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These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning 
divorce matters.  You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website.  If 
you have any legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an 
attorney.  Court staff are unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion.  
For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help 
Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.   

 
Before You Begin  

 
If you are the spouse initiating the divorce, you will be designated as the Plaintiff on all 
forms.  Your spouse will be referred to as the Defendant.  This form serves as a simple 
checklist outlining the steps for the Plaintiff in a divorce proceeding. Each form 
mentioned in this checklist will include detailed instructions. 

 
If you have already received a Summons and Complaint, consult the Checklist for 
Divorce with Minor Children (Defendant’s Checklist).   
 
Divorce actions can only be filed in the county in which you or your spouse reside.  

 
Remember that all original copies of any form must be filed with the Clerk of Court, who 
will provide you with file stamped copies.  Before submitting anything to a Sheriff, 
process server, or opposing party, make sure to retain a copy for your own records. 
 
Starting a Divorce  

 
 Complete a Case Filing Statement (UJS-232) with both your demographic 

information and your spouse’s demographic information.  It is important to know 
that your social security number and date of birth are required when filing a divorce 
action with children. 

 Complete the Summons (with Minor Children) (UJS-311) and attach a copy of the 
current South Dakota Parenting Time Guidelines (UJS-302) to the back. 

 Complete the Complaint (with Minor Children) (UJS-312) and sign in front of a 
notary or the Clerk of Court. 

 Complete the Financial Affidavit (UJS-023) and sign in front of a notary or the Clerk 
of Court. 

 File the original copies of each of the forms listed above with the Clerk of Court 
along with the required $95 filing fee. 

□ If you cannot afford the $95 filing fee, please complete the Motion to Waive 
Filing Fee (UJS-022) and submit with the above forms in lieu of the $95. 

 

mailto:ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us
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 Serve the Defendant with the Summons, attached South Dakota Parenting Time 
Guidelines, the Complaint, and a blank Case Filing Statement (UJS-232). 

□ For more detailed instructions on how to serve the Defendant, please refer 
to the Instruction for Service of Summons and Complaint with Minor 
Children (UJS317). 

 File the proof of service with the Clerk of Court (ex. Sheriff Return, Certificate of 
Service, etc.) 

 
PLEASE NOTE: CERTIFIED MAIL IS NOT CONSIDERED PROPER SERVICE 

 
South Dakota Parenting Course  

 
According to South Dakota law, all parties involved in an action related to child 
custody or parenting time, must complete a court-approved parenting course within 
sixty days of being served with the Summons and Complaint.  Failure to comply may 
result in delays in finalizing the divorce proceedings. 

 
1. Course Requirement: Both parents must complete the court-approved parenting 

course.  The course aims to educate participants about the impact of divorce 
proceedings on children. 

2. Waiver or Delay:  Participation in the course can only be waived or delayed if: 
a. Good cause is shown. 
b. The individual has previously completed a court-approved course within the 

last five years. 
3. Course Information:  For more details about court-approved parenting classes, 

visit the South Dakota Unified Judicial website:   
https://ujs.sd.gov/Parenting_Education/Default.aspx 

4. Requesting a Waiver:  If you believe you have good cause to waive the required 
parenting course, complete and file the Affidavit on Court-Approved Parenting 
Course (UJS-364) form and file the original with the Clerk of Court. 

 
Stipulated Divorce  

 
If/When both parties come to an agreement regarding the terms and conditions of 
their divorce, it is referred to as a stipulated divorce.  If such an agreement has been 
reached, both parties are required to complete and file the following forms: 

 
 Stipulation and Settlement Agreement with Minor Children (UJS-325).  All pages 

must be initialed and signed by both parties in front of a notary or the Clerk of 
Court. 

https://ujs.sd.gov/Parenting_Education/Default.aspx
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 Affidavit of Plaintiff and Defendant as to Jurisdiction and Grounds for Divorce 
(UJS-319B).  Both parties need to sign this affidavit in front of a notary or the Clerk 
of Court. 

 File the originals of the completed forms with the Clerk of Court. 
  

Finalizing a Stipulated Divorce  
 

If both parties have signed the stipulation, filed it with the Clerk of Court, and the sixty 
day waiting period has elapsed since the Defendant was served with the Summons 
and Complaint, you may proceed as follows: 

 
 Complete form UJS/DSS-089 and file with the Clerk of Court. 
 Complete the Judgment and Decree of Divorce Stipulation and Agreement with 

Children (UJS-326B):  Fill out this form and either file the original with the Clerk of 
Court or bring it to your hearing if one is required.  Note that some information 
may need to be filled in prior to submitting it to the Court.  Carefully read the 
instructions and complete the form as directed.  Please contact the Clerk of 
Court to determine whether a hearing is required or not. 

 Judgment and Decree of Divorce Signing:  If granted, the Judge will sign the 
Judgment and Decree of Divorce.   

  
Notice of Entry of Judgment and Decree of Divorce  

 
Once the Judge has signed the Judgment and Decree of Divorce, the Court will 
provide you with signed certified copies.  To finalize the process, follow these steps: 

 
 Complete and File the Notice of Entry:  You may obtain this form from the Clerk 

of Court.  Depending on the county, either the Clerk of Court will complete the 
form for you or provide you with the form for completion.  Check with the Clerk 
of Court in your county. 

 Complete the Affidavit of Mailing:  You may obtain this form from the Clerk of 
Court.  Again, depending on the county, either the Clerk of Court will complete 
it or provide you with the form for completion.  Check with the Clerk of Court in 
your county. 

 File the originals of both the Notice of Entry and the Affidavit of Mailing with the 
Clerk of Court. 

 Mail a copy of the Notice of Entry, the Affidavit of Mailing, and the signed, 
certified copy of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce (UJS326B) to the 
opposing party. 

    
*Steps under “Finalizing a Stipulated Divorce” can be completed by either party *  



PLAINTIFF’S CHECKLIST FOR DIVORCE WITH MINOR CHILDREN  
 

                                                   Page 4 of 5 Form UJS-307B 
   Rev. 04/2024 

  
Default Divorce  

 
If it has been at least sixty days since the Defendant was served with the Summons and 
Complaint, and they have failed to file an Answer, you may request a Default Divorce 
by following these steps:   

 
 Complete form UJS/DSS-089. 
 Complete the Affidavit of Default (UJS-323A) along with the Application for 

Judgment and Decree of Divorce Default (UJS-323B). 
 Complete the Affidavit of Military Status (UJS-306). 
 Complete the Affidavit of Mailing (UJS-323D).  Mark which forms are being 

mailed.  
 File the originals of all documents with the Clerk of Court. 
 Mail a copy of the above-listed forms to the opposing party. 

   
Hearing on Application for Default Divorce   

 
If a hearing on the Application for Default Divorce is required, you will need to complete 
the following steps as well: 

 
 Complete the Notice of Hearing (UJS-323C).  The Clerk of Court or Court 

Administration will provide you with a hearing date and time. 
 Complete an Affidavit of Mailing (UJS-323D).  Mark which forms are being 

mailed.  
 File the originals with the Clerk of Court. 
 Mail a copy of the documents to the opposing party. 
 Attend the hearing date and time that was provided to you for the Notice of 

Hearing.  Bring a completed copy of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce with 
Children (Default) (UJS-322B) for the Judge’s review.  

  
Default Divorce Granted  

 
If the Court grants your Application for Default Judgment, a signed, certified copy of 
the Judgment and Decree of Divorce (Default) will be provided to you, and you will 
need to do the following:  

 
 Complete and File the Notice of Entry:  You may obtain this form from the Clerk 

of Court.  Depending on the county, either the Clerk will complete the form for 
you or provide you with the form for completion.  Check with the Clerk of Court 
in your county. 



PLAINTIFF’S CHECKLIST FOR DIVORCE WITH MINOR CHILDREN  
 

                                                   Page 5 of 5 Form UJS-307B 
   Rev. 04/2024 

 Complete the Affidavit of Mailing:  You may obtain this form from the Clerk of 
Court.  Again, depending on the county, either the Clerk will complete it or 
provide you with the form for completion.  Check with the Clerk of Court in 
your county. 

 File the originals of both the Notice of Entry and the Affidavit of Mailing with 
the Clerk of Court. 

 Mail a copy of the Notice of Entry, the Affidavit of Mailing, and the signed, 
certified copy of Judgment and Decree of Divorce (Default) to the opposing 
party. 

    
Contested Divorce  

 
A contested divorce arises when a couple cannot find common ground regarding the 
decisions necessary to terminate their marriage.  In such cases, they proceed to Court, 
where a Judge adjudicates the divorce-related matters.  The forms contained in this 
packet do not cover contested divorces.  This would be when the parties are 
encouraged to seek legal representation.   
 
For more information on your case or to track events you may register as a user on 
eCourts, at:  https://ecourts.sd.gov/Account/Login.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2f.  

https://ecourts.sd.gov/Account/Login.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2f
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RESOURCES AVAILABLE 
  

For Mediation Services:  
 
A list of court-approved mediators is maintained on the UJS website at 
ujs.sd.gov/Resources/ProgramsServices.aspx 
  
For Parenting Coordinator Services:  
 
A list of approved parenting coordinators is maintained on the UJS website at 
ujs.sd.gov/Resources/ProgramsServices.aspx 
  
For Assistance with UJS-Approved Legal Forms found at http://ujs.sd.gov:   
 
Contact the UJS Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email Legal Research at 
UJSSRLHelp@ujs.state.sd.us.  
  
Legal Aid Services of South Dakota:  
 
Residents who meet financial eligibility guidelines can get free legal aid services in SD.  
To determine if you are eligible, contact one of the following:  
  
Dakota Plains Legal Services, Inc.    
https://www.dpls.org/contact-us  
     
        
       
  
   
Access to Justice, Inc.  
 
This is a statewide program designed to supplement the legal aid programs in SD.  Residents must 
be income eligible to qualify for legal services at a reduced rate or at no cost to you. Clients are 
responsible for paying case costs.  Access to Justice Inc. also offers clinics periodically to assist self-
represented litigants in filling out UJS approved legal forms.    
  
Access to Justice Inc  
State Bar of South Dakota  
222 E Capitol Ave #3  
Pierre, SD 57501  
Phone:  1-855-287-3510      Or Visit:  https://www.statebarofsouthdakota.com/access-to-justice/ 
 

 

East River Legal Services, Inc.  
335 N Main Ave. Suite 200 
Sioux Falls, SD 57104 
1-605-336-9230 
East River Legal Services – Advancing Equal Access 
to Justice for our most vulnerable citizens. 
(erlservices.org) 

https://ujs.sd.gov/Resources/ProgramsServices.aspx
https://ujs.sd.gov/Resources/ProgramsServices.aspx
http://ujs.sd.gov/
http://ujs.sd.gov/
mailto:UJSSRLHelp@ujs.state.sd.us
https://www.dpls.org/contact-us
https://www.statebarofsouthdakota.com/access-to-justice/
https://erlservices.org/
https://erlservices.org/
https://erlservices.org/
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For Assistance with Complaints Regarding Businesses:  
 
Office of the Attorney General  
Division of Consumer Protection  
1302 E. Hwy 14, Suite 3  
Pierre, SD 57501  
  
Phone:  (605) 773-4400  
Toll Free: 1-800-300-1986 (in state only)  
Or Visit: http://atg.sd.gov/Consumers.aspx   
  
  
For Assistance in Finding a Lawyer:  

 

The State Bar of South Dakota offers a listing of lawyers and firms in South Dakota and can be found 
at the following: https://findalaerinsd.com/.  These are private practitioners who will charge for their 
services.  
  
State Bar of South Dakota  
Toll Free: 1-800-952-2333  
Phone: 605-224-7554 
  

  

For further information regarding the court system in South 
Dakota or to obtain legal forms, please visit the South Dakota 

Unified Judicial System website at http://ujs.sd.gov. 

  

 

  

  

  
The South Dakota    

Unified Judicial System   
(605) 773 -  3474   

  Rev.  04/2024   

http://atg.sd.gov/Consumers.aspx
http://atg.sd.gov/Consumers.aspx
https://findalaerinsd.com/
http://ujs.sd.gov/
http://ujs.sd.gov/
http://ujs.sd.gov/


CASE FILING STATEMENT – Information Only; Not Retained in Case Records 
 

Provide the Case File No. for the record you are filing into or the Case Type if initiating a new action: ______________________ 
   *A list of case types and party roles can be found here: https://ujs.sd.gov/Attorneys/FormsDocumentation.aspx  
 
Social Security Numbers (not Driver’s License Numbers) must be provided for divorce, child support, & paternity cases, 42 USC 
666(a)(13)(B).  All filers are required to provide the SSN or DL# for each of their participants regardless of the case type.   
Business entities must provide the EIN number in lieu of SSN or DL#.  
 
INFORMATION FOR PLAINTIFF/PETITIONER/APPLICANT: 
 
________________________ 
Last/Business Name 

 
_________________________ 
First Name 

 
________________________ 
Middle 

 
________________________ 
Suffix 

 
________________________ 
Physical Address 
      Check if Same as Mailing 
_______________________ 
Mailing Address 

 
________________________ 
City 
 
_________________________ 
City 

 
________________________ 
State 
 
_________________________ 
State 

 
________________________ 
Zip 
 
_________________________ 
Zip 

 
________________________ 
Home 

 
_________________________ 
Work 

 
_________________________ 
Cell 

 

 
________________________ 
Social Security No. 

 
___________     
Date of Birth      

 
_________________      _____ 
Driver’s License No.      State 

 
_________________________ 
Employer ID (Business) 

 
Attorney: 
________________________ 
Last Name 

 
 
_________________________ 
First Name 

 
 
_________________________ 
State Bar ID No. 

 

 
________________________ 
Mailing Address 

 
_________________________ 
City 

 
_________________________ 
State 

 
_________________________ 
Zip 

 
________________________ 
Phone 

   

 
INFORMATION FOR DEFENDANT/RESPONDENT/MINOR/DECEDENT/PERSON IN NEED OF PROTECTION: 
 
________________________ 
Last/Business Name 

 
_________________________ 
First Name 

 
________________________ 
Middle 

 
_______________________ 
Suffix 

 
________________________ 
Physical Address 
      Check if Same as Mailing 
________________________ 
Mailing Address 

 
________________________ 
City 
 
_________________________ 
City 

 
________________________ 
State 
 
_________________________ 
State 

 
________________________ 
Zip 
 
________________________ 
Zip 

 
________________________ 
Home 

 
_________________________ 
Work 

 
________________________ 
Cell 

 

 
________________________ 
Social Security No. 

 
___________     ___________ 
Date of Birth      Date of Death 

 
_________________      _____ 
Driver’s License No.      State 

 
_________________________ 
Employer ID (Business) 

 
Attorney: 
________________________ 
Last Name 

 
 
_________________________ 
First Name 

 
 
_________________________ 
State Bar ID No. 

 

 
________________________ 
Mailing Address 

 
_________________________ 
City 

 
_________________________ 
State 

 
_________________________ 
Zip 

 
________________________ 
Phone 
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Provide the Case File No. for the record you are filing into or the Case Type if initiating a new action: ______________________ 
   *A list of case types and party roles can be found here: https://ujs.sd.gov/Attorneys/FormsDocumentation.aspx  
 
Social Security Numbers (not Driver’s License Numbers) must be provided for divorce, child support, & paternity cases, 42 USC 
666(a)(13)(B).  All filers are required to provide the SSN or DL# for each of their participants regardless of the case type.   
Business entities must provide the EIN number in lieu of SSN or DL#.  
 
INFORMATION FOR PLAINTIFF/PETITIONER/APPLICANT: 
 
________________________ 
Last/Business Name 

 
_________________________ 
First Name 

 
________________________ 
Middle 

 
________________________ 
Suffix 

 
________________________ 
Physical Address 
      Check if Same as Mailing 
_______________________ 
Mailing Address 

 
________________________ 
City 
 
_________________________ 
City 

 
________________________ 
State 
 
_________________________ 
State 

 
________________________ 
Zip 
 
_________________________ 
Zip 

 
________________________ 
Home 

 
_________________________ 
Work 

 
_________________________ 
Cell 

 

 
________________________ 
Social Security No. 

 
___________     
Date of Birth      

 
_________________      _____ 
Driver’s License No.      State 

 
_________________________ 
Employer ID (Business) 

 
Attorney: 
________________________ 
Last Name 

 
 
_________________________ 
First Name 

 
 
_________________________ 
State Bar ID No. 

 

 
________________________ 
Mailing Address 

 
_________________________ 
City 

 
_________________________ 
State 

 
_________________________ 
Zip 

 
________________________ 
Phone 

   

 
INFORMATION FOR DEFENDANT/RESPONDENT/MINOR/DECEDENT/PERSON IN NEED OF PROTECTION: 
 
________________________ 
Last/Business Name 

 
_________________________ 
First Name 

 
________________________ 
Middle 

 
_______________________ 
Suffix 

 
________________________ 
Physical Address 
      Check if Same as Mailing 
________________________ 
Mailing Address 

 
________________________ 
City 
 
_________________________ 
City 

 
________________________ 
State 
 
_________________________ 
State 

 
________________________ 
Zip 
 
________________________ 
Zip 

 
________________________ 
Home 

 
_________________________ 
Work 

 
________________________ 
Cell 

 

 
________________________ 
Social Security No. 

 
___________     ___________ 
Date of Birth      Date of Death 

 
_________________      _____ 
Driver’s License No.      State 

 
_________________________ 
Employer ID (Business) 

 
Attorney: 
________________________ 
Last Name 

 
 
_________________________ 
First Name 

 
 
_________________________ 
State Bar ID No. 

 

 
________________________ 
Mailing Address 

 
_________________________ 
City 

 
_________________________ 
State 

 
_________________________ 
Zip 

 
________________________ 
Phone 
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INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM FOR SUMMONS (WITH MINOR CHILDREN) 
 

FORM UJS-311 
REV. 04/2024 

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce 
matters.  You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website.  If you have any 
legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney.  Court staff are 
unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion.  For specific questions related 
to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS 
staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.   

 
To complete this form, you will need to: 
 
 Complete the caption of the Summons. 

□ County (insert county name). 
□ Judicial Circuit (insert circuit number).  You may find your judicial circuit 

number at the following web address. 
 https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx  

□ Plaintiff (insert your name). 
□ Defendant (insert spouses name). 
□ Case Number will be provided to you by the Clerk of Court at the time of 

filing. 
 

 Date and sign. 
 

 File this form along with the Complaint (with Minor Children) (UJS-312), Case Filing 
Statement (UJS-232), the required filing fee, and Financial Affidavit (UJS-023) with the 
Clerk of Court.  
 

 It is very important that you read and follow the Temporary Restraining Order that 
becomes automatic when you file for divorce and the other party has been served. 
Both parties are required to obey it.  Violation of any of these terms could subject 
you to penalties and delay your divorce.  Please read it carefully.  
 

mailto:ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us
https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA 
 
COUNTY OF______________________________ 
 

IN CIRCUIT COURT 
 

__________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 
 

 
 
__________________________________________ 
 Plaintiff                                                                     
 
v. 
 
__________________________________________                                                                
Defendant 
 

 
 
Case No.: __________________________ 
 

SUMMONS 
(WITH MINOR CHILDREN) 

 

 
TO THE ABOVE-NAMED DEFENDANT: 
 

 YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED and required to answer the Complaint with Minor 
Children of the Plaintiff, a copy of which is herewith served upon you, and to serve the 
Plaintiff with a copy of your Answer, or other proper response, within thirty days from 
the date of the service of the Summons upon you, not counting the day of service. 
 
 IF YOU FAIL TO DO SO, judgment by default may be taken against you for the 
relief demanded in the Complaint sixty days from the date of the service of this 
Summons and Complaint with Minor Children, not counting the day of service. 
 

NOTICE 
 

 South Dakota law provides that upon the filing and service of the Summons and 
Complaint with Minor Children on the Defendant, a Temporary Restraining Order shall 
be in effect against both parties until the final decree is entered, the Complaint with 
Minor Children is dismissed or until further order of the Court.  Either party may apply to 
the Court for further temporary orders or modification or revocation of this Order. 
 

TEMPORARY RESTRAINING ORDER 
 
 PER SDCL § 25-4-33.1, BY ORDER OF COURT, YOU AND YOUR SPOUSE ARE: 
 

 (1) Restrained from transferring, encumbering, concealing or in any way 
dissipating or disposing of any marital assets, without the written consent 
of the other party or an order of the Court, except as may be necessary 
in the usual course of business or for the necessities of life.  You are to notify 
the other party of any proposed extraordinary expenditures and to 
account to the Court for all extraordinary expenditures made after the 
Temporary Restraining Order is in effect; 
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 (2) Restrained from molesting or disturbing the peace of the other party;  
 (3) Restrained from removing any minor child of the parties from the state 

without the written consent of the other party or an order of the Court; 
and 

 (4) Restrained from making any changes to any insurance coverage for the 
parties or any child of the parties without the written consent of the other 
party or an order of the Court unless the change under the applicable 
insurance coverage increases the benefits, adds additional property, 
persons, or perils to be covered, or is required by the insurer. 

