divided between the parties with
Plaintiff receiving% and Defendant receiving%. The parties
agree, if they are not able to file a joint return, Plaintiff / Defendant (circle
one) shall claim the real estate taxes on their 20 income tax return
and Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) shall claim the mortgage interest on
their 20 income tax return.
10. <u>Investments and Retirement Funds and Pension Plans</u> : Retirement and
investments may be considered marital property and must be considered when
dividing the marital assets between the parties. There are additional legal
documents necessary to accomplish a transfer of certain retirement and
investment accounts and you are strongly advised to consult an attorney if you are
dividing such property.
A. The parties agree (check the appropriate box):
Each party specifically waives any and all claims, if any, to the other's

401K, IRA, stock options, retirement, pension, and profit-sharing accounts and benefits, whether such claim is known or unknown, contingent or vested, or now owing or will become owing to the other party in the future. It is the intent and purpose of the parties hereto by this provision to waive any entitlement to the 401K, IRA, stock options, pension, retirement, and/or annuity benefits of the other party, including both present and future benefits:

	future benefits;
<u>OR</u>	
	Effective the date this Agreement is signed by both parties, the Plaintiff
	shall receive the following investments and retirement accounts (list the
	current value of each):
	and;
	Effective the date this Agreement is signed by both parties, the
	Defendant shall receive the following investments and retirement
	accounts (list the current value of each):
В.	The parties recognize that, unless otherwise provided herein, they have been
	advised to change any designation of their spouse as the beneficiary of any
	policy governed by ERISA, to include life insurance policies or employee
	benefit plans.
11.	<u>Life Insurance.</u> Life insurance policies, particularly the cash value of some
polic	ies, may be considered marital property and should be considered when
divid	ing the marital assets. Thus, the parties agree (check one):
	The parties do not have any life insurance policies to distribute;
<u>OR</u>	
	☐ The parties agree to the allocation of the life insurance policies as
	follows:
	Plaintiff shall receive the following (term/whole life) life insurance policy(ies)

and shall be responsible for any premium associated with said policy:

Plaintiff's Initials

Defendant's Initials

Defendant shall receive the following (term/whole life) life insurance policy(ies) and shall be responsible for any premium associated with said policy:

12. Military Benefits (If one of the parties is a military member) (check one)

Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one or both, if applicable) confirms they are not currently a member of the military service of the United States of America as defined by the Soldier and Service Member's Civil Relief Act of 1940.

<u>OR</u>

Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one or both, if applicable) was a member of the military (includes the National Guard and Reserves) during the marriage. Accordingly, the other party may be entitled to, as a former spouse of a service member, specific benefits depending on the length of the marriage and the amount of time the service member spouse spent in the military during the marriage. Benefits may include, if you qualify, retirement pay, military health care, commissary privileges and base facility benefits. There are state and federal laws that come into play; i.e. the Uniformed Services Former Spouses' Protection Act, and the Survivor Benefit Plan. There are numerous and complicated laws, and it is advised that you seek legal advice and/or assistance from the Defense Finance and Accounting Service to understand and protect all benefits you may be entitled to. When receiving retirement pay, you need to consult legal counsel regarding the "disposable retired pay" and the importance of disability pay in lieu of retired pay. Also, an Order dividing benefits must be timely received by the Defense Finance and Accounting Service and,

Plaintiff's Initials Defendant's Initials

if necessary, an Order requiring Survivors Benefit Protection (SBP).

If the	e Plaintiff or Defendant or both are members of the military service, past or		
present, please list branch of service, rank at the time of retirement, the specific years that they were in service (ex. 1992–2004) and the specific years of service			
In res	spect to military benefits of the service member, the parties agree as follows:		
13.	Alimony (Spousal Support). Please check the appropriate box and fill in the		
appr	ropriate blanks. (You are strongly encouraged to consult with an attorney		
befo	re completing this section):		
	Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) shall receive alimony in the sum of		
	\$ each month beginning the 1st of, 20		
	for the following duration:		
	A period of months; or		
	☐ Until remarriage of the person receiving alimony or death of either party.		
<u>OR</u>	■ No permanent, general, rehabilitative or restitutional alimony shall be		
	granted to either party. Both parties waive any right they may have to		
	alimony and accepts this Agreement (with Minor Children) in full and final		
	satisfaction of all marital claims.		

14 . <u> </u>	Income Tax Returns. The parties agree to share historical accounting a	ınd tax	
information, documents and records with the other as may be necessary for each			
to prepare a complete an accurate income tax return for subsequent tax years.			
The po	arties agree:		
[File a joint tax return if possible for the tax year, if allowed b	oy law,	
	and share the expenses and tax liability or refund as follows:	%	
	to Plaintiff and% to Defendant;		
<u>OR</u>			
[File as single persons for the tax year. Commencing with	the	
	tax year that the Judgment and Decree of Divorce is signed, the I	parties	
	shall file as single persons on their IRS returns and every year therea	ıfter.	
The po	arties further agree that the minor child(ren) shall be claimed as deper	ndents	
on the	ir individual tax returns as follows:		
15 . <u>!</u>	Former Name. If one party would like their maiden name or former na	me	
	Former Name. If one party would like their maiden name or former naed to them, complete this section: (Leave section blank if not applicable)		
	ed to them, complete this section: (Leave section blank if not applicat	ole)	
	ed to them, complete this section: (Leave section blank if not applicable Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one), presently known as	ole)	
	Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one), presently known as	ole)	
	Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one), presently known as	ole)	
	Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one), presently known as	ole)	
restore	Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one), presently known as	ole)	
restore	Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one), presently known as	ole)	
restore	Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one), presently known as	ole)	
restore	Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one), presently known as	ole)	
restore	Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one), presently known as	ole)	

17. Attorney's Fees. (Check one if appropriate and fill in where necessary):

	Each party shall be solely responsible for their own attorney fees,
	costs and expenses incurred in this proceeding.
<u>OR</u>	
	Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) will pay the sum of \$
	towards the attorney fees, costs and expenses of their spouse within
	days of entry of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce.

