## JUDICIAL QUALIFICATIONS COMMISSION STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

500 East Capitol Avenue Pierre, SD 57101 Telephone 605-773-2099 Fax 605-773-8437

Robert L. Morris, Chair Timothy Engel, Vice Chair Hon. Cheryle Gering, Secretary Rory King Hon. Bobbi Rank Raleigh Hansman Eric DeNure Lori Grode, Executive Assistant

June 20, 2025

## Notice of Supreme Court Vacancy - First Supreme Court District

TO: All Active Members of the State Bar of South Dakota

FROM: Cheryle Gering, Secretary, Judicial Qualifications Commission

With the upcoming retirement of the Hon. Associate Justice of the South Dakota Supreme Court Janine M. Kern from the First Supreme Court District, the Judicial Qualifications Commission is now taking applications. The person appointed as justice must fulfill the eligibility requirements to hold that office, including residency in the First Supreme Court District as required by law. The current salary for an associate supreme court justice position in South Dakota is \$194,240.58 annually and will be subject to any increase as approved by the legislature effective July 1, 2025. In addition, supreme court justices and their dependents are eligible to participate in the State of South Dakota's health insurance plan, and supreme court justices participate in the State's defined benefit retirement plan.

All lawyers and judges interested in applying should obtain the application form at <a href="http://ujs.sd.gov/">http://ujs.sd.gov/</a>, or contact Lori Grode at the State Court Administrator's Office. The application must be mailed to the Administrator's Office and must be postmarked no later than August 15, 2025. Applicants should make sure the application form submitted is the 2018 version. You may also obtain the application form by writing or telephoning:

Lori Grode
State Court Administrator's Office
500 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

Telephone: 605-773-2099

Email: lori.grode@ujs.state.sd.us

Or, visit http://ujs.sd.gov/ for current job openings.

The First Supreme Court District is comprised of the following counties: Pennington, Meade, Lawrence and Custer.