 
 

INITIAL CUSTODY ORDER 
 

 
 Pursuant to SDCL § 25-4A-11 et seq., upon service of this Summons, the attached 
South Dakota Parenting Guidelines (Form UJS-302) become an Order of this Court.  
Except as provided in SDCL § 33-6-10, any minor children of this marriage shall remain 
in the custody of the parent who has been the primary caregiver for the minor children 
for the majority of time in the twelve months preceding the filing of the Summons and 
Complaint with Minor Children, unless the parties otherwise agree.  The guidelines are 
subject to any provision established by a South Dakota state court in the following:  a 
temporary or permanent domestic protection order, an order arising out of an abuse 
or neglect proceeding, a bond condition arising out of a criminal case, and an order 
in any other proceeding affecting child custody or support.  SDCL § 25-4A-14. 
 

 The attached guidelines apply and shall continue in effect unless the parties 
agree or the Court otherwise orders.  Imposition of these standard guidelines creates 
no presumption as to who may be awarded custody at any hearing.  Per SDCL § 25-
4A-12, any agreement by the parties for visitation other than the standard guidelines 
must be in writing, signed by both parties, and filed with the Court.  The agreed plan 
shall be approved by court order and replace the standard guidelines or any plan 
previously filed. 
 

 Per SDCL § 25-4A-13, if either party objects to the implementation of the South 
Dakota Parenting Guidelines (Form UJS-302) as the initial custody arrangement, the 
objecting party shall file an objection with the Clerk of Court.  The Court shall order a 
hearing which shall be held not later than thirty days after the date of the objection.  
The Court shall then issue its temporary custody and visitation order after considering 
the best interest of the child(ren) consistent with the provisions of SDCL § 25-4-45.   
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IF EITHER SPOUSE VIOLATES ANY OF THESE PROVISIONS, THAT SPOUSE MAY BE FOUND TO 
BE IN CONTEMPT OF COURT AND MAY BE ORDERED TO PAY COSTS AND EXPENSES, 
INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO THE ATTORNEY FEES OF THE OTHER SPOUSE. 
 
 
  

Dated this _____ day of _________________________, 20_____. 
 
 

 
 _____________________________________ 

Plaintiff’s Signature 

_____________________________________ 
Plaintiff’s Printed Name 

_____________________________________ 
Address 

_____________________________________ 
City/State/Zip 

_____________________________________ 
Phone No. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Forms for representing yourself in a divorce action can be found on the UJS self-help 
 website at: https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/onlineforms.aspx 

https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/onlineforms.aspx
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SOUTH DAKOTA PARENTING GUIDELINES 

  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

Prepared by the 2021 South Dakota  
Commission on Parenting Guidelines 

 
 
 

The South Dakota Parenting Guidelines are located on the  
South Dakota Legal Self-Help Center found at www.ujslawhelp.sd.gov   

 
 

For more information, contact: 
South Dakota Unified Judicial System 

State Court Administrator’s Office 
500 E. Capitol Avenue 

Pierre, SD  57501 
605-773-3474 

 
 
 
 
 
 

The Parenting Guidelines are not copyrighted and may be reproduced without prior permission of the South 
Dakota Unified Judicial System, State Court Administrator’s Office. 
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SOUTH DAKOTA PARENTING GUIDELINES 

 
Enforcement. 
These Guidelines are required to be served with the Summons and Complaint in a divorce, paternity 
action or any other custody action or proceeding.  See https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/onlineforms.aspx under 
divorce or paternity actions for instructions on how to initiate an action (service of summons).   
 
If the parents are able to agree to a schedule other than the guidelines, these Guidelines should be used 
as a minimum direction in creating the parenting time plan.  Parents should agree to parenting times 
that they find reasonable and in the best interest of their children and the Parenting Guidelines are not 
intended to prevent such agreements. 
 
If the parents are unable to agree on a parenting plan, these Guidelines become mandatory as the 
parenting plan and are enforceable as a court order upon initiation of a divorce or court action 
involving custody.  SDCL 25-4A-11.  If you disagree with the use of these Guidelines as your parenting 
time plan, either parent has the right to object.  Your written objection shall be filed with the Clerk.  
After it is filed, a hearing will be held and the Judge will determine your parenting time schedule.  
Instructions and this objection form can be found at https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/defendants.aspx. 
 
Instructions and forms regarding enforcement can be found at 
https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/enforcement.aspx. 
 
Guideline 1.  For Parents Who Have Children Under Age 5.  
 
1.1. Children Under Age 5 Generally.   
 

О Newborns (birth to 3 months) and infants (3 – 6 months) have a great need for 
continuous contact with their primary caregiver, but also frequent contact with both 
parents who provide a sense of security, nurturing and predictability.   

 
О Generally, overnights for very young children is not recommended unless the parents are 

both very closely attached to the children, are able to personally provide primary care, 
the children are adaptable, and the parents are cooperative.   

 
О Older children are able to tolerate more and longer separations from one parent or the 

other. 
 

The following Guidelines for children under age 5 are designed to take into account childhood 
developmental milestones.  Since children mature at different rates, these may need to be adjusted to 
fit the children’s individual circumstances.   
 
1.2. Birth until 3 Months.  Three, 2-hour parenting time periods per week and one weekend parenting 
time period for 6 hours.  In situations where both parents have been engaged in an ongoing caregiving 

https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/onlineforms.aspx
https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/defendants.aspx
https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/enforcement.aspx
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routine with a nursing child, overnights are allowed to continue as much as possible to provide the same 
caregiving arrangement to the child and maintain stability for the child.  If applicable, breastfeeding shall 
be accommodated, but the parents must cooperate in working out alternatives.  See 1.8 below. 
 
1.3.  3 – 6 Months. Recognizing the amount of time each parent spent with the children prior to the 
parents’ separation and/or since that time, alternative parenting plans are recommended: 
 
(1) Three, 3-hour custodial periods per week and one weekend day for 6 hours.  If applicable, breast 

feeding shall be accommodated but the parents must cooperate in working out alternatives; or 
 
(2) Three, 3-hour custodial periods per week and one overnight on a weekend not to exceed 18 

hours, if the parent is capable of personally providing primary care.  See exceptions in Section 1.8 
below; or 

 
(3) In situations where both parents have been engaged in an ongoing caregiving routine with a 

child, overnights are allowed to continue as much as possible to provide the same caregiving 
arrangement to the children and maintain stability for the children.   

 
1.4.  6 – 12 Months. Recognizing the amount of time each parent spent with the children prior to the 
parents’ separation and/or since that time, alternative parenting times are recommended: 
 
(1) Three, 4-hour parenting time periods per week and one weekend day for 6 hours; or 
 
(2) Three, 4-hour parenting time periods per week and one overnight on a weekend not to exceed 

18 hours, if the child is not breastfeeding and the parent is capable of personally providing 
primary care; or 

 
(3) Children spend time in alternate homes, but spends significantly more time in one parent’s home 

and no more than 1-2 overnights spaced regularly throughout the week at the other parent’s 
home; or 

 
(4) In situations where both parents have been engaged in an ongoing caregiving routine with a 

child, overnights are allowed to continue as much as possible to provide the same caregiving 
arrangement to the children and maintain stability for the children.   

 
1.5.  12 – 36 Months.  Recognizing the amount of time each parent spent with the children prior to the 
parents’ separation and/or since that time, alternative parenting times are recommended: 
 
(1) Three, 8-hour parenting time periods per week on a predictable schedule; or 
 
(2) Three, 8-hour parenting time periods per week on a predictable schedule and one overnight per 

week not to exceed 18 hours; or 
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(3) Children spends time in alternate homes, but with significantly more time in one parent’s home 
with 1-2 overnights spaced regularly throughout the week.  This arrangement requires adaptable 
children; or 

 
(4) In situations where both parents have been engaged in an ongoing caregiving routine with the 

children (nursing or otherwise), overnights are allowed to continue as much as possible to 
provide the same caregiving arrangement to the children and maintain stability for the children.   

 
1.6.  3 Years – 5 Years. Recognizing the amount of time each parent spent with the children prior to the 
parents’ separation and/or since that time, alternative parenting times are recommended: 
 
(1) One overnight parenting time period not to exceed 24 hours and two additional 8-hour parenting 

time periods each week, separate from the overnight, with the children returning to the other 
parent’s home at least 1 hour before bedtime; or 

 
(2) Two to three overnights at one home, spaced throughout the week, the remaining time at the 

other parent’s home.  This arrangement requires adaptable children; or 
 
(3) In situations where both parents have been engaged in an ongoing caregiving routine with the 

children, overnights are allowed to continue as much as possible to provide the same caregiving 
arrangement to the children and maintain stability for the children.   

 
If the parents cannot agree on which provision shall apply in sections 1.2 through 1.6, the parties shall 
use option 1 until further order of the court.  Absent special circumstances as determined by the court,  
parenting time shall not decrease from one age category to the next.  
 
1.7.  Children in Day Care.  In families where children are in day care before and/or after parental 
separation, the children may be able to tolerate more time with each parent earlier than their specific 
age group indicates above because the children are accustomed to separations from both parents.   
 
1.8.  Breastfeeding Children. – Parents must be sensitive to the special needs of breastfeeding children. 
Children’s basic sleeping, feeding, and waking cycles should be maintained to limit disruption in the 
children’s routine. Forcibly changing these routines due to the upheaval of parental disagreement is 
detrimental to the physical health and emotional well-being of the children. On the other hand, it is 
important that the children be able to bond with both parents.  

 
a. For children being exclusively breastfed, the nursing child can still have frequent 

parenting time with the other parent. The amount of time will be guided by/subject to 
the infant’s feeding schedule, progressing to more time as the child grows older. Both 
parents should be mindful that a feeding may occur, and the child may return to time 
with the other parent after the feeding.  
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b. Where both parents have been engaged in an ongoing caregiving routine with a nursing 
child, the same caregiving arrangement should be continued as much as possible to 
maintain stability for the children.  
 

c. If the other parent has been caring for the children overnight or for twenty-four hour 
periods while the nursing mother sleeps or works, that arrangement should/shall 
continue.  
 

d. A mother may not use breastfeeding to deprive the other parent of time with the 
children. If, for example, a nursing mother uses day care or a babysitter for the children, 
the same accommodations (i.e., bottle feeding with breast milk or formula, or increased 
time between breast feeding sessions) used with the day care provider or babysitter will 
be used with the other parent, if the other parent is capable of personally providing the 
same caregiving.  

 
1.9.  Holidays.  For children aged 0-5 years, when the parents live and/or celebrate the holiday in the 
same or a nearby community, the parents shall alternate the following holidays in the chart below.  Prior 
to a child’s 5th birthday, holiday parenting time shall not exceed the longest period of parenting time 
currently being exercised and shall be scheduled by the parent exercising holiday time.  If the parents 
cannot otherwise agree, the holiday time shall be exercised within the time frames provided in the chart 
below not to exceed the longest period of parenting time currently being exercised.  It is recommended 
that the parents communicate two weeks in advance about who is exercising what time period for the 
holidays set forth below.   Parenting time, however, shall not be withheld solely for failure to abide by 
this two-week recommendation. 
  

Holiday Details Even-
Numbered 

Years 

Odd-
Numbered 

Years 
Martin Luther King, Jr. 
Day weekend 

5:00 p.m. Friday – 8:00 a.m. Tuesday Parent 2 Parent 1 

President’s Day 
weekend 

5:00 p.m. Friday – 8:00 a.m. Tuesday Parent 1 Parent 2 

Easter weekend 8:00 a.m. Friday – 8:00 a.m. Monday Parent 2 Parent 1 
Mother’s Day 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 a.m. the following day Parent 1 Parent 1 
Memorial Day 5:00 p.m. Friday – 8:00 a.m. Tuesday  Parent 2 Parent 1 
Juneteenth (6/19) 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 a.m. the following day Parent 1 Parent 2 
Father’s Day 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 a.m. the following day Parent 2 Parent 2 
4th of July 5:00 p.m. July 3rd – 5:00 p.m. July 5th  Parent 1 Parent 2 
Labor Day 5:00 p.m. Friday – 8:00 a.m. Tuesday Parent 1 Parent 2 
Native American Day 5:00 p.m. Friday – 8:00 a.m. Tuesday Parent 2 Parent 1 
Halloween 3:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. Parent 1 Parent 2 
Thanksgiving 8:00 a.m. Thursday – 5:00 p.m. Sunday Parent 2 Parent 1 
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Christmas Eve 8:00 a.m. Christmas Eve – 8:00 a.m. Christmas Day Parent 2 Parent 1 
Christmas Day 8:00 a.m. Christmas Day – 8:00 a.m. December 26th Parent 1 Parent 2 

Child’s Birthday Ages 0-3 = 4 hours 
Ages 3-5 = 8 a.m. on date of birthday – 8:00 a.m. the 
next day 
(If the birthday falls on a holiday, the parenting time 
for the birthday shall take place the day before) 

Parent 2 Parent 1 

Parent 2’s Birthday Ages 0-3 = 4 hours 
Ages 3-5 = 8 a.m. on date of birthday – 8:00 a.m. the 
next day 
(If the birthday falls on a holiday, the parenting time 
for the birthday shall take place the day before) 

Parent 2 Parent 2 

Parent 1’s Birthday Ages 0-3 = 4 hours 
Ages 3-5 = 8 a.m. on date of birthday – 8:00 a.m. the 
next day 
(If the birthday falls on a holiday, the parenting time 
for the birthday shall take place the day before) 

Parent 1 Parent 1 

 
1.10.  Vacation With Children 3 – 5 Years Old.  Upon 30 days advance written notice (by mail, email or 
text message), each parent is entitled to two separate periods of uninterrupted time for up to 5 days 
each with their children each year, not to conflict with the other parent’s holiday parenting time. 
Parents are encouraged to coordinate vacation plans.  The parents shall consider extending the 5 day 
time periods to 7 days if the children are adaptable and accustomed to spending time with both parents. 
 
1.11.  Long-Distance Parenting.  When substantial distance between the parents exists, the ability to 
exercise these Guidelines is compromised. The parents will need to create a developmentally 
appropriate parenting plan for their unique situation.  When parenting time is unable to be frequent, 
parents are encouraged to use video/audio contact to build and/or maintain the bond between the 
children and parent who lives afar.  
 
Guideline 2. For Parents Who Have Children Age 5 and Older And Reside No 
More Than 200 Miles Apart.  
 
2.1.  Weekends.  In most cases, it is a positive experience for the children to have both parents involved 
in taking the children to and from school.  Parenting time shall consist of alternate weekends starting 
Friday upon the release of school or 3:15 p.m., whichever is applicable, and continuing until the return 
to school Monday or 8:00 a.m., whichever is applicable.  Parenting time shall be an equivalent period of 
time if a parent is unavailable on weekends and the children do not miss school.  
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2.2.  Mid-Week.  If time and distance allow, parenting time shall include one mid-week overnight every 
week, in addition to the weekends in 2.1 above, with the children.  If the parents cannot otherwise 
agree, this mid-week time shall be on Wednesdays and shall start when the children are released from 
school or at 3:15 p.m., whichever is applicable, and concludes when the children are returned to school 
the next day or at 8:00 a.m., whichever is applicable.  All transportation for the midweek parenting time 
is the responsibility of the parent exercising the parenting time. 
 
2.3.  Summer Break.  The children shall be with each parent for one-half of the school summer break.  
Summer break begins the day after school is released and ends the day before school commences.  The 
parent with whom the children reside the majority of the time during the school year has priority to 
have the children the week before school resumes, which counts as part of that parent’s summer break.  
At the option of the other parent, his/her parenting time during summer break may be consecutive or it 
may be split into 2 or more blocks of time.  This parent shall provide a minimum of 30 days advance 
notice of the dates selected.   
 
If the children go to summer school and it is impossible for a parent to schedule time other than during 
summer school, the parent may elect to take the time when the children are in summer school and 
transport the children to the summer school sessions at the children’s school or an equivalent summer 
school session in that parent’s community. 
 
The parent with whom the children reside for the majority of the school year shall have the weekend 
before the beginning and the weekend after the end of the other parent’s summer period, regardless of 
whose weekend it may be.  This weekend time will not be made up.    
 
During any summer vacation parenting times of three or more consecutive weeks, the parent exercising 
parenting time shall arrange for a mutually convenient 48-hour continuous period of time for the other 
parent to spend with the children. 
 
2.4.  Holidays. The following chart shows the allocation of the holidays between parents.  School breaks 
and release times may be different from school to school and district to district. The school calendar is 
published on your children’s school’s website before each school year starts.  It is important to know 
these dates / times as they pertain to your children. 
  
Holiday / Special Event Details / Times Even-

Numbered 
Years 

Odd-
Numbered 

Years 
Martin Luther King Jr. Day 
weekend 

Starts when school is released on Friday or 3:15 p.m., 
whichever is applicable and ends when the children are 
returned to school on Tuesday or at 8:00 a.m., 
whichever is applicable. 

Parent 2 Parent 1 

President’s Day weekend Starts when school is released on Friday or 3:15 p.m., 
whichever is applicable and ends when the children are 
returned to school on Tuesday or at 8:00 a.m., 
whichever is applicable. 

Parent 1 Parent 2 
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Easter weekend Starts when school is released for the holiday weekend 
and ends at 8:00 a.m. on the day school recommences 
after the holiday weekend. 

Parent 2 Parent 1 

Spring Break, if one is designated 
separately from Easter 

Starts when school is released for Spring Break and 
ends at 8:00 a.m. on the day school begins after the 
break.  If a spring break is not granted by the school, 
this provision would not apply.  Also, if the spring break 
is combined with Easter, this provision would not apply. 

Parent 1 Parent 2 

Mother’s Day Starts at 8:00 a.m. on Mother’s Day and ends at 8:00 
a.m. on Monday; one overnight. 

Parent 1 Parent 1 

Memorial Day weekend Starts when school is released on Friday or 3:15 p.m., 
whichever is applicable, and ends when the children are 
returned to school on Tuesday or at 8:00 a.m., 
whichever is applicable. 

Parent 2 Parent 1 

Juneteenth Starts at 8:00 a.m. on 6/19 and ends at 8:00 a.m. on 
6/20 

Parent 1 Parent 2 

Father’s Day Starts at 8:00 a.m. on Father’s Day and ends at 8:00 
a.m. on Monday; one overnight. 

Parent 2 Parent 2 

4th of July Begins July 3 at 5:00 p.m. and ends July 5 at 5:00 p.m. Parent 1 Parent 2 
Labor Day weekend Starts when school is released on Friday or 3:15 p.m., 

whichever is applicable, and ends when the children are 
returned to school on Tuesday or at 8:00 a.m., 
whichever is applicable. 

Parent 1 Parent 2 

Native American Day weekend Starts when school is released on Friday or 3:15 p.m., 
whichever is applicable, and ends when the children are 
returned to school on Tuesday or at 8:00 a.m., 
whichever is applicable. 

Parent 2 Parent 1 

Halloween Starts on 10/31 when school releases for the day or 
3:15 p.m., whichever is applicable, and concludes on 
11/01 when school resumes or at 8:00 a.m., whichever 
is applicable. 

Parent 1 Parent 2 

Thanksgiving weekend Starts when school releases on Wednesday or 3:15 
p.m., whichever is applicable, and ends Monday at 8:00 
a.m. 

Parent 2 Parent 1 

Christmas Eve Starts on 12/23 at 8:00 a.m. and concludes on 12/25 at 
8:00 a.m. 

Parent 2 Parent 1 

Christmas Day Starts on 12/25 at 8:00 a.m. and concludes on 12/27 at 
8:00 a.m. 

Parent 1 Parent 2 

1st half of winter break The winter break starts when the day the children are 
released from school for the break and continues to the 
morning of the day the children return to school.  The 
48-hour parenting times for each Christmas Eve and 
Christmas Day are not included in the division of the 
winter break. 

Parent 1 Parent 2 

2nd half of winter break, including 
New Year’s holiday 

The winter break starts when the day the children are 
released from school for the break and continues to the 
morning of the day the children return to school.  The 
48-hour parenting times for each Christmas Eve and 
Christmas Day are not included in the division of the 
winter break. 

Parent 2 Parent 1 
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Children’s Birthdays Starts 8:00 a.m. on date of birthday – 8:00 a.m. the next 
day (If the birthday falls on a holiday, the parenting 
time for the birthday shall take place the day before); 
parenting time shall be with all of the children not just 
the one who has the birthday. 

Parent 2 Parent 1 

Parent 2’s Birthday Starts 8:00 a.m. on date of birthday – 8:00 a.m. the next 
day (If the birthday falls on a holiday, the parenting 
time for the birthday shall take place the day before). 