- **18.** <u>Address.</u> Until all provisions herein are satisfied, the parties agree that each will promptly notify the other of any change of address and/or telephone number.
- 19. Other Documents. The parties shall, at any and all times upon request by the other party or their legal representative, make, execute, and deliver any and all such other and further instruments as may be deemed necessary or desirable for the purpose of giving full force and effect to the provisions of this Agreement, without charge therefor.
- **20. Grounds.** The parties mutually understand that a divorce shall be granted to both parties on the grounds of irreconcilable differences, per SDCL § 25-4-17.3. The parties have executed an Affidavit of Plaintiff and Defendant as to Jurisdiction and Grounds for Divorce and understand the Court may grant the divorce without requiring personal appearances of the parties. If the Court decides to grant a Judgment and Decree of Divorce, the parties agree that this Agreement shall be presented to the Court without further notice. In the event the Court does not accept and approve all terms and provisions of this Agreement, then the same shall be null and void and no Judgment and Decree of Divorce may be entered by default in favor of either party without prior notice to either party.
- 21. <u>Interference.</u> The parties hereafter shall live separate and apart. Each party shall be free from interference, authority or control, direct or indirect, of the other party. The parties agree not to molest, annoy, harass, stalk, or interfere with each other in any aspect of their personal or professional lives.
- 22. <u>Enforcement</u>. The parties agree this Agreement shall be binding upon them

until otherwise mutually agreed or otherwise ordered by the Court. Upon any violation of the terms of this Agreement, or if one party determines modifications are necessary without consent of the other party, each shall be free to petition the Court to have this Agreement modified/enforced in accordance with the law.

- **23.** Release of Inheritance Rights. Unless otherwise specified herein, each party releases all rights to shares in the estate of the other or shares in the estate of the parents of the other, or to serve as personal representative or administrator of the estate of the other, except only as specified by will or codicil to will executed after the date of this Agreement.
- **24.** <u>Modification and Waiver.</u> Any modification/waiver of any provisions of this Agreement shall be effective only if made in writing and executed with the same formality as this Agreement and approved by the Court. The failure of either party to insist upon strict performance of any of the provisions shall not be construed as waiver of any subsequent default of the same or similar nature.
- **25.** <u>Partial Invalidity.</u> If any of the provisions of this Agreement are held to be invalid or unenforceable, all other provisions shall nevertheless continue in full force and effect.
- **26.** <u>Titles.</u> The paragraph captions contained herein are inserted for convenience and descriptive purposes only and do not constitute a part of this Agreement.
- **27.** <u>Conflict of Laws.</u> This Agreement shall be construed in accordance with the substantive laws of the State of South Dakota.
- **Waiver and Incorporation.** The parties waive notice of trial, notice of hearing, findings of fact and conclusions of law and consent to the entry of a Judgment and Decree of Divorce without further notice, upon the Court's determination that there is a just cause for divorce. It is further stipulated and agreed by and between the parties that all provisions of this Agreement shall be incorporated by reference into any Judgment and Decree of Divorce which may be issued herein.
- 29. Written Memorandum. This Agreement contains the entire understanding of

Plaintiff's Initials Defendant's Initials

Page 22 of 24

the parties who hereby acknowledge there have been and are no representations, warranties, covenants or understandings other than those expressly set forth herein.

30. Ratification.

- A. This Agreement was made and entered into with the full knowledge of both parties, and they have read the entire document and have signed the same of their own free will and accord.
- B. The parties represent to the Court that each acknowledges the importance of consulting separate, independent legal counsel as well as a tax expert prior to the execution of this Agreement. The parties acknowledge that it is a legal document and binding upon them.
- C. Each party covenants and warrants to the other: (a) they have fully disclosed the existence of and value of all assets and debts in which they have any interest whatsoever; and,(b) the assets and debt set forth and identified herein constitutes all the property of the parties, whether owned jointly or by either of them individually, or in conjunction with a third party; and, (c) the full and frank disclosure of all assets and liabilities by both parties is an essential and material element of the consideration of this Agreement.

(SIGNATURE PAGE TO FOLLOW)

Plaintiff's Initials

Defendant's Initials

Dated this day of	_, 20
	Plaintiff Signature
Sworn/affirmed before me this day	Plaintiff Printed Name
of, 20	Plaintiff Address
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court	City, State, Zip Code
My Commission Expires:	Phone Number
Dated this day of	
Dated this day of	_, 20
Dated this day of	
Sworn/affirmed before me this day	_, 20
	_, 20 Defendant Signature
Sworn/affirmed before me this day	_, 20 Defendant Signature Defendant Printed Name

INSTRUCTIONS FOR AFFIDAVIT OF PLAINTIFF AND DEFENDANT AS TO JURISDICTION AND **REASON FOR DIVORCE AND FORM**

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce matters. You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website. If you have any legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney. Court staff are unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion. For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.

IMPORTANT	NOTICE:
------------------	---------

Ш	This Affidavit establishes jurisalction and grounds for divorce in which the Court may
	grant a divorce without requiring their personal appearance. Although this Affidavit
	can be used to help waive a court hearing, the Judge presiding over your case
	may still require one.
	In South Dakota, both parties typically must agree to use irreconcilable differences
	as the reason for divorce. Additionally, the Plaintiff must be a resident of the State
	of South Dakota when the divorce is started. This Affidavit confirms those facts for
	the Court.
	This form shall be completed once the Stipulation and Settlement Agreement has
	been signed by both parties.

