Brown County

Welcome to the Brown County Clerk of Court's Office. Our contact information is:

> Brown County Clerk of Courts 101 SE 1st Avenue PO Box 1087 Aberdeen, SD 57402-1087

Phone Number: 605-626-2451 Fax Number: 605-626-2280 Email: <u>5thcircuit@ujs.state.sd.us</u>

Clerk of Courts' office hours are Monday – Friday, 8:00 am to 4:50pm and the office remains open over the lunch hour.

Information on scheduling court hearings in Brown County can be found by clicking on Calendars for the 5th Judicial Circuit.

For more information and directions to the courthouse, please visit <u>SDJurors</u>. Then select Your E-Courthouse and choose any county.

The basic functions of the clerk's office are:

- Assisting with requests for information on court procedures, fees, court dates, forms
- Opening, maintaining, storing and retrieving court files as needed in different types of cases
- Processing traffic tickets and other criminal complaints, receipting and disbursing fines, fees, costs, bond and restitution associates with same*
- Working closely with the public, law enforcements and attorneys and maintaining judges' calendars of court dates and assisting judges in the courtroom
- Summoning and qualifying jurors, assist judge in juror selection process, and authorize payments of jurors
- Performing magistrate functions such as setting bond, handling initial appearances, issuing warrants, entering default judgments in small claims cases and performing marriages

Brown County Clerks, 1889-Present	
1889-1902	Unknown
1903-1906	P. E. Bunsness
1907-1910	W. J. Rawson
1911-1926	N. E. Nelson
1927-1932	C. Dean Carmine
1933-1960	Wm. E. Young
1961-1974	C. Harland Leighty
1975-2004	M. L. Kuhfeld
2005-Present	Marla R. Zastrow

BROWN COUNTY DOES HAVE AN OFFICIAL WEBSITE, WHICH CAN BE ACCESSED AT WWW.BROWN.SD.US



Information on the Court System in Brown County

Other UJS offices in the courthouse include: **Court Services** – Probation 1st floor

Law Library & Court Administration Office – 2nd floor

Law Library, which mainly consists of a computer with Westlaw access, is available to the public, Monday – Friday, 8-12pm, 1-5pm.

Court Reporters & Law Clerk Offices – 2nd & 3rd floors

Magistrate Judge and Circuit Judges' Offices – 2nd & 3rd floors

The Brown County Courthouse has three courtrooms. Elevator access to all three floors.

Magistrate Court is held every Monday afternoon, Wednesday & Friday mornings at the Municipal Courtroom on the 3rd floor of the Municipal Building, 123 South Lincoln Street, one block south of the courthouse.



(Mural, 3rd Floor East Courtroom)



(SD State Seal – ceiling of 3rd Floor East Courtroom)

Brown County Judges, 1889-Present	
1889-1893	Unknown
1894-1898	A. W. Campbell
1899-1901	Unknown
1902-1908	James H. McCoy
1909-1914	Frank McNulty
1915-1918	Thomas L. Bouck
1919-1922	Frank Anderson
1923-1924	B. A. Walton
1925-1928	R. D. Gardner & J. J. Batterton
1929-1930	R. D. Gardner & C. H. Babcock
1931-1944	C. H. Babcock & Van Buren Perry
1945-1954	Van Buren Perry & H. W. King
1955-1956	H. W. King & E. S. Farley
1957-1966	F. S. Tait & Philo Hall
1967-1974	Philo Hall & Sigurd Anderson
1975-1984	Philo Hall, Eugene Dobberphul, Mildred Ramynke, & Leland Berndt
1985-1986	Eugene Dobberpuhl, Mildred Ramynke, Leland Berndt, & Vernon Evans
1987-1990	Eugene Dobberpuhl, Leland Berndt, Vernon Evans, & David Gilbertson
1991-1993	Eugene Dobberpuhl, Leland Berndt, David Gilbertson, & Larry Lovrien
1994-1995	Eugene Dobberpuhl, David Gilbertson, Larry Lovrien, & Jack Von Wald
1996-1998	Eugene Dobberpuhl, Larry Lovrien, Jack Von Wald, & Myles DeVine
1999-2003	Eugene Dobberpuhl, Larry Lovrien, Jack Von Wald, & Jon Flemmer
2004-2006	Jack Von Wald, Larry Lovrien, Jon Flemmer, & Scott Myren
2006-2013	Jack Von Wald, Jon Flemmer, Scott Myren, & Tony Portra
2014-Present	Scott Myren, Jon Flemmer, Tony Portra, & Richard Sommers