Parent 2 Parent 2 

Parent 1’s Birthday Starts 8:00 a.m. on date of birthday – 8:00 a.m. the next 
day (If the birthday falls on a holiday, the parenting 
time for the birthday shall take place the day before). 

Parent 1 Parent 1 

 
2.5.  Conflicts Between Regular and Holiday Weekends.  When there is a conflict between a holiday 
weekend and the regularly scheduled weekend time, the holiday takes precedence.  Unless mutually 
agreed in writing, there will be no makeup parenting time in conflicts between holiday weekend and the 
regularly scheduled weekend time. This may result in one parent having the children for three weekends 
in a row; however, neither parent shall have the children for more than 3 weekends in a row. 
 
2.6.  Parent’s Vacation with Children Age 5 and Older.  Each parent is entitled to a vacation with the 
children totaling up to 14 days, with 7 days being the most that may be exercised at one time.  When 
possible, each parent shall provide the other with 30 days advance notice of their intent to utilize their 
vacation time.  Parents are encouraged to coordinate vacation plans.  In the event there is a dispute, the 
mother gets priority in choosing her vacation periods first in even-numbered years and the father gets 
priority in choosing his vacation periods first in odd-numbered years. 
 
2.8.  Precedence.  The allocation of holidays listed in the above chart shall take precedence over 
vacations.  In other words, a parent cannot exercise their vacation with the children when it is the other 
parent’s holiday.  But vacations shall take precedence over the regular parenting time schedule. 
 
2.9.  Notice of Canceled Time With the Children.  Whenever possible, each parent shall give a minimum 
of three days’ notice of intent not to exercise all or part of the scheduled time with the children.  When 
such notice is not reasonably possible, the maximum notice permitted by the circumstances, and the 
explanation, shall be provided to the other parent.  
 
2.10. Pick Up and Return of Children.  When the parents live in the same area/community, the 
responsibility for picking up and returning the children shall be shared. The parent who receives the 
children for his/her parenting time will pick the children up from the other parent.  Both parents have an 
obligation to be punctual and to arrive at the agreed upon time, not substantially earlier or later. 
Repeated, unjustified violations of this provision may subject the offender to court sanctions.  
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Guideline 3. For Parents Who Have Children Age 5 and Older and Reside 
More Than 200 Miles Apart.  
 
3.1.  Holidays.  Parents who reside more than 200 miles apart shall exercise the following holidays as 
follows: 
 

Holiday Details Even-
Numbered 

Years 

Odd-
Numbered 

Years 
Easter weekend Starts when school is released for the holiday 

weekend and ends at 8:00 a.m. on the day school 
recommences after the holiday weekend. 

Parent 2 Parent 1 

Spring Break, if one is 
designated separately 
from Easter 

Starts when school is released for Spring Break and 
ends at 8:00 a.m. on the day school begins after 
the break.  If a spring break is not granted by the 
school, this provision would not apply.  Also, if the 
spring break is combined with Easter, this provision 
would not apply. 

Parent 1 Parent 2 

Thanksgiving Starts when school releases on Wednesday or 3:15 
p.m., whichever is applicable, and ends Monday at 
8:00 a.m. 

Parent 2 Parent 1 

Winter Break The winter break starts when the day the children 
are released from school for the break and 
continues to the morning of the day the children 
return to school.   

Parent 1 Parent 2 

 
3.2.  Summer Break.  The parent with whom the children do not reside during the school year shall have 
the children for the children’s summer break as follows:  summer break begins 3 days after school is 
released and ends 7 days before school recommences. This allows 10 days of parenting time during the 
summer with the parent with whom the children reside during the school year.  Additionally, the parent 
with whom the children reside during the school year shall be entitled to exercise a 48 hour period of 
parenting time with the children every three weeks during the summer break; to be exercised at the sole 
expense of the parent with whom the children reside during the school year. 
 
3.3.  Priority of Summer Time With Parent.  Parenting time in the summer with the parent who lives 
more than 200 miles away takes precedence over summer activities (such as sports) when the parent’s 
time cannot be reasonably scheduled around such events. Even so, the conscientious parent will often 
be able to enroll the children in a similar activity in the parent’s community. When each child reaches an 
age and maturity where activities are very important to them, the parents should reach an agreement 
that works best for the child.  
 
3.4.  Notice.  At least sixty (60) days’ notice (recommended to be by mail, email, or text message) shall 
be given by the parent who lives more than 200 miles away from the children of the date for 
commencing extended summer parenting time with the children so that the most efficient means of 
transportation may be obtained and the parents and the children may arrange their schedules. Failure to 
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give the precise number of days’ notice does not entitle the parent with primary residence of the 
children the right to deny the other parent parenting time with the children. 
 
3.5. Additional Time With the Parent Who Lives More Than 200 Miles Away.  The parent who resides 
more than 200 miles away from the children shall have the following parenting time: 
 

о If the parent who lives more than 200 miles away wants to travel, at his/her sole expense, 
to visit with his/her children, this parenting time shall be accommodated for a reasonable 
time period of no less than 48 hours.  However, this is not intended to be exercised more 
than every other weekend; 

 
о Where distance and finances permit, additional parenting time for the parent residing 

more than 200 miles away from the children, such as holiday weekends or special events, 
is encouraged.  Parents are encouraged to reference the holiday schedules set forth in 
Section 2.4 when determining the allocation and duration of other holidays; and 

 
о When the parent who lives 200 miles away is in the area where the children reside, or the 

children are in the area where this parent resides, liberal time with the children based on 
the circumstances must be allowed.  Circumstances will vary and may only allow for a 
quick visit or may allow for overnight parenting time.   

 
The children may miss some school to spend time with the parent who lives 200 miles away, so long as it 
does not substantially impair the children’s academic progress.  However, additional time with the 
parent who lives more than 200 miles away from the child shall not interfere with the alternating 
holiday schedule set forth in Section 3.1 herein. 
 
Parents are encouraged to communicate with each other and cooperate in creating additional parenting 
times for the children.  If the additional parenting time exceeds 4 hours, the parent who lives more than 
200 miles away shall provide as much advance notice as possible, preferably 30 days.  Failure to provide 
notice shall not be the sole reason for denial of additional parenting time.   
 
Guideline 4.  General Rules Applicable to All Parents 
 
4.1.  Rules of Conduct. A parent shall always avoid speaking negatively about the other parent and must 
firmly discourage such conduct by relatives or friends.  Each parent should speak in positive terms about 
the other parent in the presence of the children.  Each parent shall encourage the children to respect 
the other parent.  Children should never be used by one parent to spy or report on the other parent.   
 
4.2.  Relatives.  Children will usually benefit from continued contact with all relatives on both sides of 
the family.  Such relationships should be protected and encouraged.  But relatives, like parents, need to 
avoid being critical of either parent in front of the children.  Parents should have their children maintain 
ties with both the maternal and paternal relatives.  Usually the children will visit the paternal relatives 
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during times when the children are with their father and the maternal relatives during times when they 
are with their mother.  This may include allowing the children to spend time with these relatives even 
when the parent is not present. 
 
4.3.  Relocation. Relocation is governed by South Dakota state law.  See SDCL 25-4A-17.  Instructions and 
forms on how to comply with the requirements surrounding relocation, as well as how to object to a 
parent’s notice of relocation, can be found at www.ujslawhelp.sd.gov.  
 
4.4.  Communication between Parents.  Parents must always keep each other advised of their home 
and work addresses and telephone numbers.  Whenever possible and unless otherwise stated herein, all 
communication concerning the children must be conducted directly between the parents (i.e., in person, 
by telephone, email, text message, communication notebook, a designated third party or co-parenting 
tool).  Absent an emergency, communication should not occur at a parent’s place of employment. 
 
4.5.  School and Medical Information.  Both parents shall keep the other parent informed with the 
name, address and telephone number of the school where each of their children attends and each 
parent is authorized to communicate concerning the children directly with the school and with the 
children’s doctors and other professionals, outside the presence of the other parent.  Each parent has an 
obligation to contact the school to ensure receipt of class schedules, school report cards, notices, etc. so 
that they can remain involved with their children’s education.  Both parents shall be listed as a parent 
and emergency contact on all of the children’s records, forms, registrations, etc.  Attendance at 
academic or disciplinary meetings pertaining to the minor children shall be limited to the parents and 
the respective school professional(s). Others may not attend such meetings without advance mutual 
parental agreement or court order.   
 

Each parent shall immediately notify the other parent of any medical emergencies or serious 
illnesses of the children.  Access to records and information pertaining to minor children, including, but 
not limited to, medical, dental, therapy, counseling, orthodontia and similar health care and school 
records must be made equally available to both parents.  The parents must make reasonable efforts to 
ensure that the name and address of the other parent is listed on all such records.  If children are taking 
medications, both parents shall have access to a sufficient amount for their parenting time as well as the 
instructions.  

 
The parent who has medical insurance coverage on the children shall supply to the other parent 

an insurance card or copy thereof and, as applicable, insurance forms and a list of insurer-approved or 
HMO-qualified health care providers in the area where the other parent is residing.  Except in 
emergencies, the parent taking the children to a doctor, dentist or other provider not so approved or 
qualified may be required to pay the additional cost for that provider.  However, when there is a change 
in insurance, which requires a change in medical care providers and a child has a chronic illness, 
thoughtful consideration shall be given by the parents to what is more important, i.e., allowing the child 
to remain with the original provider or the economic consequences of changing carriers.  When there is 
an obligation to pay medical expenses, the parent responsible for paying shall be promptly furnished 
with the bill, and where applicable, the explanation of benefits, by the other parent.  The parents shall 

http://www.ujslawhelp.sd.gov/
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cooperate in submitting bills to the appropriate insurance carrier.  Thereafter, the parent responsible for 
paying the balance of the bill shall make arrangements unless previously paid by the other parent.  
Insurance refunds shall be promptly turned over to the parent who paid the bill for which the refund 
was received. 
 
4.6.  Extracurricular Activities.  Both parents shall consult the other parent prior to enrolling the 
children in any event that may affect the other parent’s parenting time.  Both parents shall be listed as a 
parent and emergency contact on all of the children’s records, forms, registrations, etc.  Both parents 
shall be provided access to the name of the coach, director, and organization providing the activity for 
each child along with their contact information.  Both parents shall have the obligation to contact the 
activity director to ensure receipt of information such as practice schedules, games, parental 
participation, etc. 
 
4.7.  Clothing.  In situations where the children reside primarily with one parent, that parent shall send 
an appropriate supply of children’s clothing with the children for the other parent’s parenting time.  At 
the conclusion of his/her parenting time, this clothing shall be returned clean (when reasonably 
possible).  Parents must advise, as far in advance as possible, of any special activities so that appropriate 
clothing for the children may be sent.  It is recommended that both parents have some basic clothing 
available in their home to ensure that all of the children’s basic needs are met.   
 
4.8.  Withholding Support or Time with the Children.  Neither time with the children nor child support is 
to be withheld because of either parent’s failure to comply with a court order.  Only the court may enter 
sanctions for non-compliance.  Children generally have a right both to support and, time with both 
parents, neither of which is dependent upon the other.  In other words, if the parent ordered to pay 
child support fails to do so, he/she is still entitled to their parenting time.  Likewise, if one parent denies 
the other parent parenting time, child support payments must still be made.  
 

Forms and instructions on how to enforce your parenting time can be found on the  
South Dakota Legal Self-Help Center at https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/onlineforms.aspx. 

 
4.9.  Adjustments in Parenting Plan.  Parents are expected to fairly modify the parenting plan as family 
necessities, illnesses, weather or commitments reasonably so require.  The parents must work together 
in good faith to get any missed parenting time rescheduled to occur within a reasonable period of time, 
usually within 30 days.  When possible, each parent must timely advise the other when scheduled 
parenting time with the children cannot be exercised. 
 
4.10.  Children of Different Ages.  It usually makes sense for all the children to share the same schedule 
of parenting time.  Having brothers or sisters along can be an important support for children.  Because it 
is intended that parenting time with the children be a shared experience between siblings and, unless 
these Guidelines or a court order provides otherwise, all the children shall enjoy parenting time 
together.  Parents shall consider the children’s best interests when scheduling parenting time especially 
for newborns and infants who may have developmental needs that may prevent them from immediately 
experiencing the same schedule as their older siblings.  Additionally, older teenagers’ special needs for 
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peer involvement and for some control of their own lives may place them on different schedules from 
their younger brothers and sisters.   
 
4.11.  Communication with Children.  Unless prohibited by a court order, either parent may mail, call, 
text, email, FaceTime or skype (or use similar technology) to communicate with the children at 
reasonable times and with reasonable frequency during those periods the children are with the other 
parent.  The children may, of course, mail, call, text, email, FaceTime or skype (or use similar technology) 
to communicate with either parent, at reasonable hours or with reasonable frequency.  
 Parents are cautioned that communication between the parent and the children should not be so 

excessive as to interfere with the other parent’s time, nor used to undermine the other parent’s 
authority.  

 During long vacations, the parent with whom the children are on vacation is required to make 
the children available for telephone calls with the other parent at least every three days.  

 At all other times, the parent the children are with must not refuse to answer the other parents 
telephone calls or turn off their telephone in order to deny the other parent telephone contact.  

 If a parent uses an answering machine or cell phone voicemail, messages left should be returned 
to that person as soon as possible.  

 Parents should agree on a specified time for calls to the children so that the children will be 
made available no less than three days a week.  

 Either parent may provide the children with a cell phone subject to each parent’s ability to set 
restrictions in their home. A parent shall not prohibit contact between the children and the other 
parent; nor shall they impede the children’s ability to contact the other parent during reasonable 
times and at a reasonable frequency.   

 Communication between a parent and the children must not be censored, recorded, or 
monitored, absent a court order.  

 Each parent shall have an unrestricted right to send cards, letters and/or packages to their 
children.  The children shall also have the same right to receive and send items to their parents.   
 

4.12. Social Media.  Each parent shall have full access to monitor the social media accounts of the 
children, but neither shall open or read communications between the children and the other parent.  
 
4.13.  Privacy of Residence.  A parent shall not enter the residence of the other parent except by 
express invitation, regardless of whether a parent retains a property interest in the residence. Unless 
otherwise indicated herein, the children shall be picked up and returned to the front entrance of the 
other parent’s residence. The parent dropping off the children shall not leave until the children are 
safely inside the other parent’s residence. Parents must refrain from surprise visits to the other parent’s 
home.  
 
4.14.  Refusal / Hesitation by Children.  Parents should always encourage the children to attend 
parenting time with the other parent absent circumstances outlined in the “Scope of Application” 
provision on page 3.  Parents shall not deny parenting time with the other parent solely based on the 
refusal of the children.  
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4.15.  Special Considerations for Adolescents.  While children never get to choose where they live, the 
parents should honestly and fairly consider their teenager’s wishes regarding time with a parent.  
Neither parent shall attempt to influence their teenager’s wishes on parenting time.  Teenagers should 
explain the reason for their wishes directly to the affected parent, without intervention by the other 
parent.  
 
4.16.  Daycare Providers.  When parents reside in the same community, they should use the same day 
care provider. To the extent feasible, the parents should rely on each other to care for the children when 
the other parent is unavailable. 
 
4.17.  Parents in the Armed Services.  When one or both parents are serving in the military, it is 
important to create a parenting time schedule that focuses on sharing the children when the parents 
live close to each other and allowing for temporary duty assignment (TDY) possibilities.  Military families 
should also consider what parenting time would look like if TDY’s or overseas commitments were 
engaged requiring one parent to live more than 200 miles from the children.  The residential parent shall 
support the children’s relationship with the other parent by having a consistent plan of communication 
with the military parent.   
 
Legal Notice. 
These Guidelines do not provide legal opinions or legal advice and are not intended to serve as a 
substitute for the advice of licensed, legal professionals.  
 
Laws and interpretations of laws change frequently, and the material contained in these Guidelines have 
important legal consequences.  In using these Guidelines, parents are responsible for determining the 
applicability of any information contained in this document to their situation and are strongly 
encouraged to seek professional legal and other expert assistance in resolving their parenting time 
issues.  Parents will often benefit from getting advice from mediators, counselors, therapists, parenting 
coordinators and lawyers to help them make a parenting time schedule. 
 
Definitions. 
Any custody proceeding involving children is going to involve a determination of both legal and physical 
custody.   
 
“Legal Custody” refers to the legal authority to make major decisions for your children.  There are 2 
options when it comes to legal custody: 
 

Joint Legal Custody – “[B]oth parents retain full parental rights and responsibilities with respect 
to their child[ren] and so that both parents must confer on, and participate in, major decisions 
affecting the welfare of the child[ren].”  See SDCL 25-5-7.1. 

 
Sole Legal Custody – one parent shall have the right and responsibility to make the decisions 
related to health, education and welfare of the children. 
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“Physical Custody” refers to how parenting time is divided between 2 parties.  Parents may agree on the 
amount of time the children spend with each parent. If parents do not agree, the parenting time  
schedule set forth herein shall remain in place until a court orders otherwise.  
 
Shared Parenting. 
These Guidelines do not address shared parenting, which is defined as “a detailed shared parenting plan 
which provides that the children will reside no less than 180 nights per calendar year in each parent’s 
home and that the parents will share the duties and responsibilities of parenting the children and the 
expenses of the children in proportion to their incomes[.]”  SDCL 25-7-6.27.  If you are interested in this 
arrangement, you are strongly encouraged to consult with an attorney of your choosing.  More 
information and sample schedules can be found at https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/. 
 
Scope of Application. 
General.  These Guidelines are applicable to all custody situations, including divorces with minor 
children, paternity actions and cases involving joint legal custody where one parent has primary physical 
custody.  These Guidelines are not applicable to situations where the court reasonably believes the 
children’s physical health or safety is in danger or the children’s emotional development could be 
significantly impaired.  These situations may include, but are not limited to, the following: 
 
 - Family Violence (physical, verbal or otherwise); 

- Substance Abuse; 
- Mental Illness of Parent or Child; 
- Risk of Flight with Children; 
- Long Interruption of Contact Between Parent and Children; 
- A Parent’s New Relationship; 
- Religious & Cultural Holidays; or 
- An Incarcerated Parent. 

 
In such cases one or both parents may have legal, psychological, substance abuse or emotional problems 
that may need to be addressed before these Guidelines can be used.  The type of help that is needed in 
such cases is beyond the scope of these Guidelines. 
 
A parent who believes one or more of the above situations exists should file an Objection to the 
Implementation of the South Dakota Parenting Guidelines (UJS Form 372).  This form can be found at 
https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/defendants.aspx.  The opposing parent should also file a response to this 
Objection and should appear at the hearing. 
 
Existing Parenting Time Orders.  Existing parenting time orders on the date of adoption of these revised 
Guidelines shall be enforced according to the parenting time guidelines that were in effect on the date 
the parenting time order was issued.  Changes to the South Dakota Parenting Time Guidelines do not 
alone constitute good cause for modifying an existing parenting time order; however, a court or parties 

https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/
https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/defendants.aspx
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to a proceeding may refer to these Guidelines in requesting changes to their parenting time order after 
the effective date of the Guidelines. 
 
Protection Orders.  If a protection order has been established regarding the minor children, that order 
would prevail over these Guidelines, until a court specifically orders otherwise.  If an active protection 
order prohibits contact between the parents or between one parent and the children, parents are 
cautioned that the parent who is the subject of the protection order will violate the order if he/she has 
contact with the other parent and makes agreements as suggested in these Guidelines without 
permission for contact from the court that issued the protection order.   
 
 

Additional Resources 
There are several resources available to parents who need help in creating, enforcing or improving their 
parenting plan.  Visit https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/ (under the “Parenting” tab) for additional information 
on mediators, parenting coordinators, co-parenting tools and counseling options.  
 
Additional tips that parents should consider in order to keep the children the focus of the parenting time 
arrangements can be found in Appendix A. 

https://ujslawhelp.sd.gov/






INSTRUCTIONS AND FORMS FOR DIVORCE COMPLAINT WITH CHILDREN 
 

    Form UJS-312  
     Rev. 4/2024  

 

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning 
divorce matters.  You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website.  If you 
have any legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney.  
Court staff are unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion.  For specific 
questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-
784-0004 or email UJS staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.   

 
To Complete this form, you will need to: 

 
 Complete the caption of the Complaint. 

□ County (insert county name). 
□ Judicial Circuit (insert circuit number).  You may find your judicial circuit 

number at the following web address. 
 https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx  

□ Plaintiff (insert your name). 
□ Defendant (insert spouses name). 
□ Case Number will be provided to you by the Clerk of Court at the time of 

filing. 
 

 Complete the remainder of the information on the lines provided throughout 
the form.  Please note for Number 9, irreconcilable differences is the most 
common reason cited for divorces. You are welcome to select an alternative 
option in addition to irreconcilable differences but are not required to do so. 
 