<u>To (</u>

CO	mplete this form, you will need to:
	Complete the caption by filling in the name of the county you are filing in, the judicial circuit number, Plaintiff and Defendant's names.
	☐ The Clerk of Court will provide you a case number at the time of filing.
	□ Your judicial circuit can be found here:
	 https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx
	Plaintiff and Defendant will need to sign and date in front of a notary or Clerk of
	Court.
	Once signed it will need to be filed with the Clerk of Court.
	If the Defendant refuses to sign this form, the Plaintiff should still file this Affidavit with
	only their notarized signature.

COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
	Case No.:
٧.	AFFIDAVIT OF PLAINTIFF & DEFENDANT AS TO JURISDICTION AND GROUNDS FOR DIVORCE
Defendant	

The above-named Plaintiff and Defendant, being first duly sworn upon their oath, depose and state as follows:

- 1. That they are the Plaintiff and the Defendant in the above-entitled divorce action.
- 2. This Affidavit is made pursuant to the provisions of SDCL § 25-4-17.3 so that the divorce may be granted without requiring the personal appearance by either party in Court.
- Pursuant to SDCL § 24-4-30, the Plaintiff, at the time of the commencement of this
 divorce action was a bona fide resident of ______County in the
 State of South Dakota (or stationed in the State of South Dakota while a member of
 the armed services)
- 4. Plaintiff and Defendant agree by signing this Affidavit that there are irreconcilable differences between the parties which the parties cannot repair to save the marriage. Both parties' consent to the Court's entry of a Judgment and Decree of Divorce to both parties on the grounds of irreconcilable differences.
- 5. A written Stipulation and Settlement Agreement (with Minor Children) has been entered into between the Plaintiff and the Defendant setting forth the terms and conditions of the division of property and other matters. The Agreement is presented to the Court with this Affidavit.
- 6. Both parties authorize the immediate presentation of the Stipulation and Settlement Agreement (with Minor Children), this Affidavit of Jurisdiction and Ground for Divorce and the proposed Judgment and Decree of Divorce to the Court and

respectfully request the Court to consider the same without need for any noticed hearing or trial. The Parties further waive the entry of formal Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

Dated this	day of ₋		, 20
		Plaintiff Signature	
Sworn/affirmed before me this	_ day	Plaintiff Name	
of, 20	·	Plaintiff Address	
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court		City, State, Zip Code	
My Commission Expires:		Phone Number	
Dated this	day of _		, 20
		Defendant Signature	
Sworn/affirmed before me this	_ day	Defendant Name	
of, 20)	Defendant Address	
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court		City, State, Zip Code	
My Commission Expires:		Phone Number	

INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM FOR JUDGMENT AND DECREE OF DIVORCE (STIPULATION AND AGREEMENT WITH MINOR CHILDREN)

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce matters. You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website. If you have any legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney. Court staff are unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion. For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us. Remember that legal matters are better addressed by professionals who specialize in this field.

IMPC	RTANT	NOTICES
-------------	-------	----------------

	Use this form <u>only</u> if you and the Defendant have signed a Stipulation and Settlement Agreement (With Minor Children) and you want the Court to incorporate that Agreement into your Judgment and Decree of Divorce.
	Even if you and the other party have signed the Stipulation and Settlement Agreement, the Judge assigned to your case may still require you to appear in court.
<u>To</u>	complete this form, you will need to:
	Complete the caption by filling in the name of the county you are filing in, the judicial circuit number, list your name for the Plaintiff and the other party for the Defendant.
	In the first paragraph enter the day the Defendant was served with the Summons and Complaint, and the date and location of the marriage.
	Provide the Clerk of Court with the proposed Judgment and Decree of Divorce (UJS-326B). The Clerk of Court will give to the Judge to grant or deny.
	If the Judge signs the proposed Judgment and Decree of Divorce (UJS-326B), a Notice of Entry will need to be completed and filed with the Clerk of Court.
	The Notice of Entry form can be obtained from the Clerk of Court. Depending on the county, this may be completed by the Clerk of Court, or they may provide it to you to complete and file.
	Certified copies of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce (UJS-326B) along with a copy of the Notice of Entry will need to be provided to both parties and an Affidavit of Mailing will need to be completed. Depending on the county, this may be completed by the Clerk, or they may provide to you to complete and file. You will need to check with the Clerk of Court on this.
	☐ The Affidavit of Mailing form can be obtained from the Clerk of Court. If a hearing is required, you will need to bring the Judgment and Decree of Divorce (UJS-326B) with you and if the Judge signs at the conclusion of the hearing, certified copies of the signed Judgment and Decree of Divorce (UJS-326B) along with a copy of the Notice of Entry will need to be provided to both parties and an Affidavit of Mailing will need to be completed. Depending on the county, this may be completed by the Clerk, or these forms may be provided to you to complete and file. You will need to check with the Clerk of Court on this.
	☐ The Affidavit of Mailing form can be obtained from the Clerk of Court.

COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
Plaintiff v. Defendant	JUDGMENT AND DECREE OF DIVORCE (STIPULATION AND AGREEMENT WITH MINOR CHILDREN)
	before this Court on the day of by appearing to the Court from the records and
	erved with the Summons and Complaint (With
Minor Children) on the day of	, 20, and the parties
thereafter entered into a Stipulation and	d Agreement (With Minor Children) on file and
dated, hereir	n. The parties were married on the day
of, in the City and	State of
After due consideration of the same and	on the matters of record herein the Court finds
and concludes that is has jurisdiction over	the parties and the subject matter herein, that
the parties have met their obligations for	court-approved parenting courses under SDCL
§ 25-4A-32, and that the parties having ex	spressly waived entering of Findings of Fact and
Conclusions of Law. Now therefore;	
	DD DEODEED

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED AS FOLLOWS:

- The parties are both granted a Judgment and Decree of Divorce on the grounds of irreconcilable differences and the parties hereto are restored to the status of single persons.
- 2. That the Stipulation and Agreement (With Minor Children) on file between the parties is hereby approved and by this reference made a part hereof merged and incorporated herein.

3.	The parties are the parents of the following minor child(ren):
	, DOB
	, DOB
	, DOB
4.	. Custody and parenting time with the minor child(ren) shall be as set forth in the
	Stipulation and Agreement (With Minor Children) on file herein, which is
	incorporated herein by reference.
5.	shall pay child support to
	for the minor child(ren) in the amount of \$ per month, commencing the
	1st day of, 20, pursuant to the calculations and child
	support provisions set forth in the Stipulation and Agreement (With Minor
	Children), which are incorporated herein by reference as well as the child support
	calculation, which is filed here in and incorporated by reference.
6.	. Pursuant to SDCL \S 25-5-18.1, the support obligation shall continue until each child
	attains the age of eighteen, or until each child attains the age of nineteen if the
	child is a fulltime student in a secondary school.
7.	. The obligor's current or subsequent payor of income shall be immediately
	directed to withhold amount for current support or arrearages as specified herein
	and as provided in SDCL § 25-7A-23 and shall transmit said amount as provided
	in SDCL § 24-7A-34.
8.	. Until otherwise notified by the Division of Child Support all payments shall be made
	payable to "Division of Child Support" and mailed to:
	Division of Child Support 700 Governor's Drive, Suite 84 Pierre, SD 57501-2291
9	P. Plaintiff / Defendant (check one), currently known as
	born as shall be restored
	to their former name of; therefore, they shall be
	known hereafter as

become an Order of this Court.

11. All the other terms and conditions specifically set forth in the Stipulation and Agreement (With Minor Children) as hereby approved and incorporated herein by reference as though fully set forth in extenso.

10. That SDCL § 25-4A-5 is attached as required by SDCL § 25-4A-5.1 and shall

Dated this day of	, 20	
	Circuit Court Judge	
Attest:		
Clerk of Court		
Deputy Clerk (Seal)		

South Dakota Codified Laws
Title 25. Domestic Relations
Chapter 25-4a. Custody and Visitation Rights (Refs & Annos)

SDCL § 25-4A-5

25-4A-5. Sanctions for violation of custody or visitation decree

Effective: July 1, 2018 Currentness

If the court finds that any party has willfully violated or willfully failed to comply with any provisions of a custody or visitation decree, the court shall impose appropriate sanctions to punish the offender or to compel the offender to comply with the terms of the custody or visitation decree.

The court may enter an order clarifying the rights and responsibilities of the parents and the court's order. The court may order one or more of the following sanctions:

- (1) To require the offender to provide the other party with make up time with the child equal to the time missed with the child, due to the offender's noncompliance;
- (2) To require the offender to pay, to the other party, court costs and reasonable attorney's fees incurred as a result of the noncompliance;
- (3) To require the offender to pay a civil penalty of not more than the sum of one thousand dollars;
- (4) To require the offender to participate satisfactorily in counseling or parent education classes;
- (5) To require the offender to post bond or other security with the court conditional upon future compliance with the terms of the custody or visitation decree or any ancillary court order;
- (6) To impose a jail sentence on the offender of not more than three days; or
- (7) In the event of an aggravated violation or multiple violations, the court may modify the existing visitation or custody situation, or both of any minor child.

The provisions of this section do not prohibit the court from imposing any other sanction appropriate to the facts and circumstances of the case.

Credits

Source: SL 1994, ch 195, § 5; SL 2008, ch 125, § 1; SL 2018, ch 155, § 3.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR CHILD SUPPORT ORDER FILING DATA FORM (UJS/DSS FORM 089)

PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY. COMPLETE ALL SECTIONS OF THIS FORM AND FILE THE FORM WITH THE CLERK OF COURT'S OFFICE IN WHICH YOUR CASE IS BEING HANDLED.

As a result of federal welfare reform, *effective October 1, 1998*, new procedures apply to child support cases in South Dakota. The most significant changes are:

- → The Department of Social Services will be the central case registry for the state.
- The Department of Social Services will be the central payment center for the state and will handle all disbursements.
- → Your failure to update certain information on file with the Department of Social Services and the court, by using this Child Support Order Filing Data Form, can have serious legal consequences regarding your legal right to be notified of enforcement actions regarding your child support obligations.

INSTRUCTIONS

- 1. Upon entry of any new or modified court order for child support, the parties in the case must personally, or through their attorney, file a completed Child Support Order Filing Data Form with the clerk of court.
- 2. Whenever any information on the form changes (for example, you change jobs or place of residence), you must complete a new form and file it with the clerk of court's office.

PLEASE NOTE: You are responsible for ensuring that all information is accurate and current. If you fail to keep the information current, you may be served with future notices and orders of enforcement actions regarding your child support obligation at the last residential or employer address provided. Failure to appear in court when so notified may result in a default judgment being entered against you.

- 3. If a protection order for domestic violence against a spouse or abuse of a child is in effect (whether temporary or permanent), check the appropriate box on the form and attach a copy of the order to the form.
- 4. Keep the pink copy for your records and file the white and yellow copies with clerk of court.

