JUDICIAL QUALIFICATIONS COMMISSION STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

500 East Capitol Avenue Pierre, SD 57101 Telephone 605-773-2099 Fax 605-773-8437

Robert L. Morris, Chair Rebecca A. Porter, Vice Chair Hon. Cheryle Gering, Secretary Hon. Bobbi Rank Timothy M. Engel Rory King Raleigh Hansman Lori Grode, Executive Assistant Email: Lori.Grode@ujs.state.sd.us

May 20, 2024

Notice of Judicial Vacancy - Third Judicial Circuit, Position B

TO: All Active Members of the State Bar of South Dakota

FROM: Cheryle Gering, Secretary, Judicial Qualifications Commission

With the upcoming retirement of the Hon. Robert Spears in the Third Judicial Circuit, the Judicial Qualifications Commission is now taking applications. Pursuant to realignment of the judicial positions by Presiding Judge Gregory Stoltenburg, Position B is the open position. The duty station for this position will be Brookings. The current salary for a circuit court judge position in South Dakota is \$174,448.36 annually and will be subject to the 4% increase approved by legislature effective July 1, 2024. In addition, circuit court judges and their dependents are eligible to participate in the State of South Dakota's health insurance plan; circuit court judges participate in the State's defined benefit retirement plan.

All lawyers and judges interested in applying should obtain the application form at http://ujs.sd.gov/, or contact Lori Grode at the State Court Administrator's Office. The application must be returned to the Administrator's Office and must be postmarked no later than 5:00 PM on July 26, 2024. Applicants should make sure the application submitted is the 2018 version.

You may also obtain the application form by writing or telephoning:

Lori Grode
State Court Administrator's Office
500 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

Telephone: 605-773-2099

Email: lori.grode@ujs.state.sd.us

Or, visit http://ujs.sd.gov/ for current job openings.

The Third Circuit is comprised of the following counties: Beadle, Brookings, Clark, Codington, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Miner, Moody and Sanborn.