 Date and sign the form once you are in front of a notary or the Clerk of Court. 
  

mailto:ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us
https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA          IN CIRCUIT COURT 
 
COUNTY OF __________________          ______________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

1. Plaintiff’s full legal name is ____________________________, and their date of birth is 

_______________________. 

2. Plaintiff is a resident of _______________________ County, State of 

_________________________________. 

3. Defendant’s full legal name is ____________________________, and their date of 

birth is _______________________. 

4. Defendant is a resident of _______________________ County, State of 

_________________________________. 

5. Plaintiff and Defendant were married on the _________ day in the month of 

_____________________, in the year of _____________, in the City of _______________ 

and in the State of ___________________________ 

6. Are the parties currently living apart? (check one) 

Yes _________           No  _________ 

If yes, what date did the parties begin to do so? _________________(date) 

 
              Case No.:___________________________ 

 _________________________________ 
   Plaintiff 

              COMPLAINT 
v.           (WITH MINOR CHILDREN) 

 
 _________________________________ 
   Defendant 
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7. Is the Plaintiff an active-duty member of the armed forces? (check one) 

Yes _________          No  _________ 

8. Is the Defendant an active-duty member of the armed forces? (check one) 

Yes _________          No  _________ 

9. Irreconcilable differences have arisen between the Plaintiff and Defendant which 

necessitates the dissolution of the marriage.  Alternatively, further grounds for 

dissolution of marriage exist under SDCL § 25-4-2, if the parties do not agree to the 

grounds selected below, a hearing will be required, and you will need to provide 

proof to support the grounds claimed: (check one or more) 

(1) Adultery ________ 

(2) Extreme Cruelty ________ 

(3) Willful Desertion ________ 

(4) Willful Neglect ________ 

(5) Habitual Intemperance ________ 

(6) Conviction of Felony ________ 

(7) Irreconcilable Differences ______ 

10. We have ______ minor child(ren) which have been born to or adopted by the 

parties.  Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) is / is not (circle one) pregnant.  If one 

spouse is pregnant, her due date is ______________________________________. 

11. The minor children’s names and dates of birth are listed below: 

Name: Date of Birth: 
  

  

  

  

 



 Page 3 of 5    Form UJS-312  
     Rev. 4/2024  

12. During the past five years, the children have lived with the following persons at 

the times and places indicated below: 

Child Name: Lived With: County/State: Timeframe: 
    

    

    

 
13. There has / has not (circle one) been any prior court proceedings regarding 

custody of the minor child(ren).  

If so, that action took place in ____________________________ County, in the State 

of ________________________ in the year of ___________________.  

(Attach any existing orders regarding custody of the minor child(ren)) 

14. Other than the parties, no one has ever had legal custody of the minor child(ren) 

except _____________________________ (if not applicable, write “none”). 

(Attach any existing orders regarding custody of the minor child(ren)) 

15. Regarding custody of the minor child(ren), Plaintiff alleges: (check one) 

Both parties are fit and proper parents to share joint legal custody of the minor 

child(ren), with the Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) having primary physical 

custody, subject to reasonable visitation rights with Platintiff / Defendant (circle 

one);  

Plaintiff /  Defendant (circle one) is the fit and proper persons to have sole legal 

and physical custody of the minor child(ren), subject to visitation with the 

Plaintiff /  Defendant (circle one) as follows: 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

Both parties are fit and proper persons to share the joint legal and physical 

custody of the minor child(ren), with the parent sharing the duties and 
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responsibilities of parenting the minor child(ren), with the child(ren) residing no 

less than 180 nights per calendar year in each parent’s home and the parents 

dividing the expenses of the child(ren) in proportion to their incomes; 

Other: _____________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

16. Plaintiff acknowledges that in the State of South Dakota an order for child support 

must be entered. 

If a child support order already exists, please indicate the case number and 

attach a copy of it this complaint __________________________ (case number). 

(Even if the Plaintiff is the non-custodial parent, they may still request that child 

support be entered.  

17. Plaintiff requests that the Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) be ordered to provided 

health insurance for the minor child(ren) with the uncovered medical expenses, 

including the premium attributable to the minor child(ren), being allocated 

between the parties in proportion to their incomes.  

18. Plaintiff requests that the daycare expenses of the minor child(ren) be allocated 

between the parties. (check one) 

     Yes _________                         No__________ 

19. The parties have accumulated property and debts during the marriage which 

must be equitably divided. (check one) 

Yes _________                         No  _________ 

20. Plaintiff seeks spousal support (alimony). (check one) 

    Yes _________                        No  _________ 
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Wherefore, Plaintiff prays for a judgment as follows: 

1. For a Judgment and Decree of Divorce dissolving the marriage of the 

parties; 

2. For an equitable division of the marital property and debts; 

3. That the Plaintiff’s last name be restored to: (only if requesting) 

__________________________________ whose date of birth is 

________________________; 

4. That custody and visitation of the minor child(ren) be established as set 

forth above; 

5. That an order for child support be established if one does not already 

exist; 

6. That health insurance for the minor child(ren) be addressed, if requested 

above; 

7. For alimony to be ordered, if requested above; and 

8. For such other and further relief as may be equitable and just. 

 

Dated this ___________ day of ______________________, 20____. 

 

      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Signature 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Name 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Address 
 
      ______________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 
______________________________ 
Phone Number 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 



INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM FOR FINANCIAL AFFIDAVIT 

                                                                                                                                                                FORM UJS-023  
  Rev. 04/2024 

If you have any legal questions while completing this form, it is highly recommended that 
you consult with an attorney.  Court staff are unable to provide legal advice or assist with 
form completion.  For specific questions related to the forms, you can also contact the 
Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.   

 
To complete this form you will need to: 
 
 Plaintiff and Defendant each will need to complete their own Financial Affidavit. 
 Complete the caption by filling in the name of the county you are filing in, the judicial 

circuit number, name of the Plaintiff and Defendant on the lines provided, case filing 
number, and check if you are the Plaintiff or Defendant.  The Clerk will provide you with 
a case number at the time of filing.  

 Your circuit number can be found here: 
https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx 

 Provide your full name on the first line provided.  
 Numbers 1 through 3 is your contact and employment information.  
 Numbers 4 through 11 is your gross monthly income.  
 Number 12 is your total gross monthly income.  You will need to add lines 4 through 11 for 

this total.  
 Numbers 13 through 18 is your monthly deductions from your income. 
 Number 19 is your total monthly deductions.  You will need to add lines 13 through 18 for 

this total.  
 Number 20 is your total net monthly income. You will need to take the total of your 

monthly income (line 12) and subtract your total monthly deductions (line 19) from that. 
This will be your total net monthly income.  

 Numbers 21 and 22 are previous years gross income. 
 Numbers 23 through 30 is information on dependent/childcare and health insurance, if 

any.  
 Numbers 31 through 43 is your asset information. You will need to state the fair market value of 

the assets, if any.  
 Number 44 is the combined total of your assets. Add lines 31 through 43 for this total.  
 Number 45 lines a through i, are your listed and total debts: 

 List the name of the debt (who you owe money to); 
 The total outstanding balance of that debt; and 
 Your monthly payment for that debt. 

 Number 46 is your average total of monthly expenses such as house, utilities, food, 
insurance, etc. 

 Number 47 is the combined total of your monthly liabilities. You will need to add the 
combined total of your monthly debt payments (#45 line i) with your average monthly 
expenses (line 46).  

 Numbers 48 and 49 is anticipated income. This is any income you are expecting to 
receive that isn’t already listed above.   

 Sign and date once in front of a notary or Clerk of Court.  

mailto:ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us
https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA  )    IN CIRCUIT COURT 
      :SS 
COUNTY OF __________________ )     ________________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 
 
 
 
_____________________________ 
 Plaintiff 
 
v.  
 
 
_____________________________ 
 Defendant 
 

 
 
Case No.: ___________________________ 
 

FINANCIAL AFFIDAVIT 
 
         PLAINTIFF              DEFENDANT 

 
 I, ________________________________ hereby swear under oath and under 

penalty of law that the following is true. 

CONTACT INORMATION  
 

(1) My mailing address is:  
 
____________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________ 

 
(2) My telephone number is: 

___________________________________________________ 
 
EMPLOYMENT 
 

(3) I am (check one)        Employed           Unemployed              Self-Employed 
 
MONTHLY INCOME 
 
 Monthly Income Source Per Month Amount 
(4) (If employed) My gross monthly pay is: $ 
(5) (If self-employed) My monthly gain/profit from my 

business/profession is: 
$ 

(6) My pension, retirement, disability, veterans, social 
security, or insurance payments received is: 

$ 

(Name of party filling out this Affidavit) 
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(7) My interest, dividends, rentals, royalties, or other 
gains is: 

$ 

(8) Gain from sale, trade or conversion of capital assets 
is: 

$ 

(9) I receive unemployment insurance and workers 
compensation benefits of: 

$ 

(10) Benefit in lieu of compensation including but not 
limited to military pay allowances is: 

$ 

(11) Other income (including spousal support) is: 
Explain:_________________________________________ 
________________________________________________ 

$ 

(12) Total Gross Monthly Income (add columns 4-11) 
 

$ 

 
DEDUCTIONS 
 
 Deduction Item Deduction Amount Per 

Month 
(13) Income tax based on one withholding 

allowance for a single taxpayer (not actual 
number of dependents): 

$ 

(14) Social Security and Medicare taxes withheld 
from wages or salary:   

$ 

(15) Contributions to an IRS qualified retirement plan 
not exceeding 10% of gross income: 

$ 

(16) Unreimbursed employee business expenses 
(Attach IRS form 2106): 

$ 

(17) Payments made on other support orders OTHER 
THAN FOR CHILDREN IN THIS PROCEEDING 
(Attach court order and evidence of 
payments.): 

$ 

(18) Payments made for spousal support: $ 

(19) Total Monthly Deductions (add columns 13-18) $ 

 
(20)   $ 
 Total Gross Monthly Income Total Monthly Deductions Total Net Monthly 

Income  
(Subtract the value of your total monthly deductions from your total gross monthly income) 
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(21) My total gross income before deductions for the previous year was: 

$_____________________ 

 
(22) My total gross income before deductions for two years ago was: 

$_______________________ 

 
(23) Including myself, I have the following number of dependents: _______________ 

 
(24) Do you have health insurance available for dependents through your 

employer? (check one)   Yes             No 

 
(25) If you provide health or dental insurance for your child(ren), please complete 

the following: 

  
a) Name of the health and/or dental insurance 

Company:____________________________ 

b) Total monthly cost for the employee only: $____________________ 

c) Total monthly cost for the employee and child(ren):  

$_______________________ 

d) Persons covered under the insurance policy: 

________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 
(26) Do you incur childcare costs as a result of employment, job search, training, or 

education?     (check one) 

  Yes               No  

If so, please complete the following: 

a) Name and address of childcare provider:     __________________________ 

            __________________________ 

             __________________________ 
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b) Name(s) of child(ren) whom childcare is provided: 

_____________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________ 

 
c) Hours per week that childcare is provided: ___________ 

 
d) Childcare cost is: $_________ per month; $_________ per week; $_________ 

per hour 
 
(27) Total amount of childcare cost for the past six months: $ __________________ 

 
(28) Do you receive any assistance for childcare?  (check one)  Yes            No 
 

a) If yes, how much do you receive per month? $____________ 
 

(29) Do you claim the Federal Child Care Tax Credit? (check one)   Yes           No 
 

(30) Amount of Social Security or Veteran’s Benefits provided to a child(ren) of the 

parties due to your retirement, disability or other eligibility: 

$__________________________ 

 
a) Which parent receives payment for the child: __________________________ 

 
ASSETS 
 
 Asset Value 
(31) Cash on hand/in the bank $ 
(32) Accounts and Notes Receivable (IOU’s and other 

money payable to me) 
$ 

(33) Investments (stocks, bonds, savings bond, CD’s, 
money market, etc.) 

$ 

(34) Retirement Account balance $ 
(35) Real Estate (house, land, tribal lease land, rental 

property, etc.) 
$ 

(36) Automobile(s) (include value, make, model, and 
year) 
________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________ 
(if multiple vehicles, add the value of all vehicles to 
get total) 

$ 
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(37) Recreational Vehicles (boats, campers, ATV’s, etc.) $ 
(38) Household Goods (furniture, appliances, TV, etc.) $ 

(39) Sporting Equipment $ 

(40) Jewelry $ 

(41) Tools / Shop Equipment $ 

(42) Value of Business $ 

(43) Any other assets (anything else I could sell or borrow 
money on) 

$ 

(44) Total Value of Assets (add value of columns 31-43) $ 

 
LIABILITIES (money that you owe) 

 
(45) Debts (vehicle, mortgage, student, or personal loans, credit cards, medical bills, 

etc.) 
 

 Name of Debt (who you 
owe to) 

Outstanding balance Monthly payment 

a)  $ $ 

b)  $ $ 

c)  $ $ 

d)  $ $ 

e)  $ $ 

f)  $ $ 

g)  $ $ 

h)  $ $ 

i) TOTAL DEBTS  
(combined total of outstanding balance) 

 
(combined total of monthly payments) 

 
 
(46) Total of regular monthly expenses (housing, utilities, food, insurance, etc.): 

$________________ 
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(47) TOTAL MONTHLY LIABILITIES: $_______________________________________________ 
                 (Add your total monthly payments with your total of monthly expenses) 
 
ANTICIPATED INCOME (money or property you are expecting) 
 
(48) Total monies or income from sale of house or land, gifts, inheritance, allotments, 

trust funds, lease money, etc. $_________________________ 

(49) When is the money/income expected? ___________________________ 

 

Dated this _____ day of _________________________, 20_____. 
 

  

________________________________________ 
Plaintiff/Defendant (circle one) Signature 
 
________________________________________ 
Plaintiff/Defendant (circle one) printed  
Name 
 
 
Address 
 
________________________________________ 
City/State/Zip 
 
________________________________________ 
Phone Number 

 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 



Form UJS‐022 
 Rev. 04/2024 

INSTRUCTION FOR MOTION TO WAIVE FILING & SERVICE OF PROCESS FEE FORM 
 

 

This form references specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) and you can find these 
laws on the South Dakota Legislature website.  If you have any legal questions, it is highly 
recommended that you consult with an attorney.  Court staff are unable to provide you 
with legal advice or assist you in completing this form.  For specific questions related to 
the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Helpline at 1-855-784-0004 email UJS staff 
at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us. 
 
Important Notice: 

 
A Motion to Waive Filing Fee & Service of Process Fee is a request to the Court asking that 
it not charge you the filing fee and to direct the Sheriff not to charge you for service of 
process. The Motion refers to your Financial Affidavit (Form UJS-023) to explain your 
financial situation to the Judge to decide whether to waive the fee in your case.  
 
If you do not hear from the Clerk of Court in five business days, you should contact them 
and inquire whether the Judge signed your Order Waiving Filing Fee and Service of Process 
Fee. If the Judge did not sign the Order, you have thirty days to pay the filing fee, or your 
case will be dismissed. 
 

 To Complete this form, you will need to: 
 

 Complete the caption of the Motion. 
□ County (insert county name). 
□ Judicial Circuit (insert circuit number).  You may find your judicial circuit number at 

the following web address. 
 https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx  

□ Enter Plaintiff and Defendant name. 
□ Case Number will be provided to you by the Clerk of Court at the time of filing if 

you don’t already have one. 
 

 If you agree with the statement in the Motion, sign and date the Motion in the 
presence of a notary or Clerk of Court.  

 
 File the complete form along with UJS-028 Order Waiving Filing Fee and Service 

of Process Fee with the Clerk of Court.  Remember to retain a copy for your 
records.  

 
 

mailto:ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA        IN CIRCUIT COURT 
 

COUNTY OF         JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 
 
 

 
________________________________ 
  Plaintiff 
 
       v.  
 
________________________________ 
  Defendant  

 

   Case No.:________________________ 
 
       MOTION TO WAIVE FILING & 
        SERVICE OF PROCESS FEE 

 
Comes now the Plaintiff/Defendant (circle one) named above, and makes this 

Motion to the Court to waive the following fees for the following reasons (check one): 

 I am the Plaintiff name above and make this Motion pursuant to SDCL 16-2-29.2 

and 16-2-29.3 for the purposes of requesting a waiver of the filing fee and service of 

process fee for the Summons and Complaint.  

 I am the Defendant named above and make this Motion pursuant to SDCL 16-2-

29.2 and 16-2-29.3 for the purposes of requesting a waiver of the filing dee for the 

Answer/Response to the Summons and Complaint. 

I do solemnly swear that I am unable to pay the above-specified fee(s) for the legal 

proceedings which I am about to commence; and that I verily believe I am justly 

entitled to the relief sought by such legal proceedings. My Financial Affidavit, which 

sets forth my entire financial situation, (Form UJS-023) is filed herein and incorporated 

herein by reference. 

WHEREFORE, based upon the foregoing statements and allegations, I respectfully 

request that the Court enter its Order to Waive Payment of the above-specified fee(s) 

in this matter, pursuant to SDCL 16-2-29.2. If this Request is denied, I understand that I 

must pay the above-specified fee(s) to proceed with the case. Furthermore, if I am 

the Plaintiff, I understand that if the filing fee is not paid within thirty days, my case will 

be dismissed. 
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Dated this  day of  , 20  . 

 
 

_____________________________________ 
     Plaintiff/Defendant Signature (circle one) 
 
     _____________________________________ 
     Plaintiff/Defendant Name (circle one) 
 
     ____________________________________ 
     Address 
 
     ____________________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 
____________________________________ 
Phone Number 

 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 



Form UJS‐028 
 Rev. 04/2024 

INSTRUCTION FOR ORDER ON MOTION TO WAIVE FILING & SERVICE OF PROCESS FEE FORM 

This form references specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) and you can find these 
laws on the South Dakota Legislature website.  If you have any legal questions, it is highly 
recommended that you consult with an attorney.  Court staff are unable to provide you 
with legal advice or assist you in completing this form.  For specific questions related to 
the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Helpline at 1-855-784-0004 email UJS staff 
at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us. 

Important Notice: 

A Motion to Waive Filing Fee & Service of Process Fee is a request to the Court asking that 
it not charge you the filing fee and to direct the Sheriff not to charge you for service of 
process. The Motion refers to your Financial Affidavit (Form UJS-023) to explain your 
financial situation to the Judge to decide whether to waive the fee in your case.  

If you do not hear from the Clerk of Court in five business days, you should contact them 
and inquire whether the Judge signed your Order Waiving Filing Fee and Service of 
Process Fee. If the Judge did not sign the Order, you have thirty days to pay the filing fee, 
or your case will be dismissed. 

 To Complete this form, you will need to: 

 Complete the caption of the Motion.
□ County (insert county name).
□ Judicial Circuit (insert circuit number).  You may find your judicial circuit number at

the following web address.
 https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx

□ Enter Plaintiff and Defendant name.
□ Case Number will be provided to you by the Clerk of Court at the time of filing if

you don’t already have one.

 Leave the reminder of the form blank and file the form along with UJS-022
Motion to Waiving Filing Fee and Service of Process Fee with the Clerk of Court.
Remember to retain a copy for your records.

mailto:ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA  IN CIRCUIT COURT 

COUNTY OF     JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 

________________________________ 
  Plaintiff 

   v. 

________________________________ 
  Defendant 

   Case No.:________________________ 

     ORDER ON MOTION TO  
WAIVE FILING & SERVICE 

   OF PROCESS FEE 

 The       Plaintiff /       Defendant (check one) named above having moved the 
Court to enter an Order to waiver certain fees and the Court having reviewed and 
considered said motion/application and the party’s Financial Affidavit filed herein, 
based upon the evidence presented, the Court determines that it is hereby: 

ORDERED that the Plaintiff’s payment for the filing fee of the Summons and 
Complaint in the action herein is: 

 Waived   Not Waived 

AND IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Plaintiff’s payment for the Sheriff’s fee 
for service of the Summons and Complaint in the action herein is: 

 Waived   Not Waived 

ORDERED that the Defendant’s payment for filing the Answer/Response to 
the Complaint in the Action herein is: 

 Waived  Not Waived 

 Dated this  day of    , 20           . 

ATTEST:  BY THE COURT: 

Clerk of Court Circuit Court Judge 

BY:  
      Deputy Clerk 

(SEAL)  



 
INSTRUCTIONS AND FORMS ON NOTICE AND ADMISSION OF SERVICE  

Form UJS-317 
Rev. 04/2024 

 

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce 
matters.  You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website.  If you have any 
legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney.  Court staff are 
unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion.  For specific questions related 
to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS 
staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.  
 
IMPORTANT NOTICES 
When filing for divorce, the Defendant will need to be served with copies of the Summons and 
Complaint and proof that the Defendant was served is required by the Court. The day the Defendant 
is served initiates the thirty days the Defendant can file an answer to the Summons and Complaint. A 
divorce cannot be finalized until at least sixty days have elapsed from the date the Summons and 
Complaint are served. (The day of service is NOT counted.) 
 