THIS FORM WILL BE TREATED AS A CONFIDENTIAL DOCUMENT BY THE COURT (This means the information will not be released to the public as defined by SDCL 15-15A-2(1)-(3)).

To be completed by clerk of court:			
(Docket Number)			
Date	Clerk Initials		

CONFIDENTIAL FORM

	Original Court Order
	Modification Order
	Information Change
	Change of Venue
_	Change of Vehice

Child Support Order Filing Data

Please type or print information on form.

PLAINTIFF/PETITIONER (Circle one)	DEFENDANT/RESPONDENT (Circle one)
Name:	Name:
SSN: SEX: M F	SSN:SEX: M F
Driver's License # :	Driver's License # :
Date of Birth: Race:	Date of Birth: Race:
Residential Address:	Residential Address
Mailing Address (if different from above)	Mailing Address (if different from above)
Phone No	Phone No
Attorney Name	Attorney Name
Attorney Phone No	Attorney Phone No
Employer	Employer
Employer Address	Employer Address
Employer Phone No	Employer Phone No
Second Employer	Second Employer
Second Employer Address	Second Employer Address
Second Employer Phone No	Second Employer Phone No
Full names, sex of child, dates of birth, and social sproceeding (if more than six, write on back of form): SEX: M / F SEX: M / F	DOB: SSN: DOB: SSN: DOB: SSN:
SEX: M / F	DOB: SSN:
SEX: M / F	DOB:SSN:
Is a protection order for domestic violence against Yes No Unknown <i>If yes, pleas</i>	a spouse or abuse of a child currently in effect? se attach a copy of the order.
I certify that the above information is true and accumulate Defendant/Respondent and is accurate to the beunavailable. The information is unavailable because	est of my knowledge as to the other party, or is
I hereby certify that the information required by SDCL 25-7A-56.7 is not available.	Signature Date
Circuit Judge	

INSTRUCTIONS AND FORMS FOR AFFIDAVIT OF DEFAULT, APPLICATION FOR JUDGMENT AND DECREE OF DIVORCE (DEFAULT), NOTICE OF HEARING AND AFFIDAVIT OF MAILING

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce matters. You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website. If you have any legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney. Court staff are unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion. For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.

IMPORTAN	I NOTICES:
-----------------	------------

	 These forms can only be completed by the Plaintiff and only if the following is true: The Defendant was served with copies of the Summons and Complaint with Minor Children and Proof of Service was filed with the Clerk of Court. The Defendant has failed to file an Answer to the Summons and Complaint with Minor Children within thirty days of being served. The Defendant is not in the military on active duty. A Default Judgment for Divorce can only be granted if it has been at least sixty days since the Defendant was served with the Summons and Complaint.
То сог	mplete these forms, you will need to:
_ _	Complete the Affidavit of Default (UJS-323A) by completing the caption, date the Defendant was served with the Summons and Complaint with Minor Children, date, and sign in front of a notary or Clerk of Court. Complete the Application for Judgment and Decree of Divorce - Default (UJS-323B), sign and date in front of a notary or Clerk of Court. Complete the Affidavit of Mailing (UJS-323D) and sign in front of a notary of Clerk of Court. File the originals of the Affidavit of Default (UJS-323A) and the Application for Judgment and Decree of Divorce – Default (UJS-323B), and Affidavit of Mailing (UJS-323D) with the Clerk of Court.
conta	aring may be required on your application for Default Judgment. You will need to act the Clerk of Court for this information. If a hearing is required continue with the below.
	Request a hearing date and time from the Clerk of Court or Court Administration depending on your county. Complete the Notice of Hearing (UJS-323C), sign and file the original with the Clerk of Court. The Notice of Hearing would then be mailed along with the other forms listed above.

COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
 Plaintiff	Case No.:
٧.	AFFIDAVIT OF DEFAULT
Defendant	
Plaintiff, being first duly sworn on oath stat	res:
1. That I am the Plaintiff in the above-o	captioned action.
2. That the Summons and Complaint (with Minor Children) were served together upor
the Defendant on the do	ay of, 20
3. That the proof of service has been fi	iled (i.e., Admission of Service or Sheriff's Return)
4. That more than sixty days have passe	ed since service of the Summons and Complain
(with Minor Children) and the De	efendant has not filed an Answer, made ar
appearance, or filed any other resp	oonsive pleading and is in default.
5. It is my belief that the Defendant is	not in the military service on active duty.
Dated this day of	, 20
	Plaintiff Signature
Sworn/affirmed before me this day	Plaintiff Printed Name
of, 20	Plaintiff Address
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court	City, State, Zip Code
My Commission Expires:	Phone Number

COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
Plaintiff	Case No.:
V.	APPLICATION FOR JUDGMENT AND DECREE DEFAULT
Defendant	
COMES NOW, the above-nar	med Plaintiff and respectfully submits this
Application for Judgment and Decree of	Divorce by Default pursuant to SDCL § 15-6-
55(b), hereby requesting the Court to er	nter a Judgment and Decree of Divorce by
default against the Defendant in favor of	the Plaintiff in the above-entitled action. The
Plaintiff's Affidavit of Default is incorporated	d herein.
Dated this day of	, 20
	Plaintiff Signature
	 Plaintiff Name
Sworn/affirmed before me this day	Hallilli Name
of, 20	Plaintiff Address
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court	City, State, Zip Code
My Commission Expires:	Phone Number