** When serving the Defendant, you have three options** 
 Option 1 – Mailing to the Defendant (the Defendant will need to sign the admission of service within twenty 

days of mailing and provide the signed forms back to you or file with the Clerk of Court themselves.) 
 Complete the Notice and Admission of Service (UJS-317A) by filling in the caption with the name of the 

county you are filing in, the judicial circuit number, name of the Plaintiff and Defendant on the lines 
provided, case file number, sign, and date. 

 Complete only the caption of the Admission of Service (UJS-317B). The remainder of the form is for the 
Defendant to complete. 

 Mail copies of the Summons with Minor Children (UJS-311) and Complaint without Minor Children (UJS-
312), Notice and Admission of Service (UJS-317A) and Admission of Service (UJS-317B), and a self-
addressed stamped envelope to the Defendant. 

 Once you’ve mailed copies, complete the Affidavit of Mailing (UJS-317C) and file it with the Clerk of 
Court.  Certified mail is not considered proper service.  

 Once you receive the signed Admission of Service (UJS-317B) from the Defendant, you MUST file it with 
the Clerk of Court. The Defendant may also file the Admission of Service with the Clerk of Court but 
should provide you with a copy. 
 

 Option 2 – Hand Deliver to the Defendant (if you believe the Defendant will willfully accept the Summons 
and Complaint from you) 
 Complete the Admission of Service of Summons and Complaint (UJS-317B) by filling in the caption with 

the name of the county you are filing in, the judicial circuit number, name of the Plaintiff and Defendant 
on the lines provided and case file number. Leave the remainder of the form blank for the Defendant 
to complete.  

 Attach a copy of the Summons with Minor Children (UJS-311), and Complaint with Minor Children (UJS-
312) and provide to the Defendant. 

 The Defendant will need to sign the Admission of Service (UJS-317B) in front of a notary or Clerk of Court 
and provide the original back to you or file directly with Clerk of Court. 
 

 Option 3 – Sheriff or Process Server (if the Defendant will NOT willfully sign the Admission of Service, you will 
want to follow these steps) 
 You will provide copies of the Summons and Complaint to the Sheriff or Process Server. 
 You will need to provide the Defendant’s physical address, phone number, place of employment and 

any other relevant information for location. 
 Typically having the Defendant served requires a fee to be paid prior to completing service. 
 Once the Defendant is served, the server will provide you with a Proof of Service that you MUST file with 

the Clerk of Court.  
 Contact information for process servers can be found here: 

 https://ujs.sd.gov/Resources/ProgramsServices.aspx 

mailto:ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA                 IN CIRCUIT COURT 
 
COUNTY OF __________________            ______________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
  TO THE ABOVE-NAMED DEFENDANT: The enclosed Summons and Complaint (with Minor 
Children) and South Dakota Parenting Guidelines are sent to you pursuant to SDCL § 15-6-4(i), as 
well as two copies of this Notice and Admission of Service of Summons and Complaint (with Minor 
Children), South Dakota Parenting Guidelines, and a return envelope, postage prepaid, 
addressed to the Plaintiff. 
 
  You must complete the Admission of Service portion of this form and return the original to the 
sender within twenty days. In completing the form, you must fill in the town and state where you 
received the papers and sign and date the document in front of a notary or Clerk of Court. Failure 
to sign and return the original Admission of Service within twenty days after the date of mailing 
without good cause could result in the Court ordering you to pay the costs of personal service 
SDCL § 15-6-4(i). 
 
  After you complete and return the Admission of Service, you must then respond to the 
Summons and Complaint within thirty days. If you fail to do so, a judgment may be entered against 
you by default as requested in the Complaint. 
 

Dated this ___________ day of ______________________, 20____. 

      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Signature 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Name 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Address 
 
      ______________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 
______________________________ 
Phone Number 

 
                    Case No.:___________________________ 

   Plaintiff 
                         NOTICE AND ADMISSION OF      
v.                        SERVICE OF SUMMONS AND  
                                                                        COMPLAINT (WITH MINOR 
                          CHILDREN) SOUTH DAKOTA  

   Defendant                           PARENTING GUIDELINES  
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA                 IN CIRCUIT COURT 
 
COUNTY OF __________________            ______________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
   I, _____________________________________________ the above-named Defendant, 

admit to receiving a copy of the Summons and Complaint (with Minor Children), and 

the South Dakota Parenting Guidelines, in the above-captioned matter on the ________ 

day of the month of ________________  and year of _________________ and in the City 

of__________________ in the County of _____________________ and in the State of 

____________________. This admission merely acknowledges receipt of the papers on the 

date provided above; I do not admit or deny any of the statements contained in these 

documents. 

     
Dated this ___________ day of ______________________, 20____. 

 

      ______________________________ 
      Defendant Signature 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Defendant Name 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Defendant Address 
 
      ______________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 
______________________________ 
Phone Number 
 

 

 
              Case No.:___________________________ 

   Plaintiff 
                      ADMISSION OF SERVICE OF 
v.                    SUMMONS AND COMPLAINT  
                                                                    (WITH MINOR CHILDREN)  
                              

    Defendant                     
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA                 IN CIRCUIT COURT 
 
COUNTY OF __________________            ______________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   

I, ______________________________________, being sworn, state that on the _______ day 

of _________________, 20______, I sent two copies of the Notice and Admission of Service of 

Summons and Complaint (with Minor Children); two copies of the Summons (with Minor 

Children); two copies of the Complaint (with Minor Children); and the South Dakota 

Parenting Guidelines  by placing true and correct copies in an envelope addressed to: 

_____________________________________________ 

 

_____________________________________________ 

 

_____________________________________________ 

 
 
And depositing the envelope, with sufficient postage, in the United States Mail in:  
 
_________________________________________________________________________________ 
      (City and State you mailed from) 

 
(SIGNATURE PAGE TO FOLLOW) 

 

 
              Case No.:___________________________ 

  Plaintiff 
                              AFFIDAVIT OF MAILING OF 
v.                   NOTICE AND ADMISSION OF  
                                                                     SERVICE OF SUMMONS 
                            AND COMPLAINT 

   Defendant                   (WITH MINOR CHILDREN) 
                      
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

(Name of Defendant) 

(Street Address) 

(City, State, Zip) 
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Dated this ___________ day of ______________________, 20____. 

       
______________________________ 

      Plaintiff Signature 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Name 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Address 

 
      ______________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 
______________________________ 
Phone Number 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 



INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM ON AFFIDAVIT OF COURT APPROVED PARENTING COURSE 

Form UJS-364 
   Rev. 04/2024 

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce 
matters.  You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website.  If you have any 
legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney.  Court staff are 
unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion.  For specific questions related 
to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS 
staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.  Remember that legal matters are better addressed by 
professionals who specialize in this field. 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICES:  
 In order for a final decree or order to be entered in a case involving child custody or 

parenting time a parenting course is required to be completed by both parties 
within sixty days of service of a summons, complaint, petition, motion, or other 
request concerning child custody.   

 Participation in the course may be waived if good cause is shown, or there has 
been completion of a court-approved course within the past five years.    

 More information and a list of court-approved parenting classes can be found on 
the South Dakota Unified Judicial website: 

 https://ujs.sd.gov/Parenting_Education/Default.aspx 
 The following form should only be completed if you are requesting to waive the 

Parenting Course Requirement.  
 

 
To complete this form, you will need to:  
  

 Complete the caption by filling in the name of the county you are filing in, the judicial 
circuit number, and list the names of the parties as they appear on the Summons 
and Complaint.  

 Fill in your name on the first line provided as you are the Petitioner.  
 Number 2 – Check mark one or both boxes depending on what fits your case. 
 Number 3 – Check mark A, B, or C. 

□ Option A – can be marked if you have completed a court-approved 
parenting course within the past five years. 

□ Option B – can be marked if you are seeking to waive the parenting course 
requirement with good reason for the request. 

□ Option C – can be marked if you are seeking additional time (more than sixty-
day requirement) to complete the parenting course and reason for the delay. 

□ Date, Sign, and file with the Clerk of Court. 
  
 
 
 
 
 

mailto:ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA                 IN CIRCUIT COURT 
 
COUNTY OF __________________            ______________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  I, ___________________________________, the Petitioner, hereby swear under oath and 
penalty of law that the following is true to the best of my knowledge and belief: 
 

1. I am a party to the above-captioned action. 

2. The above-captioned action involves (circle one or both) child custody/parenting time 

issues, it is not a protection order proceeding, and does not terminate parental rights. 

3. I ________________________________________, the Petitioner (check A, B, or C) 

 A – Have completed a court-approved parenting course within the last five years. I 

have attached proof of completion to this Affidavit. 

 B – Seek to waive the court requirement for the following reason (check one): 

□ The other party has not responded within the required timeframe. 

OR 

□ Other:____________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________ 

 C – Seek to delay the court requirement until _______ days after the summons, 

petition, or motion (circle one) is/was served for the following reasons: 

_______________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________

 
              Case No.:___________________________ 

   Plaintiff 
                
v.                         AFFIDAVIT ON COURT-APPROVED 
                                                                      PARENTING COURSE AND ORDER 
            

    Defendant         
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4. I understand that if the course requirement is waived or delayed by the Court, the Court 

may order that I receive the course information in an alternative format. 

 

5. I further understand that a final decree shall not be granted or a final order in this matter 

shall not be entered until both parties have complied with the parenting course 

requirement, unless the Court waives or delays the participation in the Court for good 

cause. 

 

          Dated this ___________ day of ______________________, 20____. 

 

      ___________________________________ 
      Petitioner Signature 
 
      ___________________________________ 
      Petitioner Name 
 
      ___________________________________ 
      Petitioner Address 
 
      ___________________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 
___________________________________ 
Phone Number 

  

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 
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ORDER 
The Petitioner having moved this Court to waive or delay the parenting requirement or 

having completed a court-approved parenting course within the last five years, and the 

Court having reviewed and considered said request the Court determines that it is hereby: 

 ORDERED that the petitioner’s proof of completion of a court-approved parenting 

course is: 

 DENIED  GRANTED 

 ORDERED that the request made by the Petitioner to waive the parenting course 

requirement is hereby: 

 DENIED  GRANTED 

 ORDERED that the request made by the Petitioner to delay the court required 

parenting course requirement is hereby: 

 DENIED  GRANTED 

 

       ________________________________________ 

       Circuit Court Judge 

Attest: 

_________________________ 

Clerk of Court 

_________________________ 

Deputy Clerk 

(Seal) 

 



INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM FOR STIPULATION AND  
SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT WITH MINOR CHILDREN 

 

 Form-UJS-325 
  Rev. 04/2024 

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce 
matters.  You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website.  If you have any 
legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney.  Court staff are 
unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion.  For specific questions related 
to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS 
staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.  Remember that legal matters are better addressed by 
professionals who specialize in this field. 

 
 
IMPORTANT NOTICES: 
 
The Stipulation and Settlement Agreement is an agreement made between the Plaintiff and 
the Defendant on the dissolution of their divorce case. The Stipulation and Settlement 
Agreement is required for the Court to grant a divorce without either party appearing in court.  
Although, in some cases, a hearing may still be required.  

 
To complete this form, you will need to: 
 
□ Read each page in detail. 

 
□ Complete the caption by filling in the name of the county you are filing in, the 

judicial circuit number, name of the Plaintiff and Defendant on the lines provided, 
and case filing number. 
 

□ Pages 1 and 2 – Read and fill in the lines provided. 
 

□ Page 3 Number 3 – List the name(s), date of birth(s), and date of adoption, if 
applicable.  
 

□ Page 3 Section A – Mark the appropriate box regarding the custody of the 
child(ren).  
 

□ Page 4 Section B – Provide the parenting time schedule for both the Plaintiff and 
the Defendant.  
 

□ Pages 4 and 5 Section C – Provide the transportation arrangement of the child(ren) 
during holidays.  
 

□ Page 8 Number 4 Section A – Provide the agreed upon child support obligation.  
 

□ Page 8 Number 4 Section B – List the parties percentage of health care coverage 
for the child(ren) that exceeds $250. 
 

□ Page 9 Section D – List the month and year the child support obligation will begin. 

mailto:ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us
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SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT WITH MINOR CHILDREN 

 

 Form-UJS-325 
  Rev. 04/2024 

□ Pages 9 and 10 Section H – Mark who will be responsible for obtaining health 
insurance for the child(ren). 
 

□ Page 11 Number 5 Section C – List property that the Plaintiff will receive as a part 
of the divorce. Property would include vehicles, boats, motorcycles, ATV/Mobile 
homes, etc. Include make and model number for each.    
 

□ Page 11 Number 5 Section D – List property the Defendant will receive as part of 
the divorce.  Property would include vehicles, boats, motorcycles, ATV/ Mobile 
homes, etc. Include make and model number for each. 
 

□ Pages 11 and 12 Section E – List any property that either party has possession of 
but is to be given to the other party within thirty days of entry of the Judgment and 
Decree of Divorce.   
 

□ Page 13 Number 6 Sections A and B – List any debt each party will be responsible 
for.  This will include debt such as credit cards, banks loans, personal loans, vehicle 
loans, outstanding bills, student loans, medical bills, etc.  
 

□ Page 14 Number 7 – Set the timeframe for the parties to remove the others name 
from any property or debt received as a part of this Agreement.  
 

□ Page 14 Number 8 – Provides for the parties to equalize the property and debt 
distribution by requiring one party to make an equalization payment to the other 
party.  If the parties believe the distribution of assets and debts is equal, you should 
mark the second box.   
 

□ Pages 15 and 16 Number 9 – Request the distribution of real property such as 
houses, land, and buildings.  
 

□ Pages 16 and 17 Number 10 – List investment and retirement account information, 
if any, and the division of each.  
 

□ Pages 17 and 18 Number 11 – Include life insurance information, if any, and the 
division of such.  
 

□ Pages 18 and 19 Number 12 – Mark if either party is currently a member of the 
military.  
 

□ Page 19 Number 13 – Select whether alimony is appropriate and if so, enter the 
amount and payment details.  
 

□ Page 20 Number 14 – Enter income tax return agreement.  
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SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT WITH MINOR CHILDREN 

 

 Form-UJS-325 
  Rev. 04/2024 

□ Page 20 Number 15 – Indicate if either the Plaintiff or Defendant would like to be 
restored to a maiden or former name and if so, provide that information.  
 

□ Page 20 Number 16 – Provide any other agreement the Plaintiff and Defendant 
have agreed upon if not listed previously.   
 

□ Page 21 Number 17 – Select if either party is awarded attorney fees.  
 

□ Each page must be initialed by each party.  
 

□ Each party will need to sign and date in front of a notary or Clerk of Court.   
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA  )    IN CIRCUIT COURT 
      :SS 
COUNTY OF __________________ )  ____________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 
 
 
 
 
____________________________, 
 Plaintiff 
 
v.  
 
 
____________________________,  
 Defendant 
 

 
 
    Case No.: _____________________ 
 
 

STIPULATION AND  
SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT  
(WITH MINOR CHILDREN) 

 

THIS STIPULATION AND SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT (WITH MINOR CHILDREN), 

made and entered into this __________ day of ___________________________, 

20_______, by and between the Plaintiff,  _______________________________________ 

and the Defendant, _________________________________.  Within this document we 

understand that we may be referred to individually as Plaintiff/Defendant, or 

together as party(ies). 

 WHEREAS, the parties were married in the City of ___________________________, 

in the State of _____________________, on the                   day of                                           , 

20_____, and ever since that time have been and are now married; and 

 WHEREAS, irreconcilable differences and disputes have arisen between the 

parties and have or will separate with the intent to live apart; and 

 WHEREAS, Defendant was served with a true and correct copy of the 

Summons and Complaint (with Minor Children) on the               day of                                      

__________________________, 20_____, and;  

 WHEREAS, At the time of the commencement of this divorce action Plaintiff 

resided in the City of _________________________________, in the County of 

_______________________, in the State of _________________________, and presently 
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resides in the City of  _________________________________, in the County of 

________________________, in the State of ________________________, and the 

Defendant at the time of the commencement of this divorce action resided in 

the City of  ______________________, in the County of _____________________, in the 

State of __________________, and presently resides in the City of  _________________, 

in the County of _______________________, in the State of ________________________.  

 Both parties agree that venue and jurisdiction in this Court is appropriate and 

consent to such jurisdiction and venue; and 

 WHEREAS, the parties are the parents of _______ (#) minor child(ren) born to 

or adopted by the parties during the course of their relationship/marriage.  Spouse 

is / is not (circle one) pregnant at the time of this action.  If pregnant, the spouse is 

due on the _______ day of _______________________, 20_______, and  

 WHEREAS, the parties hereto now desire to enter into an Agreement settling 

all claims, visitation, child support, property division, and all other matters between 

the parties regarding this divorce action,  

 NOW THEREFORE, it is hereby stipulated and agreed by and between the 

parties herein as follows: 

1. Release.  Except as herein specified, each of the parties is hereby released 

and absolved from any and all obligations and liabilities for the future acts and 

duties of the other.  Each of the parties releases the other from any and all liabilities, 

debts and/or obligations of any kind or character incurred by the other from and 

after the date of this Agreement and from any and all claims and demands.  It 

being expressly understood and agreed, this Agreement is intended to settle the 

rights of the parties in all respects, except as hereinafter provided. 

2. After-Acquired Property.  Any and all property, whether real or personal, 

acquired by either party, from and after the date of this Agreement, shall be the 

sole and separate property of the one so acquiring the same, and each of said 
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parties hereby respectfully grants to the other all such other and future acquisitions 

of property as the sole property of the one so acquiring the same. 

3. Custody & Visitation. The parties are the parents of the following minor 

child(ren) born to or adopted by them during their relationship/marriage: 

Name     Date of Birth                Date of Adoption   

              

              

              

              

 

A. Legal & Physical Custody: The parties agree that as to custody of the minor 

child(ren) (check one): 

The parties share joint legal custody of the minor child(ren) with Plaintiff 

/ Defendant (circle one) having primary physical custody; 

The parties share joint legal and joint physical custody of the minor 

child(ren); 

Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) has sole legal and physical custody of 

the minor child(ren); 

The parties agree to joint legal and physical custody with a shared 

parenting plan, as set forth below, in which the child(ren) reside no less 

than 180 nights per calendar year in each parent’s home.  The parents 

further agree to share the duties and responsibilities of parenting the 

child(ren) and shall divide the expenses of the child(ren) in proportion 

to their incomes, i.e. Plaintiff paying _____% and Defendant paying 

_____%.  
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B. Parenting Time Schedules: The parties agree to the following parenting time 

schedules with the minor child(ren): 

During the school week, including pick-up and return times and location, the 

Plaintiff shall have the minor child(ren): ____________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

During the school week, including pick-up and return times and location, the 

Defendant shall have the minor child(ren): _________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

During the summer, including pick-up and return times and location, the 

Plaintiff shall have the minor child(ren): ____________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

During the summer, including pick-up and return times and location, the 

Defendant shall have the minor child(ren): _________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

C. Holidays: In addition to the custodial arrangement designated above, and 

unless the parties otherwise agreed, major holidays shall be alternated as set 

forth in the South Dakota Parenting Guidelines (Form UJS-302).  When there is 

a conflict between a holiday and the regular parenting schedule, the holiday 

takes precedence.  Therefore, if the Defendant misses a regular weekend 

because it is Plaintiff’s holiday, the regular parenting time schedule will resume 

following the holiday.  If the Defendant receives two consecutive weekends 
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because of a holiday, the regular alternating weekend schedule will resume 

the following weekend with the Plaintiff.  Unless mutually agreed, there will be 

no makeup parenting time after any conflicts between the holiday weekend 

and the regularly scheduled weekend time.  Parenting time “missed” during 

the summer period is not made up. 

The parties agree to arrange transportation for the child(ren) for holiday visits 

as follows: 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

The parties may, by mutual agreement, alter the parenting time schedule above 

which shall be in writing and signed by both parties.  Text messages and emails are 

sufficient in amending this agreement as long as the text messages and emails are 

retained.  

D. Failure to comply: Neither parenting time nor child support is to be withheld 

because of either parent’s failure to comply with a court order. Only the court 

may enter sanctions for non-compliance. Children have a right to both 

support and parenting time, neither of which is dependent upon the other. In 

other words, if you do not receive child support, you still have to allow 

parenting time and if you are denied parenting time, you still have to pay 

child support. If there is a violation of either parenting time or a support order, 

the exclusive remedy is to apply to the court for appropriate sanctions. 

E. Telephone Calls: Telephone calls between parent and child shall be liberally 

permitted at reasonable hours and at the expense of the calling parent, if it is 

a long-distance call. The parent with whom the child is staying shall not refuse 

to answer the phone or turn off the phone in order to deny the other parent 

telephone contact. Messages or voice mails left for a child should be returned 
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in a timely manner. 

F. Clothing: If one parent has primary physical custody, that parent shall send 

an appropriate supply of the child(ren)’s clothing with them during the other 

parent’s parenting time, which shall be returned clean (when reasonably 

possible), with the child(ren). The parent exercising parenting time shall 

advise, as far in advance as possible, of any special activities so that the 

appropriate clothing belonging to the child(ren) may be sent.  

If the parties are exercising shared parenting, it is expected that they will each 

maintain clothing at their individual homes for the child(ren). However, the 

parents agree to cooperate in returning clothing to the appropriate parent 

so each can maintain a supply of clothing.  

G. Transportation: Unless otherwise agreed to herein, the transportation between 

the parents shall be handled equally. When the parents live in the same 

community, the parent commencing their parenting time will pick up the 

child(ren) from the other parent’s home and upon conclusion of the 

parenting time, the other parent shall retrieve the child(ren) from the home of 

the parent who just had parenting time. The parents have an obligation to be 

punctual, arriving at the agreed time, not substantially early or late. 

Repeated, unjustified violations of this provision may subject the offender to 

court sanctions. 

H. Parental Affection: Each of the parents shall take all measures deemed 

advisable to foster a feeling of affection between the minor child(ren) and 

the other parent and neither will do anything which may estrange the 

child(ren) from the other parent nor impair their high regard for the other 

parent. Both parties agree they will speak only favorably of the other while in 

the child(ren)’s presence. Each will promote and foster good parental 

relations between the child(ren) and the other parent and avoid any 

communication of any kind which would be detrimental to the child(ren)’s 
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respect or admiration for the other parent. 

I. Grade Reports and Medical Information: If the parties share joint legal 

custody, each parent shall provide the other parent with grade reports and 

notices from school as they are received and shall authorize the other parent 

to communicate concerning the child(ren) directly with the daycare, the 

school, and the child(ren)’s doctors and other professionals outside the 

presence of the other parent. Unless there are abuse, neglect, criminal or 

protection orders to the contrary, both parents shall also be listed as the 

child(ren)’s parent and as an emergency contact with the daycare, the 

school, and all health professionals. Each parent shall immediately notify the 

other of any medical emergencies or serious illnesses of the child(ren). Each 

parent shall, as soon as reasonably possible, notify the other parent of all 

school or various activities (for example, music or sports) involving parental 

participation.  If a child is taking medications, each parent shall have a 

sufficient amount of medication and appropriate instructions during their 

parenting time.  

J. Future Disputes: If the parties develop disputes in the future, they agree to first 

review the South Dakota Parenting Time Guidelines (UJS-302) to determine if 

a resolution can be reached. 

K. Relocation: The parties acknowledge that if either of them desire to relocate, 

they must abide by specific provisions required by law. These provisions can 

be found at SDCL §§ 25-4A-17-19. 

L. Parenting Course Requirement: Because this stipulation involves issues of 

custody and parenting time, the parties recognize that they must complete 

a court-approved parenting course pursuant to SDCL § 25-4A32. The parties 

have therefore each filed a certificate of completion or an Affidavit on the 

Court-Approved Parenting Course with the Clerk of Court within sixty days of 

the service of the Complaint on the other party. 
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4. Child Support. 

A. The parties agree that __________________________________ shall pay child 

support to ___________________________ for the support and maintenance of 

the minor child(ren) in the amount of $__________ per month, which includes: 

(check all that apply) 

Their pro rata share of the health insurance provided by the Plaintiff / 

Defendant (circle one) for the parties’ minor child(ren). 

Their pro rata share of daycare expenses for the minor child(ren). 

An annualized abatement of $__________ per month in consideration 

for the months ______________________________ has the child(ren) six or 

more over-nights per month. Pursuant to SDCL § 25-7-6.14, it shall be 

presumed that the parenting time is exercised for the purposes of the 

abatement, although if the noncustodial parent does not exercise this 

extended parenting time, the noncustodial parent is required to repay 

the abated amount of child support to the custodial parent;  

A cross-credit calculation for the shared parenting plan, as allowed in 

SDCL § 25-7-6.27; 

A deviation of $_________ per month pursuant to SDCL § 25-7-6.10(___), 

based on the following facts: ______________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________ 

B. Any reasonable medical costs, including optometrist, dental, orthodontic, 

counseling, or other health care costs for the minor child(ren) which exceed 

$250.00 in any year and are not covered by insurance, shall be split between 

the parents with Plaintiff paying _____% and Defendant paying ______%.  

Pursuant to SDCL § 25-7-6.16, the parent with physical custody, which is 

________________________, is solely responsible for the first $250.00 of health 

care expenses incurred for each child in any calendar year.  

(This option would not be applicable in shared parenting arrangements.) 
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C. The child support calculation is attached to this document and was prepared 

by the Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one). (You may want an attorney to 

calculate child support or you can determine the support obligation by using 

the child support calculator provided by the Department of Social Services 

and found at:   Child Support Obligation Calculator. 

D. The child support obligation shall commence on the 1st day of 

_______________________, 20_______. 

E. Pursuant to SDCL § 25-5-18.1, the support obligation shall continue until each 

child attains the age of eighteen or until each child attains the age of 

nineteen if the child is a full-time student in a secondary school. 

F. The employer of the parent who is required to pay child support shall be 

immediately directed to withhold amounts for current support and 

arrearages as specified herein and as provided in SDCL § 25-7A-23 and shall 

transmit said amount as provided in SDCL § 25-7A-34. 

G. Until otherwise notified by the Department of Social Services – Division of 

Child Support, all payments shall be made payable to “Division of Child 

Support” and mailed to:  

Division of Child Support 
700 Governor’s Drive 

Suite 84 Pierre, SD 57501-2291 
H. Regarding Health Insurance (choose one): 

Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) shall obtain and/or maintain health 

insurance coverage for the minor child(ren) if available through 

employment or other group carrier at a reasonable cost. Plaintiff / 

Defendant (circle one) shall notify the Department of Social Services of 

the insurance company name, address, policy number, and the 

names of persons covered within thirty days of entry of the Judgment 

and Decree of Divorce.  Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) shall also 

https://apps.sd.gov/SS17PC02CAL/Calculator.aspx
https://apps.sd.gov/SS17PC02CAL/Calculator.aspx
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notify the Department of any changes in coverage. Plaintiff / 

Defendant (circle one) shall also provide the other parent with a card 

or copy of the health insurance card setting forth the insurance 

company name, address, policy number and the names of persons 

covered within thirty days of entry of the Judgment and Decree of 

Divorce; 

OR 

Neither parent currently has medical insurance for the minor child(ren). 

Health insurance shall be provided for the child(ren) by a parent if the 

insurance is accessible for the child(ren) and available to a parent at 

reasonable cost. SDCL § 25-7-6.16. The cost shall be apportioned 

between the parents. Id. The parent providing health insurance shall 

notify the Department of Social Services of the insurance company 

name, address and policy number and name of persons covered 

within thirty days and shall also notify the Department of Social Services 

of any changes in coverage. The parent providing medical insurance 

shall also provide the other parent with a card or copy of the health 

insurance card setting forth the insurance company name, address, 

policy number, and the names of persons covered within thirty days. 

5. Property Division:  The parties agree that the following marital property shall 

be divided as follows and such division is equitable: 

 A. Clothing, Personal Effects, Personal Property:  Each of the parties shall receive 

their own clothing, personal effects, and all personal property in their 

possession, free and clear of any claim from the other, unless otherwise 

specified herein. 

 

B.Photographs, Memorabilia:  The parties agree to equally split the photographs 
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and any special memorabilia acquired during the marriage/relationship within 

ninety days of execution of this Agreement.  Any expenses incurred in this 

process shall be mutually agreed upon and split equally between the parties. 

 C. Plaintiff shall exclusively receive, as their sole and separate property, the 

following items:   

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ ______________________________ 

 
D. Defendant shall exclusively receive, as their sole and separate property, the 

following items:  

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ ______________________________ 

 

 E. Property in Possession of the Other:  If Plaintiff has property to be given to 

Defendant, then Plaintiff shall, within thirty days of execution of entry of the 

Judgment and Decree of Divorce, give to Defendant the following personal 

property items:  

_______________________________ _______________________________ 
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_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ ______________________________ 

 

and Defendant shall, within thirty days of execution of this Agreement, give to 

Plaintiff the following personal property items:  

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ ______________________________ 

 

F. Checking and Savings Accounts:  It is acknowledged by the parties, that they 

have divided their bank accounts, encompassing checking and/or savings 

accounts.  Each party shall maintain exclusive ownership of the cash balance 

in their individual accounts, unencumbered by any claims from the other 

party.  Furthermore, any joint accounts that remain, shall be promptly closed 

and the funds shall be divided equally between the parties.   

 G. Tax Consequences:  The parties agree that the foregoing transfers of property 

  between them are tax-free under the Internal Revenue Code § 1041, and  

  both agree not to take any inconsistent position on their tax returns filed after 

  this Agreement is signed. 

6. Debt Division:  The parties agree the following martial debt of the parties shall 
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be divided as follows: (list all debts and outstanding balances incurred by one or both 

parties: credit cards, bank loans, personal loans, vehicle loans, outstanding monthly 

bills, student loans, medical bills, etc.): 

A. Plaintiff shall be solely responsible for and take over the following debts:  

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ ______________________________ 

 

B. Defendant shall be solely responsible for and take over the following debts:  

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ _______________________________ 

_______________________________ ______________________________ 

 

C. Unless otherwise provided for herein, each of the parties shall be solely  

 responsible for any debts they incur from the date of execution of this 

 Agreement.  Each party agrees not to incur any debt or liability that could 

 potentially hold the other party, their property, or estate responsible in the 

 future.    

D. Except as otherwise expressly provided, it is further agreed that any and all 

 unpaid debts not otherwise addressed in this document, incurred by the 
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 parties during their marriage shall be the responsibility of the person who 

 incurred it.  Each party shall indemnify and hold harmless the other therefrom. 

E. Unless otherwise provided herein, each of the parties promise, at all times, to 

 keep the other party free, harmless and indemnified from any and all debts, 

 charges or liabilities previously contracted or incurred by said party 

 individually, and to be hereafter contracted or incurred by said party 

 individually. Each shall immediately apply for formal transfer or assumption of 

 the debts each assumes under this Agreement with the creditors involved so 

 the non-responsible party is released from liability by the creditors.  However, 

 neither party can guarantee that the creditors involved will approve a release 

 from liability.  If a creditor denies a release presently, the parties agree to 

 renew their applications for formal transfer or assumption in the future at 

 reasonable intervals. 

7. As set forth above, the party receiving the property or debt listed in this 

agreement shall assume receipt commencing on the date of this agreement.  Further, 

the party receiving the asset or debt obligation, shall remove the other party’s name 

therefrom within _______ days from entry of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce.  The 

other party shall also cooperate in transferring titles to the party receiving the asset(s) 

once their name is removed.  

8. In respect to equalizing the property distribution, the parties agree (check one): 

That Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) shall pay to the other the 

amount of $____________ to equalize the property/debt distribution 

within ________ days of entry of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce;  

OR 
 

 That the allocation of personal property and debt is equitable, and 

 no amount is necessary to equalize the distribution. 

9. Real Property (house, land or buildings):   

  The parties have no real property (check if applicable and then  
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  proceed to #10). 

  The parties have an interest in the following real property: 

 

 A. Physical Address:  ____________________________________________________ 

 _________________________________________________________________________ 

 _________________________________________________________________________ 

 B. Legal description (obtained from a document such as a Warranty Deed, Mortgage 

    or Title Insurance):  

 _________________________________________________________________________

 _________________________________________________________________________

 _________________________________________________________________________ 

 _________________________________________________________________________ 

 _________________________________________________________________________ 

 C. Regarding the property, the parties agree (check one): 

That the Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) will receive the house/land and 

all the fixtures therein and/or the improvements thereon.  The parties agree 

that the amount of equity in the real estate is $___________________________.  

The party receiving the real estate shall pay $______________________ to the 

other to equalize this division within ________ days of entry of the Judgment 

and Decree of Divorce.  If there is a mortgage(s) or other joint debt 

encumbering the real estate, the person receiving the property shall 

remove the other party’s name from the mortgage(s) within ________ days 

of entry of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce.  The person receiving the 

property has consulted a lender and received pre-approval to refinance.  

The party not receiving the real property shall cooperate in the release or 

refinancing and shall sign a quit claim deed releasing all interest in the 

property to the other party. 

 OR 

The parties agree that the house/land and all the fixtures therein and/or 

(Value – Debt(s) = Equity) 
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the improvements thereon shall be listed for sale by _____________________, 

20_____ with a realtor, on an active multiple listing service, for fair market 

value.  The parties shall mutually agree upon a realtor, and both shall 

cooperate with signing the appropriate documents.  Unless the parties 

otherwise agree, the parties shall accept a minimum offer for fair market 

value.  During the pendency of sale of the home, Plaintiff / Defendant / 

Not Applicable (circle one) shall have exclusive possession of the marital 

home if they do not commit waste thereto.  Commencing 

__________________________, 20________, the parties agree that Plaintiff / 

Defendant / Not Applicable (circle one) shall be responsible for the 

mortgage payments, which payments include taxes and insurance, 

normal maintenance, as well as payment of utility bills associated with the 

marital home.  The parties further agree that the net proceeds of the sale 

of the home shall be divided with Plaintiff receiving ______% and 

Defendant receiving ______%.  Additionally, any monies refunded to the 

parties from any escrow account shall be divided between the parties with 

Plaintiff receiving _______% and Defendant receiving ______%.   The parties 

agree, if they are not able to file a joint return, Plaintiff / Defendant (circle 

one) shall claim the real estate taxes on their 20_____ income tax return 

and Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) shall claim the mortgage interest on 

their 20_____ income tax return. 

10. Investments and Retirement Funds and Pension Plans:  Retirement and 

investments may be considered marital property and must be considered when 

dividing the marital assets between the parties.  There are additional legal 

documents necessary to accomplish a transfer of certain retirement and 

investment accounts and you are strongly advised to consult an attorney if you are 

dividing such property.   

A. The parties agree (check the appropriate box): 

Each party specifically waives any and all claims, if any, to the other’s 
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401K, IRA, stock options, retirement, pension, and profit-sharing accounts 

and benefits, whether such claim is known or unknown, contingent or 

vested, or now owing or will become owing to the other party in the future.  

It is the intent and purpose of the parties hereto by this provision to waive 

any entitlement to the 401K, IRA, stock options, pension, retirement, 

and/or annuity benefits of the other party, including both present and 

future benefits;  

OR  

Effective the date this Agreement is signed by both parties, the  Plaintiff 

shall receive the following investments and retirement accounts (list the 

current value of each): _______________________________________________ 

 _________________________________________________________________and;                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

 Effective the date this Agreement is signed by both parties, the 

 Defendant shall receive the following investments and retirement 

 accounts (list the current value of each): ______________________________ 

 _____________________________________________________________________ 

B.  The parties recognize that, unless otherwise provided herein, they have been 

  advised to change any designation of their spouse as the beneficiary of any 

  policy governed by ERISA, to include life insurance policies or employee  

  benefit plans. 

11. Life Insurance.  Life insurance policies, particularly the cash value of some 

policies, may be considered marital property and should be considered when 

dividing the marital assets.  Thus, the parties agree (check one): 

  The parties do not have any life insurance policies to distribute;  

OR 

  The parties agree to the allocation of the life insurance policies as  

  follows:   

  Plaintiff shall receive the following (term/whole life) life insurance policy(ies) 

    and shall be responsible for any premium associated with said policy: 
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______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

      Defendant shall receive the following (term/whole life) life insurance  

      policy(ies) and shall be responsible for any premium associated with said       

      policy: 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

12. Military Benefits (If one of the parties is a military member) (check one) 

Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one or both, if applicable) confirms they are 

not currently a member of the military service of the United States of 

America as defined by the Soldier and Service Member’s Civil Relief Act 

of 1940. 

OR 

Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one or both, if applicable) was a member of 

the military (includes the National Guard and Reserves) during the 

marriage.  Accordingly, the other party may be entitled to, as a former 

spouse of a service member, specific benefits depending on the length 

of the marriage and the amount of time the service member spouse spent 

in the military during the marriage.  Benefits may include, if you qualify, 

retirement pay, military health care, commissary privileges and base 

facility benefits.  There are state and federal laws that come into play; i.e. 

the Uniformed Services Former Spouses’ Protection Act, and the Survivor 

Benefit Plan.  There are numerous and complicated laws, and it is advised 

that you seek legal advice and/or assistance from the Defense Finance 

and Accounting Service to understand and protect all benefits you may 

be entitled to.  When receiving retirement pay, you need to consult legal 

counsel regarding the “disposable retired pay” and the importance of 

disability pay in lieu of retired pay.  Also, an Order dividing benefits must 

be timely received by the Defense Finance and Accounting Service and, 
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if necessary, an Order requiring Survivors Benefit Protection (SBP).  

 

If the Plaintiff or Defendant or both are members of the military service, past or 

present, please list branch of service, rank at the time of retirement, the specific 

years that they were in service (ex. 1992–2004) and the specific years of service 

during marriage (ex. 1994-2004):    

_______________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________ 

In respect to military benefits of the service member, the parties agree as follows:  

______________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________ 

13. Alimony (Spousal Support). Please check the appropriate box and fill in the 

appropriate blanks.  (You are strongly encouraged to consult with an attorney 

before completing this section):   

 Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) shall receive alimony in the sum of  

  $_____________ each month beginning the 1st of ______________, 20_______ 

  for the following duration: 

 A period of  __________ months; or 

 Until remarriage of the person receiving alimony or death of either party.   

OR 
       No permanent, general, rehabilitative or restitutional alimony shall be 

granted to either party.  Both parties waive any right they may have to 

alimony and accepts this Agreement (with Minor Children) in full and final 

satisfaction of all marital claims. 
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14. Income Tax Returns.  The parties agree to share historical accounting and tax 

information, documents and records with the other as may be necessary for each 

to prepare a complete an accurate income tax return for subsequent tax years.  

The parties agree: 

File a joint tax return if possible for the _________ tax year, if allowed by law, 

and share the expenses and tax liability or refund as follows:  _________% 

to Plaintiff and                   % to Defendant;  

OR 

  File as single persons for the __________ tax year. Commencing with the  

  tax year that the Judgment and Decree of Divorce is signed, the parties 

  shall file as single persons on their IRS returns and every year thereafter. 

The parties further agree that the minor child(ren) shall be claimed as dependents 

on their individual tax returns as follows: __________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________ 

15. Former Name. If one party would like their maiden name or former name 

restored to them, complete this section: (Leave section blank if not applicable) 

Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one), presently known as 

___________________________ DOB ______________________, will be restored 

to their full former or maiden name of: 

_______________________________________________________ in any 

Judgment and Decree of Divorce issued herein and will be known 

hereafter as: __________________________________________________ 

16. Other Agreements Not Covered Previously. 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

17. Attorney’s Fees. (Check one if appropriate and fill in where necessary): 
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Each party shall be solely responsible for their own attorney fees, 

costs and expenses incurred in this proceeding. 

OR 

Plaintiff / Defendant (circle one) will pay the sum of $_____________ 

towards the attorney fees, costs and expenses of their spouse within 

_________ days of entry of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce. 

18. Address.  Until all provisions herein are satisfied, the parties agree that each 

will promptly notify the other of any change of address and/or telephone number. 

 19.     Other Documents.  The parties shall, at any and all times upon request by the 

other party or their legal representative, make, execute, and deliver any and all 

such other and further instruments as may be deemed necessary or desirable for 

the purpose of giving full force and effect to the provisions of this Agreement, 

without charge therefor. 

20.  Grounds.  The parties mutually understand that a divorce shall be granted to 

both parties on the grounds of irreconcilable differences, per SDCL § 25-4-17.3.  The 

parties have executed an Affidavit of Plaintiff and Defendant as to Jurisdiction and 

Grounds for Divorce and understand the Court may grant the divorce without 

requiring personal appearances of the parties.  If the Court decides to grant a 

Judgment and Decree of Divorce, the parties agree that this Agreement shall be 

presented to the Court without further notice.  In the event the Court does not 

accept and approve all terms and provisions of this Agreement, then the same 

shall be null and void and no Judgment and Decree of Divorce may be entered 

by default in favor of either party without prior notice to either party. 

21. Interference.  The parties hereafter shall live separate and apart.  Each party 

shall be free from interference, authority or control, direct or indirect, of the other 

party.  The parties agree not to molest, annoy, harass, stalk, or interfere with each 

other in any aspect of their personal or professional lives. 

 

22. Enforcement.  The parties agree this Agreement shall be binding upon them 
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until otherwise mutually agreed or otherwise ordered by the Court.  Upon any 

violation of the terms of this Agreement, or if one party determines modifications 

are necessary without consent of the other party, each shall be free to petition the 

Court to have this Agreement modified/enforced in accordance with the law. 