COUNTY OF		JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
Plaintiff	Case No.:	
٧.	NOTICE OF HE	ARING
Defendant		
TO: THE DEFENDANT IN THE ABOVE	-CAPTIONED MATTER:	
PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that on the	ne day of	, 20, at
	on Plaintiff's Affidavit of Default an	
	- Default will be held in the courtro	
_	it Court Judge of the	
	Count	
, Sc	outh Dakota.	
	gment for the relief demanded in th	e Complaint with
Minor Children in the above-entitled	action.	
Dated this day of	, 20	
	Plaintiff Signature	
	Plaintiff Name	
	Plaintiff Address	
	City, State, Zip Code	
	 Phone Number	

COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
Plaintiff	Case No.:
v.	AFFIDAVIT OF MAILING
Defendant	
l,	, being sworn, state that on the
Affidavit of Default, Application for	Judgment and Decree of Divorce – Default correct copies in an envelope addressed to:
(Name of	Defendant)
(Street A	address)
(City, Sto	ate, Zip) icient postage, in the United States Mail in:
(City and State when	re you mailed forms from)
Dated this day of, 20	<u></u> .
	Plaintiff Signature
Sworn/affirmed before me this day	Plaintiff Name
of, 20	Plaintiff Address
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court	City, State, Zip Code
My Commission Expires:	Phone Number

INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM ON AFFIDAVIT OF DEFENDANT'S MILITARY STATUS

This form references specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) and you can fin these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website. If you have any legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney. Court staff are unable to provide you with legal advice or assist you in completing this form. For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Helpline at 1-855-784-0004 email UJS staff at <u>ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.</u>

<u>Important Notice:</u>

To Complete this form, you will need to:

Before a default judgment may be entered by the Court the Plaintiff is required to file an affidavit stating whether the Defendant is in the military service and show necessary facts to support the affidavit.

Verify th	at Paragraphs 1through 3 are correct.
by cond Data Ce	eleting paragraph 4, the military status of a Defendant may be determined ducting an on-line search through the Department of Defense Manpower enter (DMDC) search engine at https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/scra/#/login . A using the DMDC must attach a printed copy of the certificate generated by ch. The military status of a Defendant may be determined by contacting each branch of the military. A plaintiff using this method must attach a response from each branch.
	The military status of a Defendant may also be determined by the Plaintiff, or their agent, personally asking the Defendant or another individual that has sufficient reason to know the defendant's military status.
	The Plaintiff is not limited to the options discussed above and may have other reasons to know the Defendant's military status. Any additional reasons should be explained for review by the court.
Date an	d sign in front of a notary or Clerk of Clerk.
File origi	nal the Clerk of Court and retain a copy for your records.

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA	IN CIRCUIT COURT
COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
Plaintiff v.	Case No.: AFFIDAVIT OF DEFENDANT'S MILITARY STATUS
Defendant	
I, the undersigned litigant, being first duly sv	vorn on my oath, depose and state:
1. I am over the age of eighteen years a	nd am competent to make this Affidavit.
2. I am the Plaintiff in the above-entitled	matter.
That I have either made a persono business records of the defendant.	al investigation or personally reviewed the
 As a result of my investigation or review ☐ It is my belief that the above-named or 	v: (check one) lefendant is not in the military on active duty;
\square It is my belief that the above-named \circ	defendant is in the military on active duty;
□I have been unable to determine whe active duty.	ther the defendant is in the military on
My information and belief are based or	n the following, and I have attached the
necessary documentation:	

I understand that any false statements in this document are made under perjury, and that making a false statement is a violation of Federal Law and is subject to both fine and imprisonment.

Dated this day of	, 20
	Plaintiff Signature
	Plaintiff Name
Sworn/affirmed before me this day	
of, 20	Address
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court	City, State, Zip Code
My Commission Expires:	Phone Number

INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM FOR JUDGMENT AND DECREE OF DIVORCE (DEFAULT – WITH MINOR CHILDREN)

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce matters. You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website. If you have any legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney. Court staff are unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion. For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at <u>uissrlhelp@uis.state.sd.us</u>.

IMPORTANT NOTICE

Ц	A default judgment for divorce can only be granted it it has been at least sixty days since the Defendant was served with the Summons and Complaint and an Answer has not been filed by the Defendant.
То со	mplete this form you will need to:
	Fill in the caption. In the first paragraph fill in the blanks regarding the day the Defendant was served with the Summons and Complaint, and the day and location of the marriage. Attend the hearing that was scheduled on your request for a divorce by default. You will submit this form to the Court at the hearing where the Judge will make their final determination.
	If the Judge signs the Judgment and Decree of Divorce Default with Minor Children (UJS-322B) the Court will provide you with signed copies and you will need to:
	Complete and file the Notice of Entry and Affidavit of Mailing This form may be obtained from the Clerk of Court. Depending on the county, either the Clerk of Court will complete the form for you or provide you with the form for completion. Check with the Clerk of Court in your county.
	Mail a copy of the Notice of Entry, Affidavit of Mailing and signed Judgment and

Decree of Divorce (UJS-322B) to the Defendant.