23. Release of Inheritance Rights.  Unless otherwise specified herein, each party 

releases all rights to shares in the estate of the other or shares in the estate of the 

parents of the other, or to serve as personal representative or administrator of the 

estate of the other, except only as specified by will or codicil to will executed after 

the date of this Agreement. 

24. Modification and Waiver.  Any modification/waiver of any provisions of this 

Agreement shall be effective only if made in writing and executed with the same 

formality as this Agreement and approved by the Court.  The failure of either party to 

insist upon strict performance of any of the provisions shall not be construed as waiver 

of any subsequent default of the same or similar nature. 

25. Partial Invalidity.  If any of the provisions of this Agreement are held to be 

invalid or unenforceable, all other provisions shall nevertheless continue in full force 

and effect. 

26. Titles. The paragraph captions contained herein are inserted for 

convenience and descriptive purposes only and do not constitute a part of this 

Agreement. 

27. Conflict of Laws.  This Agreement shall be construed in accordance with the 

substantive laws of the State of South Dakota. 

28. Waiver and Incorporation.  The parties waive notice of trial, notice of hearing, 

findings of fact and conclusions of law and consent to the entry of a Judgment 

and Decree of Divorce without further notice, upon the Court’s determination that 

there is a just cause for divorce.  It is further stipulated and agreed by and between 

the parties that all provisions of this Agreement shall be incorporated by reference 

into any Judgment and Decree of Divorce which may be issued herein. 

29. Written Memorandum.  This Agreement contains the entire understanding of 



 

 
 

Plaintiff’s Initials       Defendant’s Initials 
 
              Page 23 of 24                                                                      FORM UJS-325 
  Rev. 04/2024  

   

the parties who hereby acknowledge there have been and are no representations, 

warranties, covenants or understandings other than those expressly set forth herein. 

30. Ratification. 

A. This Agreement was made and entered into with the full knowledge of  

  both parties, and they have read the entire document and have signed the 

  same of their own free will and accord. 

B.  The parties represent to the Court that each acknowledges the   

  importance of consulting separate, independent legal counsel as well as a 

  tax expert prior to the execution of this Agreement.  The parties acknowledge 

  that it is a legal document and binding upon them. 

C. Each party covenants and warrants to the other: (a) they have fully  

  disclosed the existence of and value of all assets and debts in which they  

  have any interest whatsoever; and,(b) the assets and debt set forth and  

  identified herein constitutes all the property of the parties, whether owned 

  jointly or by either of them individually, or in conjunction with a third party;  

  and, (c) the full and frank disclosure of all assets and liabilities by both parties 

  is an essential and material element of the consideration of this Agreement. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(SIGNATURE PAGE TO FOLLOW) 
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Dated this ______ day of ______________________, 20______. 

 

      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Signature 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Printed Name 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Address 
 
      ______________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 
______________________________ 
Phone Number 

 

 

 

Dated this ______ day of ______________________, 20______. 

 

      ______________________________ 
      Defendant Signature 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Defendant Printed Name 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Defendant Address 
 
      ______________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 
______________________________ 
Phone Number 

 

 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 



INSTRUCTIONS FOR AFFIDAVIT OF PLAINTIFF AND DEFENDANT AS TO JURISDICTION AND 
REASON FOR DIVORCE AND FORM 

 

Form UJS-319B 
       Rev. 04/2024 

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce 
matters.  You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website.  If you have any 
legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney.  Court staff are 
unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion.  For specific questions related 
to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS 
staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.   

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE: 
 This Affidavit establishes jurisdiction and grounds for divorce in which the Court may 

grant a divorce without requiring their personal appearance. Although this Affidavit 
can be used to help waive a court hearing, the Judge presiding over your case 
may still require one. 

 In South Dakota, both parties typically must agree to use irreconcilable differences 
as the reason for divorce. Additionally, the Plaintiff must be a resident of the State 
of South Dakota when the divorce is started. This Affidavit confirms those facts for 
the Court.  

 This form shall be completed once the Stipulation and Settlement Agreement has 
been signed by both parties. 

 
To complete this form, you will need to: 
 
 Complete the caption by filling in the name of the county you are filing in, the 

judicial circuit number, Plaintiff and Defendant’s names.  
□ The Clerk of Court will provide you a case number at the time of filing. 
□ Your judicial circuit can be found here: 

  https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx 
 Plaintiff and Defendant will need to sign and date in front of a notary or Clerk of 

Court. 
 Once signed it will need to be filed with the Clerk of Court. 
 If the Defendant refuses to sign this form, the Plaintiff should still file this Affidavit with 

only their notarized signature. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

mailto:ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us
https://ujs.sd.gov/Circuit_Court/Default.aspx
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA                        IN CIRCUIT COURT 
 
COUNTY OF __________________                         ______________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
  The above-named Plaintiff and Defendant, being first duly sworn upon their oath, 
depose and state as follows: 
 

1.  That they are the Plaintiff and the Defendant in the above-entitled divorce action. 

2. This Affidavit is made pursuant to the provisions of SDCL § 25-4-17.3 so that the 

divorce may be granted without requiring the personal appearance by either party 

in Court. 

3. Pursuant to SDCL § 24-4-30, the Plaintiff, at the time of the commencement of this 

divorce action was a bona fide resident of _________________________County in the 

State of South Dakota (or stationed in the State of South Dakota while a member of 

the armed services) 

4. Plaintiff and Defendant agree by signing this Affidavit that there are irreconcilable 

differences between the parties which the parties cannot repair to save the 

marriage. Both parties’ consent to the Court’s entry of a Judgment and Decree of 

Divorce to both parties on the grounds of irreconcilable differences. 

5. A written Stipulation and Settlement Agreement (with Minor Children) has been 

entered into between the Plaintiff and the Defendant setting forth the terms and 

conditions of the division of property and other matters. The Agreement is presented 

to the Court with this Affidavit. 

6. Both parties authorize the immediate presentation of the Stipulation and Settlement 

Agreement (with Minor Children), this Affidavit of Jurisdiction and Ground for 

Divorce and the proposed Judgment and Decree of Divorce to the Court and 

 
                  Case No.:_______________________ 

   Plaintiff 
                    AFFIDAVIT OF PLAINTIFF &      
 v.                         DEFENDANT AS TO JURISDICTION 
                       AND GROUNDS FOR DIVORCE 

             
    Defendant 
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respectfully request the Court to consider the same without need for any noticed 

hearing or trial. The Parties further waive the entry of formal Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law. 

 
Dated this ___________ day of ______________________, 20____. 

 

      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Signature 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Name 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Address 

 
      ______________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 
______________________________ 
Phone Number 

 
 
 

Dated this ___________ day of ______________________, 20____. 

 

      ______________________________ 
      Defendant Signature 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Defendant Name 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Defendant Address 
 
      ______________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 
______________________________ 
Phone Number 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 



INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM FOR JUDGMENT AND DECREE OF DIVORCE   
(STIPULATION AND AGREEMENT WITH MINOR CHILDREN)   

 

     Form UJS-326B 
   Rev. 04/2024 

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce 
matters.  You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website.  If you have any 
legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney.  Court staff are 
unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion.  For specific questions related 
to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS 
staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.  Remember that legal matters are better addressed by 
professionals who specialize in this field. 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICES 
 
 Use this form only if you and the Defendant have signed a Stipulation and Settlement 

Agreement (With Minor Children) and you want the Court to incorporate that 
Agreement into your Judgment and Decree of Divorce.  

 Even if you and the other party have signed the Stipulation and Settlement Agreement, 
the Judge assigned to your case may still require you to appear in court. 

 
To complete this form, you will need to: 
 
 Complete the caption by filling in the name of the county you are filing in, the judicial 

circuit number, list your name for the Plaintiff and the other party for the Defendant. 
 In the first paragraph enter the day the Defendant was served with the Summons and 

Complaint, and the date and location of the marriage. 
 Provide the Clerk of Court with the proposed Judgment and Decree of Divorce (UJS-

326B). The Clerk of Court will give to the Judge to grant or deny. 
 If the Judge signs the proposed Judgment and Decree of Divorce (UJS-326B), a Notice 

of Entry will need to be completed and filed with the Clerk of Court. 
□ The Notice of Entry form can be obtained from the Clerk of Court. Depending 

on the county, this may be completed by the Clerk of Court, or they may 
provide it to you to complete and file. 

 Certified copies of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce (UJS-326B) along with a copy 
of the Notice of Entry will need to be provided to both parties and an Affidavit of 
Mailing will need to be completed. Depending on the county, this may be completed 
by the Clerk, or they may provide to you to complete and file. You will need to check 
with the Clerk of Court on this. 

□ The Affidavit of Mailing form can be obtained from the Clerk of Court. 
 If a hearing is required, you will need to bring the Judgment and Decree of Divorce 

(UJS-326B) with you and if the Judge signs at the conclusion of the hearing, certified 
copies of the signed Judgment and Decree of Divorce (UJS-326B) along with a copy 
of the Notice of Entry will need to be provided to both parties and an Affidavit of 
Mailing will need to be completed. Depending on the county, this may be completed 
by the Clerk, or these forms may be provided to you to complete and file. You will need 
to check with the Clerk of Court on this. 

□ The Affidavit of Mailing form can be obtained from the Clerk of Court. 
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA                 IN CIRCUIT COURT 
 
COUNTY OF __________________            ______________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
The above-entitled matter came before this Court on the _____ day of 

__________________, 20______. It satisfactory appearing to the Court from the records and 

file herein that the Defendant was duly served with the Summons and Complaint (With 

Minor Children) on the _______ day of ___________________, 20____, and the parties 

thereafter entered into a Stipulation and Agreement (With Minor Children) on file and 

dated ___________________________, herein. The parties were married on the _________ day 

of ______________________, in the City and State of _____________________________________. 

After due consideration of the same and on the matters of record herein the Court finds 

and concludes that is has jurisdiction over the parties and the subject matter herein, that 

the parties have met their obligations for court-approved parenting courses under SDCL 

§ 25-4A-32, and that the parties having expressly waived entering of Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law. Now therefore; 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED AS FOLLOWS: 

1. The parties are both granted a Judgment and Decree of Divorce on the grounds of 

irreconcilable differences and the parties hereto are restored to the status of single 

persons. 

2. That the Stipulation and Agreement (With Minor Children) on file between the parties 

is hereby approved and by this reference made a part hereof merged and 

incorporated herein. 

 

 
 ________________________________  Case No.:___________________________ 
  Plaintiff 

                             JUDGMENT AND DECREE OF DIVORCE 
v.                                           (STIPULATION AND AGREEMENT 
                                                                                    WITH MINOR CHILDREN) 

 ________________________________        
  Defendant         
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3. The parties are the parents of the following minor child(ren): 

______________________________________, DOB _____________________________  

______________________________________, DOB _____________________________  

______________________________________, DOB _____________________________ 

4.  Custody and parenting time with the minor child(ren) shall be as set forth in the 

Stipulation and Agreement (With Minor Children) on file herein, which is 

incorporated herein by reference. 

5. _____________________________ shall pay child support to ______________________ 

for the minor child(ren) in the amount of $_________ per month, commencing the 

1st day of ____________________, 20____, pursuant to the calculations and child 

support provisions set forth in the Stipulation and Agreement (With Minor 

Children), which are incorporated herein by reference as well as the child support 

calculation, which is filed here in and incorporated by reference.  

6. Pursuant to SDCL § 25-5-18.1, the support obligation shall continue until each child 

attains the age of eighteen, or until each child attains the age of nineteen if the 

child is a fulltime student in a secondary school. 

7. The obligor’s current or subsequent payor of income shall be immediately 

directed to withhold amount for current support or arrearages as specified herein 

and as provided in SDCL § 25-7A-23 and shall transmit said amount as provided 

in SDCL § 24-7A-34. 

8. Until otherwise notified by the Division of Child Support all payments shall be made 

payable to “Division of Child Support” and mailed to: 

Division of Child Support 
700 Governor’s Drive, Suite 84 
Pierre, SD 57501-2291 
 

9. Plaintiff         / Defendant        (check one), currently known as 

_______________________ born as ___________________________ shall be restored  

to their former name of __________________________; therefore, they shall be 

known hereafter as _________________________________.  
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10. That SDCL § 25-4A-5 is attached as required by SDCL § 25-4A-5.1 and shall 

become an Order of this Court. 

11. All the other terms and conditions specifically set forth in the Stipulation and 

Agreement (With Minor Children) as hereby approved and incorporated herein 

by reference as though fully set forth in extenso.  

 
Dated this _______ day of _________________, 20___. 

 
 
       ________________________________________ 
       Circuit Court Judge 
Attest: 
_________________________ 
Clerk of Court 
_________________________ 
Deputy Clerk 
(Seal) 

 





 

 
 

 

 

  
INSTRUCTIONS FOR CHILD SUPPORT ORDER FILING DATA FORM  

(UJS/DSS FORM 089)  

  

PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY. COMPLETE                
ALL SECTIONS OF THIS FORM AND FILE THE FORM WITH THE CLERK OF 
COURT’S OFFICE IN WHICH YOUR CASE IS BEING HANDLED.  

  

  

  

   The Department of Social Services will be the central payment center for the state and 
will handle all disbursements.   

  

   Your failure to update certain information on file with the Department of Social Services 
and the court, by using this Child Support Order Filing Data Form, can have serious legal 
consequences regarding your legal right to be notified of enforcement actions regarding your 
child support obligations.  

  

  
 1. Upon entry of any new or modified court order for child support, the parties in the case 

must personally, or through their attorney, file a completed Child Support Order Filing 
Data Form with the clerk of court.    

  

 2. Whenever any information on the form changes (for example, you change jobs or place 
of residence), you must complete a new form and file it with the clerk of court’s office.  

  

PLEASE NOTE:  You are responsible for ensuring that all information is accurate and 
current. If you fail to keep the information current, you may be served with future notices 
and orders of enforcement actions regarding your child support obligation at the last 
residential or employer address provided.  Failure to appear in court when so notified may 
result in a default judgment being entered against you.  

  

 3. If a protection order for domestic violence against a spouse or abuse of a child is in effect 
(whether temporary or permanent), check the appropriate box on the form and attach a 
copy of the order to the form.  

As a result of federal welfare reform, effective October 1, 1998, new procedures apply to 
child support cases in South Dakota.  The most significant changes are:  

  

 4. Keep the pink copy for your records and file the white and yellow copies with clerk of 
court.  

    The Department of Social Services will be the central case registry for the state.  

INSTRUCTIONS 

  
THIS FORM WILL BE TREATED AS A CONFIDENTIAL DOCUMENT BY THE COURT (This means 
the information will not be released to the public as defined by SDCL 15-15A-2(1)-(3)).   

 



  

CONFIDENTIAL 
FORM 

Child Support Order Filing Data 
Please type or print information on form. 

   

                PLAINTIFF/PETITIONER                                 DEFENDANT/RESPONDENT  
                            (Circle one)                                                         (Circle one)  

Name: _____________________________________   Name: ______________________________________  

SSN: ___________________________ SEX:  M   F   SSN: ___________________________ SEX:  M   F    

Driver’s License # : __________________________   Driver’s License # : ___________________________  

Date of Birth:                Race:        Date of Birth:______________ Race:______________  

Residential Address: _________________________   Residential Address __________________________  

____________________________________________   ____________________________________________  

Mailing Address (if different from above)_______________  Mailing Address (if different from above)_______________  

____________________________________________   ____________________________________________  

Phone No. __________________________________   Phone No. __________________________________  

Attorney Name______________________________   Attorney Name ______________________________  

Attorney Phone No.__________________________   Attorney Phone No.___________________________  

Employer ___________________________________   Employer ___________________________________  

Employer Address ___________________________   Employer Address ___________________________  

____________________________________________   ____________________________________________  

Employer Phone No. _________________________   Employer Phone No. _________________________  

Second Employer ____________________________   Second Employer ____________________________  

Second Employer Address ____________________   Second Employer Address ____________________  

____________________________________________   ____________________________________________  
Second Employer Phone No.__________________    Second Employer Phone No. __________________  
  
  

Full names, sex of child, dates of birth, and social security numbers of the children involved in this 
proceeding (if more than six, write on back of form):  

________________________________    SEX:  M / F      DOB: _____________   SSN: ______-_____-_______  
________________________________    SEX:  M / F      DOB: _____________   SSN: ______-_____-_______  
________________________________    SEX:  M / F      DOB: _____________   SSN: ______-_____-_______  
________________________________    SEX:  M / F      DOB: _____________   SSN: ______-_____-_______  
________________________________    SEX:  M / F      DOB: _____________   SSN: ______-_____-_______  
  

Is a protection order for domestic violence against a spouse or abuse of a child currently in effect?    

  Yes        No     Unknown   If yes, please attach a copy of the order.  
  

I certify that the above information is true and accurate concerning    Plaintiff/Petitioner or   
  Defendant/Respondent and is accurate to the best of my knowledge as to the other party, or is 
unavailable.  The information is unavailable because _____________________________________________  

_____________________________________________________________________________________________  

  I hereby certify that the information required by  

 SDCL 25-7A-56.7 is not available.  

 __________________________________________  

 Circuit Judge  

     
  __________________________________________  

  Signature                        Date  

    

  

 

  

Original Court Order 
Modification Order 
Information Change 
Change of Venue 

 

To be completed by clerk of court: 
__ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ 

(Docket Number) 
Date ____________ Clerk Initials _____ 

Keep pink copy for your records; file white and yellow copies with clerk of court.             UJS/DSS Form-089  Rev. 08/2011 



INSTRUCTIONS AND FORMS FOR AFFIDAVIT OF DEFAULT, APPLICATION FOR JUDGMENT 
AND DECREE OF DIVORCE (DEFAULT), NOTICE OF HEARING AND AFFIDAVIT OF MAILING 

      FORM UJS-323 
   Rev. 04/2024 

 

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce 
matters.  You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website.  If you have any legal 
questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney.  Court staff are unable 
to provide legal advice or assist with form completion.  For specific questions related to the 
forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at 
ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.   
 

IMPORTANT NOTICES: 
 
 These forms can only be completed by the Plaintiff and only if the following is true: 

□ The Defendant was served with copies of the Summons and Complaint with Minor 
Children and Proof of Service was filed with the Clerk of Court. 

□ The Defendant has failed to file an Answer to the Summons and Complaint with 
Minor Children within thirty days of being served.  

□ The Defendant is not in the military on active duty. 
 A Default Judgment for Divorce can only be granted if it has been at least sixty days 

since the Defendant was served with the Summons and Complaint. 
 
To complete these forms, you will need to: 
 
 Complete the Affidavit of Default (UJS-323A) by completing the caption, date the 

Defendant was served with the Summons and Complaint with Minor Children, date, 
and sign in front of a notary or Clerk of Court. 

 Complete the Application for Judgment and Decree of Divorce - Default (UJS-
323B), sign and date in front of a notary or Clerk of Court. 

 Complete the Affidavit of Mailing (UJS-323D) and sign in front of a notary of Clerk of 
Court.  

 File the originals of the Affidavit of Default (UJS-323A) and the Application for 
Judgment and Decree of Divorce – Default (UJS-323B), and Affidavit of Mailing (UJS-
323D) with the Clerk of Court. 

 
*A hearing may be required on your application for Default Judgment.  You will need to 
contact the Clerk of Court for this information.  If a hearing is required continue with the 
steps below.  
 
 Request a hearing date and time from the Clerk of Court or Court Administration 

depending on your county.  Complete the Notice of Hearing (UJS-323C), sign and 
file the original with the Clerk of Court.  The Notice of Hearing would then be mailed 
along with the other forms listed above. 

 
 

mailto:ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA                   IN CIRCUIT COURT 
 
COUNTY OF __________________              ______________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Plaintiff, being first duly sworn on oath states: 

1. That I am the Plaintiff in the above-captioned action. 

2. That the Summons and Complaint (with Minor Children) were served together upon 

the Defendant on the __________ day of ___________________________, 20______. 

3. That the proof of service has been filed (i.e., Admission of Service or Sheriff’s Return) 

4. That more than sixty days have passed since service of the Summons and Complaint 

(with Minor Children) and the Defendant has not filed an Answer, made an 

appearance, or filed any other responsive pleading and is in default. 

5. It is my belief that the Defendant is not in the military service on active duty. 

Dated this ________ day of ______________________, 20______. 
 

      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Signature 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Printed Name 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Address 
 
      ______________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 
______________________________ 
Phone Number 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 

 
 
_______________________________  Case No.:_______________________ 
 Plaintiff 

            
v.                      AFFIDAVIT OF DEFAULT 
 

_______________________________ 
 Defendant 



 

                                                                            Page 1 of 1                                                                    Form UJS-323B 
   Rev. 04/2024 

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA                 IN CIRCUIT COURT 
 
COUNTY OF __________________              ______________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   COMES NOW, the above-named Plaintiff and respectfully submits this 

Application for Judgment and Decree of Divorce by Default pursuant to SDCL § 15-6-

55(b), hereby requesting the Court to enter a Judgment and Decree of Divorce by 

default against the Defendant in favor of the Plaintiff in the above-entitled action. The 

Plaintiff’s Affidavit of Default is incorporated herein. 