The above-entitled matter came before this Court on the _____ day of ______, 20____ on the Plaintiff's Application for Judgment and Decree of Divorce (Default). It is satisfactory appearing to the Court from the records and files herein that the Defendant was duly served with Summons and Complaint on the _____ day of _____, 20____. The parties were married on the _____ day of _____, in the City of _____ and State of ______, in the City of _____ and It further appearing to the Court by virtue of the Affidavit of Default signed by Plaintiff and filed herein that said Defendant has failed to plead, to otherwise defend, or make any appearance in this action and that said Defendant is in default; Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law having been waived by virtue of Defendant's failure to appear in this action; the Court having jurisdiction over the parties and the subject matter herein, Now Therefore;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED AS FOLLOWS:

 Plaintiff is granted a Judgment and Decree of Divorce on the grounds of irreconcilable differences and the parties hereto are restored to the status of single persons:

. Th	ne parties are the parents of the following minor child(ren):
_	DOB:
	DOB:
_	DOB:
_	DOB:
. С	rustody of the minor child(ren) shall be (check the applicable box)
_ D	Joint legal custody between the parties with the Plaintiff / efendant (check one) having primary physical custody.
	The parties share joint legal and physical custody of the minor child(ren)
	Sole legal and physical custody to the Plaintiff / Defendant (check one
18 ag sh	The parents agree to joint legal and physical custody with shared arenting plan, as set forth below, in which the child(ren) reside no less than 30 nights per calendar year in each parent's home. The parents further gree to share the duties and responsibilities of parenting the child(ren) and hall divide the expense of the child(ren) in proportion to their incomes, i.e. aintiff paying
	aintiff / Defendant (check one) parenting time/visitation with the ninor child(ren) shall be as follows:
	shall pay child support and maintenance of
	ne minor child(ren) in the amount of \$ per month, which cludes: (check all that apply)

	☐ Their pro rata share of the health insurance provided by the Plaintiff ☐
	/Defendant (check one) for the parties' minor child(ren).
	☐ Their pro rata share of day care expenses for the minor child(ren).
	An annualized abatement of \$ per month in consideration for
	the months Plaintiff / Defendant (check one) has the child(ren) ten
	or more overnights per month. Pursuant to SDCL 25-7-6.14, it shall be presumed
	that the parenting time is exercised for the purposes of the abatement.
	A deviation of \$ per month pursuant to SDCL § 25-7-6.10 () based
	on
6.	Any reasonable medical costs, including optometric, dental, or orthodontic,
	counseling, or other health care costs for the minor child(ren) which exceed
	\$250.00 in any year and are not covered by insurance shall be split between
	the parents with the Plaintiff paying $__$ % and the Defendant paying $__$ %.
	Pursuant to SDCL § 25-7-6.16, the parent with physical custody, Plaintiff or
	Defendant (<i>circle one</i>), being solely responsible for the first \$250.00 of health
	care expenses incurred for each child in any calendar year.
	T
	The child support calculation is filed herein.
7.	The child support obligation shall commence on the 1st day of
	, 20
8.	Pursuant to SDCL § 25-5-18.1, the support obligation shall continue until each
	child attains the age of eighteen or until each attains the age of nineteen, if
	the child is a full-time student in a secondary school.
9.	The obligor's current or subsequent payor of income shall be immediately
	directed to withhold amounts for current support and arrearages as specified
	herein and as provided in SDCL § 25-7A-23 and shall transmit said amount as

provided in SDCL § 24-7A-34.

10. Until otherwise notified by the Division of Child Support all payments shall be made payable to "Division of Child Support" and mailed to:

> **Division of Child Support** 700 Governor's Drive, Suite 84 Pierre, SD 57501

11.	Regarding Health Insurance:
	□ Plaintiff □ / Defendant □ (check one) shall obtain and/or maintain
	health insurance coverage for the minor child(ren) if available through
	employment or other group carrier at a reasonable cost.
	shall notify the Department of Social Services of the insurance company name,
	address, and policy number and the names of the persons covered within thirty
	days of entry of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce and shall also notify the
	Department of any changes in coverage shall
	also provide with a hard copy of the health insurance card
	setting forth the insurance company name, address, and policy number and
	the names of the persons covered within thirty days of entry of the Judgment
	and Decree of Divorce:
	OR
	$\hfill\square$ The Court finds that neither parent currently has health insurance for the
	minor child(ren). Medical insurance shall be provided for the child(ren) by a
	parent if the insurance is accessible for the child(ren) and available to a parent
	at a reasonable cost. SDCL § 25-7-6.16. The cost shall be apportioned
	between the parents. The parent providing health insurance shall notify the
	Department of Social Services of the insurance company name, address, and
	policy number and name of persons covered within thirty days and shall also
	notify the Department of any changes in coverage. The parent providing
	health insurance shall also provide the other parent with a card or copy of the
	health insurance card setting forth the insurance company name, address
	and policy number and the names of persons covered within thirty days.
12.	The parties shall retain as their separate property all the vehicles, personal

clothing and effect, all household goods, appliances and such other items

Page 4 of 6

Form UJS-322B Rev. 04/2024

	and personal property as are currently in their respective possessions, free and clear of any claim from the other. In addition, the Plaintiff shall be awarded the following property:
	The Defendant shall be awarded the following property:
3.	Retirement/Investment accounts shall be divided as follows:
4.	Any encumbrances or debts relating to or accompanying an item of personal property shall be the sole responsibility of the party retaining such property.
	The following debts shall be assumed by the Plaintiff:
	The following debts shall be assumed by the Defendant:
	All other debts shall be paid by the party incurring such debt.
5.	Regarding alimony, the Court orders: □ Neither party shall be awarded alimony; OR □

16.	Plaintiff / Defendant (check one) currently known as				
	and born as				
	shall be restored to their former name or maiden name of				
	; therefore, they shall be known hereafter				
	as				
17.	Each party shall, at the request of the other, execute and deliver any such				
	instruments as may be required to carry out the intentions and provisions of the				
	Judgment and Decree of Divorce. In the event either party shall fail to execute				
	deeds, titles, or other documents of transfer as required by this Judgment and				
	Decree shall operate as an effective transfer of that party's interest in said				
	property as set forth herein.				
18.	That SDCL § 25-4A-5 is attached as required by SDCL § 25-4A-5.1 and shall				
	become an Order of this Court.				
19.	Additional order(s):				
	, radinorial ordor(s).				
	Dated this day of, 20				
	Circuit Court Judge				
	Attest:				
	Clerk of Court				
	Deputy Clerk				
	(Seal)				

South Dakota Codified Laws
Title 25. Domestic Relations
Chapter 25-4a. Custody and Visitation Rights (Refs & Annos)

SDCL § 25-4A-5

25-4A-5. Sanctions for violation of custody or visitation decree

Effective: July 1, 2018 Currentness

If the court finds that any party has willfully violated or willfully failed to comply with any provisions of a custody or visitation decree, the court shall impose appropriate sanctions to punish the offender or to compel the offender to comply with the terms of the custody or visitation decree.

The court may enter an order clarifying the rights and responsibilities of the parents and the court's order. The court may order one or more of the following sanctions:

- (1) To require the offender to provide the other party with make up time with the child equal to the time missed with the child, due to the offender's noncompliance;
- (2) To require the offender to pay, to the other party, court costs and reasonable attorney's fees incurred as a result of the noncompliance;
- (3) To require the offender to pay a civil penalty of not more than the sum of one thousand dollars;
- (4) To require the offender to participate satisfactorily in counseling or parent education classes;
- (5) To require the offender to post bond or other security with the court conditional upon future compliance with the terms of the custody or visitation decree or any ancillary court order;
- (6) To impose a jail sentence on the offender of not more than three days; or
- (7) In the event of an aggravated violation or multiple violations, the court may modify the existing visitation or custody situation, or both of any minor child.

The provisions of this section do not prohibit the court from imposing any other sanction appropriate to the facts and circumstances of the case.

Credits

Source: SL 1994, ch 195, § 5; SL 2008, ch 125, § 1; SL 2018, ch 155, § 3.

INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM FOR PLAINTIFF'S MOTION AND ORDER FOR DISMISSAL

Please note that court staff cannot provide you with legal advice or assist you in completing these forms. The use of these forms does not guarantee you will be successful in court. It is highly encouraged that you speak with an attorney if you are needing assistance. For specific questions on the forms, you may contact the legal form helpline at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us. Additionally, for more information on South Dakota laws, you can also visit the South Dakota Legislature website.

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

This form can only be filed if the Defendant has not yet filed an Answer or Motion for Summary Judgment.

To complete this form, you will need to:

Complete the caption by filling in the name of the county you are filing in, the
judicial circuit number, Plaintiff and Defendant's names.
$\hfill \Box$ Leave the order section of the form blank for the Judge to complete.
Date and sign in front of a notary or Clerk of Court.
File the original with the Clerk of Court.
If your Motion to Dismiss is granted by the Judge, two certified copies will be provided to you. One copy of the Motion and Order will need to be mailed to the Defendant.
Once you have mailed a copy, you will need to complete the Affidavit of Mailing section and file with the Clerk of Court.

Form UJS-329 Rev. 04/2024

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA	IN CIRCUIT COURT
COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
Plaintiff	Case No.:
V.	MOTION AND ORDER FOR DISMISSAL
Defendant	
15-6-41(a). The Defendant has not filed o	ss the above-entitled matter, pursuant to SDCL an Answer or Motion for Summary Judgment. Order dismissing this case, without prejudice
	Plaintiff Signature
Sworn/affirmed before me this d	Plaintiff Name
, 20	Plaintiff Address
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court	City, State, Zip Code
My Commission Expires:	Phone Number
2	<u>ORDER</u>
Pursuant to SDCL 15-6-41(a), this a	ction is hereby DISMISSED without prejudice.
Dated thisday of	, 20
	BY THE COURT:
ATTEST:	
, <u>-</u>	Circuit Court Judge
Clerk of Court	
Deputy Clerk	
(SEAL)	

Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court

My Commission Expires:

City, State, Zip Code

Phone Number

INSTRUCTIONS FOR JOINT MOTION AND ORDER FOR DISMISSAL FORM

Please note that court staff cannot provide you with legal advice or assist you in completing these forms. The use of these forms does not guarantee you will be successful in court. It is highly encouraged that you speak with an attorney if you are needing assistance. For specific questions on the forms, you may contact the legal form helpline at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us. Additionally, for more information on South Dakota laws, you can also visit the South Dakota Legislature website.

Important Notice:

In the event the parties resolve their differences prior to the entry of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce and want to stop the divorce proceeding, they may request the Court for an Order dismissing the divorce action, without prejudice.

To complete this form, you will need to:

Complete the caption by filling in the name of the county you are filing in, the judicial circuit number, Plaintiff and Defendant's names.
Provide your reasoning for the request to dismiss the action on the line provided.
Both parties must sign and date the Motion in front of a notary or Clerk of Court.
Leave the Order section on page two blank as the Judge will date and sign the Order.
File the original with the Clerk of Court. Retain a copy for your records.
Once the Judge has ruled on your motion you will be provided with two certified

COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
Plaintiff v.	Case No.: JOINT MOTION AND ORDER FOR DISMISSAL
Defendant	_
	ned Plaintiff and Defendant and respectfully ssing this action without prejudice based on the
Dated this day of Sworn/affirmed before me this d of, 20_	lay
OI, 20	 Plaintiff Signature
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court My Commission Expires:	Plaintiff Name
Dated this day of	, 20
worn/affirmed before me this do	αy
of, 20	
	Defendant Signature
lotary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court	
My Commission Expires:	Defendant Name

ORDER

This matter having come before the Court by the parties Joint Motion for Dismissal,

this action is hereby DISMISSED wit		
Dated thisday of	, 20	
ATTEST:	Circuit Court Judge	
Clerk of Court		
Deputy Clerk (SEAL)		