 
Dated this _______ day of _______________________, 20____. 

 
 
 

      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Signature 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Name 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Address 
 
      ______________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 
______________________________ 
Phone Number 

 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 

 
_______________________________  Case No.:________________________ 
 Plaintiff 

            
v.                               APPLICATION FOR  
                                      JUDGMENT AND DECREE DEFAULT 

_______________________________ 
 Defendant 
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA                   IN CIRCUIT COURT 

 
COUNTY OF __________________              ______________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
TO: THE DEFENDANT IN THE ABOVE-CAPTIONED MATTER: 
 

  PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that on the _________ day of ______________________, 20_____, at 

_______:_________ am/pm a hearing on Plaintiff’s Affidavit of Default and Application for 

Judgment and Decree of Divorce – Default will be held in the courtroom of Honorable 

_____________________________, Circuit Court Judge of the _______________________ Judicial 

Circuit, presiding, located at the ______________________________ County Courthouse, in 

_________________________________, South Dakota.  

   The Plaintiff will seek judgment for the relief demanded in the Complaint with 

Minor Children in the above-entitled action. 

Dated this _____ day of ____________________, 20____. 
 

      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Signature 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Name 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Address 
 
      ______________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 
______________________________ 
Phone Number 

 
 

________________________________        Case No.:___________________________ 
  Plaintiff 

            
v.                              NOTICE OF HEARING  
          

 ________________________________                 
  Defendant 



 

                                                                            Page 1 of 1                                                                    Form UJS-323D 
   Rev. 04/2024 

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA                 IN CIRCUIT COURT 
 
COUNTY OF __________________              ______________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
I, _____________________________________________, being sworn, state that on the 

_________ day of ___________________, 20______, I mailed the (check all that apply)                                         

 Affidavit of Default,        Application for Judgment and Decree of Divorce – Default                

     Notice of Hearing, by placing true and correct copies in an envelope addressed to:  

     _____________________________________________ 
       (Name of Defendant) 
 
     _____________________________________________ 
          (Street Address) 
 
     _____________________________________________ 
          (City, State, Zip) 

And depositing the envelope, with sufficient postage, in the United States Mail in: 
 

_________________________________________________________________________________ 
(City and State where you mailed forms from) 

 
Dated this _____ day of _____________, 20____. 

           ______________________________ 
           Plaintiff Signature 
 
           ______________________________ 
           Plaintiff Name 
 
           ______________________________ 
           Plaintiff Address 
 
           ______________________________ 

     City, State, Zip Code 
     ______________________________ 
     Phone Number 

 
                     Case No.:___________________________ 

  Plaintiff 
            
v.                                  AFFIDAVIT OF MAILING   
          
                   

  Defendant 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 



 
INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM ON AFFIDAVIT OF DEFENDANT’S MILITARY STATUS 

 

  Form UJS-306 
                                                                                                                                                                      Rev. 04/2024 

 

This form references specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) and you can fin these 
laws on the South Dakota Legislature website.  If you have any legal questions, it is 
highly recommended that you consult with an attorney.  Court staff are unable to 
provide you with legal advice or assist you in completing this form.  For specific 
questions related to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Helpline at 1-855-
784-0004 email UJS staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us. 
 
Important Notice: 
 
Before a default judgment may be entered by the Court the Plaintiff is required to file 
an affidavit stating whether the Defendant is in the military service and show necessary 
facts to support the affidavit.  
 
To Complete this form, you will need to: 
 
 Verify that Paragraphs 1through 3 are correct. 
 
 In completing paragraph 4, the military status of a Defendant may be determined 

by conducting an on-line search through the Department of Defense Manpower 
Data Center (DMDC) search engine at https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/scra/#/login. A 
Plaintiff using the DMDC must attach a printed copy of the certificate generated by 
the search.    

□ The military status of a Defendant may be determined by contacting each 
branch of the military.  A plaintiff using this method must attach a response 
from each branch.   

 
□ The military status of a Defendant may also be determined by the Plaintiff, 

or their agent, personally asking the Defendant or another individual that 
has sufficient reason to know the defendant’s military status.   

 
□ The Plaintiff is not limited to the options discussed above and may have 

other reasons to know the Defendant’s military status.  Any additional 
reasons should be explained for review by the court. 

 
 Date and sign in front of a notary or Clerk of Clerk. 
 
 File original the Clerk of Court and retain a copy for your records. 

mailto:ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us
https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/scra/#/login
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA IN CIRCUIT COURT 
  
COUNTY OF _________________________ __________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 
  
 
 
_____________________________________ 
  Plaintiff 
 
v. 
 
_____________________________________ 
  Defendant 
 

 
Case No.: _________________________ 

 
 

AFFIDAVIT OF DEFENDANT’S  
MILITARY STATUS 

 
I, the undersigned litigant, being first duly sworn on my oath, depose and state: 
 

1. I am over the age of eighteen years and am competent to make this Affidavit.  

2. I am the Plaintiff in the above-entitled matter. 

3. That I have either made a personal investigation or personally reviewed the 
business records of the defendant. 

4. As a result of my investigation or review: (check one) 
     It is my belief that the above-named defendant is not in the military on active duty; 

It is my belief that the above-named defendant is in the military on active duty; 

I have been unable to determine whether the defendant is in the military on 

active duty. 
 

My information and belief are based on the following, and I have attached the 

necessary documentation: ________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
I understand that any false statements in this document are made under perjury, and 

that making a false statement is a violation of Federal Law and is subject to both fine 

and imprisonment. 
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Dated this _____ day of _________________________, 20_____. 
 

 

        
_____________________________________ 

     Plaintiff Signature  
 
     _____________________________________ 
     Plaintiff Name  
 
     ____________________________________ 
     Address 
 
     ____________________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 
____________________________________ 
Phone Number 

 
 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 



INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM FOR JUDGMENT AND DECREE OF DIVORCE   
(DEFAULT – WITH MINOR CHILDREN)   

 

    Form UJS-322B 
   Rev. 04/2024 

These forms are related to specific South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL) concerning divorce 
matters.  You can find these laws on the South Dakota Legislature website.  If you have any 
legal questions, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney.  Court staff are 
unable to provide legal advice or assist with form completion.  For specific questions related 
to the forms, you can also contact the Legal Form Help Line at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS 
staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.   

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE 
 
 A default judgment for divorce can only be granted if it has been at least sixty days 

since the Defendant was served with the Summons and Complaint and an Answer 
has not been filed by the Defendant. 

 
To complete this form you will need to: 
 
 Fill in the caption. 
 In the first paragraph fill in the blanks regarding the day the Defendant was served 

with the Summons and Complaint, and the day and location of the marriage. 
 Attend the hearing that was scheduled on your request for a divorce by default. 

You will submit this form to the Court at the hearing where the Judge will make their 
final determination.  

 
 If the Judge signs the Judgment and Decree of Divorce Default with Minor Children 

(UJS-322B) the Court will provide you with signed copies and you will need to: 
 
 Complete and file the Notice of Entry and Affidavit of Mailing 

□ This form may be obtained from the Clerk of Court.  Depending on the county, 
either the Clerk of Court will complete the form for you or provide you with the 
form for completion.  Check with the Clerk of Court in your county. 

 
 Mail a copy of the Notice of Entry, Affidavit of Mailing and signed Judgment and 

Decree of Divorce (UJS-322B) to the Defendant. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

mailto:ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA                 IN CIRCUIT COURT 
 

COUNTY OF __________________             ______________ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
The above-entitled matter came before this Court on the _____ day of 

__________________, 20______ on the Plaintiff’s Application for Judgment and Decree of 

Divorce (Default).  It is satisfactory appearing to the Court from the records and files 

herein that the Defendant was duly served with Summons and Complaint on the 

_______ day of _____________, 20_____. The parties were married on the ________ day of 

___________________, _______________, in the City of __________________________ and 

State of ______________________________.  It further appearing to the Court by virtue of 

the Affidavit of Default signed by Plaintiff and filed herein that said Defendant has 

failed to plead, to otherwise defend, or make any appearance in this action and that 

said Defendant is in default; Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law having been 

waived by virtue of Defendant’s failure to appear in this action; the Court having 

jurisdiction over the parties and the subject matter herein, Now Therefore;  

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED AS FOLLOWS: 
 

1. Plaintiff is granted a Judgment and Decree of Divorce on the grounds of 

irreconcilable differences and the parties hereto are restored to the status of 

single persons: 

  

 
 

__________________________________        Case No.:___________________________ 
 Plaintiff   

                             JUDGMENT AND DECREE 
v.                                     OF DIVORCE – DEFAULT  
                                                                                          (WITH MINOR CHILDREN) 

__________________________________          
  Defendant         
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2. The parties are the parents of the following minor child(ren): 

_________________________________________ DOB: _______________________ 

_________________________________________ DOB: _______________________ 

_________________________________________ DOB: _______________________ 

_________________________________________ DOB: _______________________ 

3. Custody of the minor child(ren) shall be (check the applicable box) 

 Joint legal custody between the parties with the Plaintiff          /  

Defendant         (check one) having primary physical custody. 

 The parties share joint legal and physical custody of the minor child(ren) 

 Sole legal and physical custody to the Plaintiff        /  Defendant       (check one) 

 The parents agree to joint legal and physical custody with shared 

parenting plan, as set forth below, in which the child(ren) reside no less than 

180 nights per calendar year in each parent’s home. The parents further 

agree to share the duties and responsibilities of parenting the child(ren) and 

shall divide the expense of the child(ren) in proportion to their incomes, i.e. 

Plaintiff paying ________% and Defendant paying _________%; or 

___________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________ 

4. Plaintiff        /  Defendant         (check one) parenting time/visitation with the 

minor child(ren) shall be as follows: _________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________ 

5. _________________________________ shall pay child support and maintenance of 

the minor child(ren) in the amount of $__________________ per month, which 

includes: (check all that apply) 
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 Their pro rata share of the health insurance provided by the Plaintiff   

/Defendant        (check one) for the parties’ minor child(ren). 

 Their pro rata share of day care expenses for the minor child(ren). 

 An annualized abatement of $_____________ per month in consideration for 

the months Plaintiff          /  Defendant          (check one) has the child(ren) ten 

or more overnights per month. Pursuant to SDCL 25-7-6.14, it shall be presumed 

that the parenting time is exercised for the purposes of the abatement. 

 A deviation of $______ per month pursuant to SDCL § 25-7-6.10 (___) based 

on________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________ 

6. Any reasonable medical costs, including optometric, dental, or orthodontic, 

counseling, or other health care costs for the minor child(ren) which exceed 

$250.00 in any year and are not covered by insurance shall be split between 

the parents with the Plaintiff paying ____% and the Defendant paying _____%. 

Pursuant to SDCL § 25-7-6.16, the parent with physical custody, Plaintiff or 

Defendant (circle one), being solely responsible for the first $250.00 of health 

care expenses incurred for each child in any calendar year. 

The child support calculation is filed herein. 

7. The child support obligation shall commence on the 1st day of 

__________________________, 20_______. 

8. Pursuant to SDCL § 25-5-18.1, the support obligation shall continue until each 

child attains the age of eighteen or until each attains the age of nineteen, if 

the child is a full-time student in a secondary school. 

9. The obligor’s current or subsequent payor of income shall be immediately 

directed to withhold amounts for current support and arrearages as specified 

herein and as provided in SDCL § 25-7A-23 and shall transmit said amount as 

provided in SDCL § 24-7A-34. 
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10. Until otherwise notified by the Division of Child Support all payments shall be 

made payable to “Division of Child Support” and mailed to: 

Division of Child Support 
700 Governor’s Drive, Suite 84 
Pierre, SD 57501 
 

11. Regarding Health Insurance: 

 Plaintiff        /  Defendant       (check one) shall obtain and/or maintain 

health insurance coverage for the minor child(ren) if available through 

employment or other group carrier at a reasonable cost. ___________________ 

shall notify the Department of Social Services of the insurance company name, 

address, and policy number and the names of the persons covered within thirty 

days of entry of the Judgment and Decree of Divorce and shall also notify the 

Department of any changes in coverage. ___________________________ shall 

also provide ___________________ with a hard copy of the health insurance card 

setting forth the insurance company name, address, and policy number and 

the names of the persons covered within thirty days of entry of the Judgment 

and Decree of Divorce:   

OR 

 The Court finds that neither parent currently has health insurance for the 

minor child(ren).  Medical insurance shall be provided for the child(ren) by a 

parent if the insurance is accessible for the child(ren) and available to a parent 

at a reasonable cost.  SDCL § 25-7-6.16.  The cost shall be apportioned 

between the parents.  The parent providing health insurance shall notify the 

Department of Social Services of the insurance company name, address, and 

policy number and name of persons covered within thirty days and shall also 

notify the Department of any changes in coverage.  The parent providing 

health insurance shall also provide the other parent with a card or copy of the 

health insurance card setting forth the insurance company name, address 

and policy number and the names of persons covered within thirty days.   

12. The parties shall retain as their separate property all the vehicles, personal 

clothing and effect, all household goods, appliances and such other items 
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and personal property as are currently in their respective possessions, free and 

clear of any claim from the other. In addition, the Plaintiff shall be awarded 

the following property: ____________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________ 

The Defendant shall be awarded the following property: ________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________ 

13. Retirement/Investment accounts shall be divided as follows: ________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________ 

14. Any encumbrances or debts relating to or accompanying an item of personal 

property shall be the sole responsibility of the party retaining such property. 

The following debts shall be assumed by the Plaintiff: _______________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________ 

The following debts shall be assumed by the Defendant: _____________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________ 

All other debts shall be paid by the party incurring such debt. 

15. Regarding alimony, the Court orders: 

 Neither party shall be awarded alimony;  

OR 

 ______________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________ 
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16. Plaintiff         /  Defendant        (check one) currently known as 

_______________________________ and born as _______________________________ 

shall be restored to their former name or maiden name of 

_________________________________; therefore, they shall be known hereafter 

as ____________________________________.  

17. Each party shall, at the request of the other, execute and deliver any such 

instruments as may be required to carry out the intentions and provisions of the 

Judgment and Decree of Divorce. In the event either party shall fail to execute 

deeds, titles, or other documents of transfer as required by this Judgment and 

Decree shall operate as an effective transfer of that party’s interest in said 

property as set forth herein. 

18. That SDCL § 25-4A-5 is attached as required by SDCL § 25-4A-5.1 and shall 

become an Order of this Court. 

19. Additional order(s): ________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________ 

 
Dated this _______ day of _________________, 20___. 

 
 
 
       ________________________________________ 
       Circuit Court Judge 
Attest: 
_________________________ 
Clerk of Court 
_________________________ 
Deputy Clerk 
(Seal) 

 





INSTRUCTIONS AND FORM FOR PLAINTIFF’S MOTION AND ORDER FOR DISMISSAL 

  Form UJS-329 
  Rev. 04/2024  

 
Please note that court staff cannot provide you with legal advice or assist you in 
completing these forms.  The use of these forms does not guarantee you will be successful 
in court.  It is highly encouraged that you speak with an attorney if you are needing 
assistance.  For specific questions on the forms, you may contact the legal form helpline 
at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.  Additionally, for more 
information on South Dakota laws, you can also visit the South Dakota Legislature website.  
 
 
IMPORTANT NOTICE: 
 
This form can only be filed if the Defendant has not yet filed an Answer or Motion for 
Summary Judgment.  
 
To complete this form, you will need to: 
 
 Complete the caption by filling in the name of the county you are filing in, the 

judicial circuit number, Plaintiff and Defendant’s names.  
□ Leave the order section of the form blank for the Judge to complete.  

 Date and sign in front of a notary or Clerk of Court.  
 

 File the original with the Clerk of Court.  
 

 If your Motion to Dismiss is granted by the Judge, two certified copies will be 
provided to you.  One copy of the Motion and Order will need to be mailed to the 
Defendant.  

 
 Once you have mailed a copy, you will need to complete the Affidavit of Mailing 

section and file with the Clerk of Court.  
 
  

mailto:ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA IN CIRCUIT COURT 

COUNTY OF       JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 

 
 
 

 

    Plaintiff 
 
 v. 
 

 
 

   Defendant 

 
Case No.:    

 
 

MOTION AND ORDER FOR DISMISSAL 

 
The Plaintiff hereby requests to dismiss the above-entitled matter, pursuant to SDCL 

15-6- 41(a). The Defendant has not filed an Answer or Motion for Summary Judgment. 
Thus, I respectfully move the Court for an Order dismissing this case, without prejudice. 

 
Dated this  day of  , 20  . 
 

      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Signature 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Name 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Address 
 
      ______________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 

______________________________ 
Phone Number 

 
ORDER 

Pursuant to SDCL 15-6-41(a), this action is hereby DISMISSED without prejudice. 
 

Dated this  day of  , 20  . 
 

BY THE COURT: 
 

ATTEST: 
 
  

Clerk of Court 

    
   Deputy Clerk 

(SEAL) 

  
Circuit Court Judge 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day of 

______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA IN CIRCUIT COURT 

COUNTY OF       JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 

 
 

 

    Plaintiff 
 
v. 
 

  
    Defendant 

 
Case. No.:    

 
AFFIDAVIT OF MAILING 

 

 I,                                                                   , the above-named Plaintiff being sworn, state 
that on                                                               , 20             , I sent a certified copy of the Motion 
and Order for Dismissal by placing true and correct copies in an envelope addressed to 
the Defendant at: 

_____________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________ 

 
And depositing the envelope, with sufficient postage, in the United States Mail in: 

 
_________________________________________________________________________________ 

     (City and State you mailed from) 
 
Dated this  day of  , 20  . 
 

______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Signature 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Name 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Address 
 
      ______________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code 
 

______________________________ 
Phone Number 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 

(Name of Defendant) 

(Street Address) 

(City, State, Zip) 



INSTRUCTIONS FOR JOINT MOTION AND ORDER FOR DISMISSAL FORM 
 

Form UJS-328 
Rev. 04/2024  

Please note that court staff cannot provide you with legal advice or assist you in 
completing these forms.  The use of these forms does not guarantee you will be successful 
in court.  It is highly encouraged that you speak with an attorney if you are needing 
assistance.  For specific questions on the forms, you may contact the legal form helpline 
at 1-855-784-0004 or email UJS staff at ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us.  Additionally, for more 
information on South Dakota laws, you can also visit the South Dakota Legislature website.  

 
Important Notice: 
 

In the event the parties resolve their differences prior to the entry of the Judgment and 
Decree of Divorce and want to stop the divorce proceeding, they may request the 
Court for an Order dismissing the divorce action, without prejudice. 
 
To complete this form, you will need to: 
 

 Complete the caption by filling in the name of the county you are filing in, the 
judicial circuit number, Plaintiff and Defendant’s names.  
 

 Provide your reasoning for the request to dismiss the action on the line provided. 
 

 Both parties must sign and date the Motion in front of a notary or Clerk of 
Court.  

 
 Leave the Order section on page two blank as the Judge will date and sign the 

Order. 
 
 File the original with the Clerk of Court. Retain a copy for your records.   

 
 Once the Judge has ruled on your motion you will be provided with two certified 

copies. One is for you and the other is for your spouse. 

mailto:ujssrlhelp@ujs.state.sd.us
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA 
 
COUNTY OF    

IN CIRCUIT COURT 
 

   JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 

 
 
 

 

    Plaintiff 
 
v. 

 
 

 

    Defendant 

 
 
Case No.: ____________________________  

 
  JOINT MOTION AND       

   ORDER FOR DISMISSAL 

 

COMES NOW, the above-named Plaintiff and Defendant and respectfully 

requests this Court for an Order dismissing this action without prejudice based on the 

following reason(s): 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
Dated this ___________ day of ______________________, 20____. 

 

      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Signature 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Plaintiff Name 
 
       

 

 
Dated this ___________ day of ______________________, 20____. 

 

       
______________________________ 

      Defendant Signature 
 
      ______________________________ 
      Defendant Name 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 

Sworn/affirmed before me this _______ day 

of ______________________________, 20____. 

 
_______________________________________ 
Notary/Deputy Clerk/Clerk of Court 
 
My Commission Expires:_______________ 
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ORDER 

 

This matter having come before the Court by the parties Joint Motion for Dismissal, 

this action is hereby DISMISSED without prejudice. 

 
Dated this  day of  , 20  . 
 

 
       _______________________________________ 
       Circuit Court Judge 
ATTEST: 
 
___________________________ 
Clerk of Court 
 
__________________________ 
Deputy Clerk 
(SEAL)       
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